We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Leicester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Leicester to your Saves list
Campanile Leicester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last night. Receptionist Chantelle went above and beyond to help me. Very friendly staff. Stayed at other hotels in Leicester and this beats them easily!! Thank you x
Update.. We're staying again in December, will keep you all updated. Have asked for a room overlooking the car park, as this is the quieter side.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us enough to award a fantastic 5 stars!

I hope that when next in Leicester you will be able to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Carl

Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    92
    62
    17
    29
See reviews for
22
58
26
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Good value for a city centre stopover. Rooms small but adequate for our needs. Better than expected for price as chosen primarily for location. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. Even though kitchen had closed when we arrived, fresh sandwiches and chips were provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to offer an alternative due to the kitchen being closed.

I hope that when next in Leicester you will be able to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Carl

Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

last minute plan to stay here on business. Located on the edge of a busy road and lots of traffic but was greeted by very helpful staff.

Got a room away from the traffic but the visitors next door weren't overly loud but could hear everything in detail !! Plus, the two rooms were adjoining ones, the doors were left unlocked! That was sorted once mentioned to reception.

The bed was very soft and springy, needs new mattresses. The room itself was clean and well maintained,. It's just a shame the walls weren't thicker. Was woken up by the sound of my neighbours vomiting at 6am. Didn't stay for breakfast, don't think I would return, although I suppose you get what you pay for !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.
I was disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
At the Campanile Leicester we take customer satisfaction seriously so you can be assured that where possible we will be taking preventative action as to avoid a reoccurrence.


Kind Regards

Carl

Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here with several friends a couple of weeks ago. The location is good and the staff very friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the car park was completely full when we returned at around 11pm, so I was obliged to park overnight on the dimly lit street.

The quality of the continental breakfast was excellent, but this was all overshadowed by quite the most uncomfortable bed I can remember sleeping in. Not only was it a narrow double (maybe 4'6") but the mattress had virtually collapsed resulting in both occupants being propelled into the middle of the mattress. It was so bad it was actually quite funny but, should I go there again, I shall insist on checking out the bed first!

Room Tip: See above - check the bed before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.
I was delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and the breakfast of good quality.

With regards to your comments on you mattress I have passed these to our bed supplier whom will be investigating shortly.

I hope that when next in Leicester you will be able to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Carl

Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

For the price, cant really go wrong. Book in advance and you can get a good price. Local to the town center and also car parking is free, but some nights does get full so you will to park outside on the street. Been a few times, staff are nice and friendly, would go again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that when next in Leicester you will be able to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Carl

Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The entrance to the hotel car park is on Bedford Street North, not St Matthews Way. If you're using SatNav, I'd advise you to use Bedford Street North crossing Grosvenor Street as your destination - otherwise you'll probably waste time going over the flyover like I did.

My room was hot and airless even though it was cold outside. The radiator was OFF and there was no thermostat. I opened the window but soon closed it because of the noise from the main road (which is only slightly less with the window shut). The room was small - I'd say this is one step up from a Travelodge. The bathroom had a large shelf for toiletries, but a very narrow desk in front of the mirror in the main part of the room (probably more annoying for female guests!). There was no hand towel in the bathroom, and only a small bath towel. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable.

Parking was free but the car park is not that large, and it became very full as the evening wore on. I was warned that the gates would be closed at 11pm and that I'd need to use a bell or intercom on a smaller gate (on foot) in order to get back in, but in the end the gates were still open when I got back around midnight.

Apparently the hotel has free WiFi but I didn't bother trying it; the 3G signal was dire.

Continental breakfast was £6 - the food was fresh but there wasn't a great deal of choice.

When you check in, the hotel pre-authorises your credit card for an amount considerably more than the room rate - in my case, they swiped my card for £60 although my room only cost £33.

I would certainly look for something better next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.
I was disappointed to read that you experienced some issues when staying with us.
At the Campanile Leicester we take customer satisfaction seriously so you can be assured that we will be taking preventative action as to avoid a reoccurrence.

If you would like to discuss the points of your stay in more detail please feel free to contact me at manager.leicester@campanile.com

Kind Regards

Carl

Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here last minute on my own after a heavy night out. The room rate of £65 seemed reasonable for city centre and I pleased they had plenty of rooms available late on a Saturday night but maybe I can now see why!
The hotels is surrounded by horrible and dirty streets but the hotel looks of a modern design with car park and secured gate and fencing.
The staff were very friendly and helpful when I asked about getting a taxi for my friend and toiletries for my room, which unfortunately they had ran out of supplies! Although they directed me to a nearby shop.
The room was in a bad state considering how modern it did appear. The carpet certainly needed replacing and there were quite a few cobwebs lingering. It was a stuffy in the room and with no air con, I was forced to have the window open, to be greeted by ring-road traffic through the night and the day until I checked out. Breakfast is optional for an extra £8 if you want the full works, £6 if you like French a la continental.
The bath was obviously made for all the small French people that visit Leicester. I am a tall guy yes, but I could even lay my legs flat in it! There was also a long, unsightly crack and scar in the material of the sink. This place should only be worth a max of £50 a night. I would not stay here again if I could afford not to.

Room Tip: Away from the main road if there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.
I was disappointed to read that you experienced some issues when staying with us.
At the Campanile Leicester we take customer satisfaction seriously so you can be assured that we will be taking preventative action as to avoid a reoccurrence.

If you would like to discuss the points of your stay in more detail please feel free to contact me at manager.leicester@campanile.com

Kind Regards

Carl

Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Leicester

Address: St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Campanile Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Leicester Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Leicester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.