We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thank you for a delightful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Granby St, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Thank you for a delightful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just a few words to express my gratitude to all at the Mecure Grand Hotel Leicester....stayed for 2 nights from 1st-3rd November, never been to Leicester before and was there to spend some time with my niece who is a first year student at University in the city.
From the moment I arrived to check in, the warmth and helpfulness of the staff was clear to see. My room was a excellent, large clean comfortable and equipped to a very good standard.
The first evening I was there I met Michael who serving at the bar and also the just gone off duty maintenance engineer John who was having a quick coffee before departing for home. They enquired as to my reason for visiting Leicester, I told them I was visiting my niece and wanted to spoil her this weekend. The guys were fantastic! They recommended so many things to do, even enquiring with other members of staff for their input also. Just an absolutely fantastic team of employees who are rightfully proud of both their city and of the Hotel they work for. I really cannot recommend the Mecure Grand Leicester highly enough, the facilities, the slap band city centre location but most importantly of all, the top quality decent people who work there. I will deffinately be returning
Cheers
Mike

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Mike

Thank you so much for this kind review.

It's always a pleasure to respond to a review that highlights the team for their qualities I know they possess and deliver most of the time.

Drop me an email the next time you are visiting your niece and I will personally make the necessary arrangements to ensure your next stay was as good as your last.

Best wishes

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    116
    84
    40
    13
See reviews for
27
102
15
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel was well located for a trip to Leicester with its own off street parking we booked a mini suite. Comfortable accommodation clean nice facilities, furniture was a bit tired but no show stopper. Secondary glazing in the room just about manage the lively night life a good sleep was had in comfortable bed.Breakfast was great no black pudding though (booo). Bar prices were a bit steep but no worse than any other hotels i have stayed in. Excellent location for shopping you are in the center in 5 min.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Noomad

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Interesting headline with humour. We are in a Grand location as stated right in the heart of this Grand City. We have renamed the hotel back to the Grand not so long ago after a bedroom upgrade. We are also currently evaluating the possibility of refurshing the whole ground floor and are hoping to introduce a new restaurant and bar concept, a new reception area and a new soft chill out area.

I was delighted also to read the final part of your headline and "not a Grand to Stay". We have some great value offers in the market if guest's reserve the fully prepaid, non-refundable and non transferable rate which you had.

Glad to read that the investment in secondary glazing helped with a good nights sleep in our new comfortable beds.

Our breakfast offer does not include black pudding currently.

Our bar prices are as stated very competitive in relation to other hotels in Leicester.

Once again thank you for a great review and I do hope to see you again soon on your next visit to our "Grand Hotel".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff; hotel situated in great location for walking to most places.
We had a classic room, which I would say had rather grubby looking carpet, but otherwise was great for a basic room; though on the small side and the bathroom was massive! If you like lots of space in bed, don't choose classic room as only a small double bed. We used the hotel as a base whilst visiting our son who is at Leicester Uni, and we went to the Fireworks in Abbey Park and Diwali celebrations.
The hotel has it's own car park which is really handy as just outside the back door.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sarah B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read your comments regarding the team who are a friendly helpful bunch and I am proud of the service they provide on almost every ocassion.

We are very centrally located, right in the heart of the city close to the Railway Station, Curve Theatre, Richard 111 exhibition, the shopping areas and many restaurant and bars. Ideal location to explore what this great city has to offer.

Our car park is also a huge asset as many of our competitor do not have or own their own one and at £7 per night fantastic value for a city centre hotel.

In terms of our classic rooms, they vary in size and design which adds to the character as it is not your normal souless pod that you would find in many newer builds.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon when you are next visiting your son at University.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have been there 3-4 times now, always feeling welcomed. Ideally situated close to the High Street with their own private car park for residents - £5 for 24 hours, best value around Leicester I would think. Rooms are large, modern and soundproof. We could not hear anything from the wedding reception downstairs last time we stayed there. Breakfast is not expensive but on the minimalistic side regarding choice, although there is hot and cold food to chose from.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Tony

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a great review.

It is always a pleasure to read comments from regular customers who understand that we do almost all of the time get things right and I was glad to see this was the case again during your stay with us.

A point to note, our car park is now £7 per night per car which is still the best value in the city.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future where I am confident you will receive the same level of service and comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very clean, spacious bedroom which was quiet and adequately appointed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. They pointed us to a very nice local restaurant when we asked for a recommendation for a local Indian restaurant. Also advised us the best route to take for our meeting the next day. The breakfast - although buffet style was freshly cooked and plentiful - very nice. Altogether a pleasant experience for an overnight business trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Helen

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read you had a "comfortable nights stay".

More pleasing was the fact my team at reception delivered their normal high level of service. Suggesting a good local Indian restaurant and their great knowledge of the local area directing you to your meeting. Plus the great freshly cooked breakfast you received.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We were in rooms on the front of the building so we had stereo of the bad bars outside and the bad wedding music on the inside: it was like paying a lot of money to stay on students halls. If you want four star avoid like a plague. Staff were aware of the problems and we were one if ten who complained but they could do nothing. If you want a decent nights sleep in a decent hotel go sonewhere else

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are a very popular wedding and event venue and we have a few rooms that are affected by internal noise until 1am. However as explained we have a procedure in place to reserve these few rooms for guests attending the event or for people going out to enjoy Leicester's vibrate night life. Unfortunately in this case it did not happen and may I express my sincere apoloigies.

The external noise is controlled by secondary glazing which I have been informed you had opened.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to reserve and allate you the correct room on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby St, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.