We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and restaurant, not the best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Leicester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Leicester to your Saves list
Campanile Leicester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel and restaurant, not the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel is a bit of a walk from city centre and the train station, in a not-so-great neighborhood. However, the hotel itself is very nice and the restaurant was excellent. The prices are reasonable which makes the location tolerable. The rooms are very acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    85
    54
    12
    27
See reviews for
17
53
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great Service from all that we met, especially Gemma.
Rooms were clean and well prepared.
Food Good Very Tasty
Including WIFI, Great Value

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

Okay it's a budget hotel but it's cheap and cheerful. City centre location and the asain guy at reception was so lovely to us! Enjoyed the stay and breakfast was not bad. You have to remember this is a budget hotel, don't expect 5 star for £38 per night!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in July, it was a Saturday night so paying £40 for a room was a bargain. The rooms are quite basic very much like a travelodge but the hotel was clean and modern. The hotel is on a main road but this didn't bother us. Overall we were very happy and to get free parking in a city centre location was excellent

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Friendly, helpful staff on reception, room basic but clean and functional with a comfortable bed. Served it's purpose for us at a bargin price .Free super fast wifi in room. I would be pleased to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
820 helpful votes 820 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Best part of this hotel was the staff.....friendly, pleasant and appeared to genuinely want you to enjoy your stay in Leicester. We found this hotel ideal for our stay; we stayed for 2 nights for a total cost of £89 per couple, room only. The room was clean, the bed comfy and clean and the bathroom had all that you require from a bathroom. It was about 7-8 minute walk from the town and bars/shops etc so great to walk off the cobwebs from the night before :) In my opinion the only downside (and it is barely worth mentioning) is the area is a little run down so had I been a lone traveller or just myself and another female I may have felt a little concerned, however, for us (2 couples) it was absolutely perfect for what we needed.
During your stay, if you fancy a nice Chinese visit The Peking on Charles Street (about 5 minutes from the hotel) . We couldn't decide what we wanted and kept looking at the set menu; in the end we stated that we didn't want to pay more thean £15.00 per head but we weren't keen on all the choices available on the set menu; Maureen (owner/Maitre'd) provided us with some of the best Chinese food for £15 each and threw in a drink at the end!! well worth a visit, if only to chat with maureen, lovely lady :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

WE stayed one night for £45 B&B (Continental Breakfast) . It did just what it said on the tin . good clean room ,good bed ,excellent shower and a free car park ! although the Parking could not cope during my stay . I was lucky to get the last place . Be sure to get a room on the car park side as the other side is on the inner ring road . An easy 10 min walk to the shopping area and hundreds of restaurants .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Leicester

Address: St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Leicester Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Leicester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.