We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Deceptive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Granby St, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very Deceptive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Beautiful period building and lovely when you walk into lobby but rooms need a major overhaul. First room was so small we couldn't breathe and it had steps up to a tiny en suite, window barely opened and looked out on some kind of shed. We complained and were moved by a very nice girl. Second room bigger and nicer view but was still very dated. I travel a lot and definitely don't feel these rooms earn a four star status. I have family in Leicester and visit a lot as do a lot of my family but I certainly would be embarrassed to recommend this hotel to them.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

There is nothing deceptive about our hotel. We have 104 bedrooms of a different style, size and decor which is in keeping within the character of it's age and era (Victorian) with a few modern touches.

Achieving 4 star is not all about what type of bedroom you offer it is mainly down to the service you offer and clearly the previous comments on tripadvisor show that is why we have 4 stars.

Once again thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    116
    84
    39
    13
See reviews for
27
102
15
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for a friends wedding at the Athena so the hotel was a perfect location- not even a 5 min walk away- check in was quick but staff seemed disinterested- we booked using O2 priority moments and there was a note on our booking which we had an email copy of to say we could get a free upgrade or if none available a free bottle of wine- this was not mentioned- had to ask- was told no upgrade which is fine as busy sat night- free wine was delivered to room but was pretty awful- house cheap merlot.

The room itself was small but clean- freezing cold and very looking- the is tiles on the bathroom ceiling and have water stains all over which looks a mess- shower a trickle that took ages to wash hair- hot tap on sink spurts out- must have an airlock or something- generally dated room that needs a bit of tlc-

Bed a little soft for my liking and duvet a little thin given it is winter and room so cold even with rad on full blast-

Had a night cap in bar- there was no staff at bar at 11.15pm so asked reception if bar was open- was told yes- then some bloke- looked a bit like security said that there was a change in shift so just wait and should be only a minute- a lot more friendlier and helpful than reception!

Didn't have breakfast so can't comment

Check out again was fast and a different reception girl noticed we didn't get room upgrade so said we didn't need to pay for parking- this was a really nice gesture

All in all hotel was a bargain at £50 a
Night- clean and good location just needs a bit more heating in rooms and a little tlc- but as we were literally just sleeping there then was adequate for what we needed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you took advantage of our partner offer with O2. Being fully booked during your stay we where unable to upgrade you however I was pleased to read you got your complimentary bottle of house wine.

All our rooms differ in size and decor, however we are currently investing in these.

Our location is great and I was glad that we where more than adequate for the purpose of your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

On site car parking, always a big plus in a city centre hotel (£5.00 charge). Its an old hotel which I think used to be part of the Ramada chain. Its in need of some renovation. Although it looks like money has been spent recently, there are bald patches and tapes on the carpets in the corridors. My room was cold. A single radiator on full failed to warm the room sufficiently and there was absolutely no heating at all in the bathroom which was freezing!
My room was nice enough in terms of decor but the windows are very old, not double glazed and did not close properly.
I did not eat or drink at the hotel.
Reasonably quiet considering the location.
Clean and tidy.
Free WiFi
I have marked room quality as poor simply because of the lack of heating and the windows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are as stated clean and tidy, offer complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Excellent value for a city centre car park at £5 per night.

We are currently investing some monies in a few of our bedroom and are expecting this to continue throughout 2013.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had two rooms booked, for a one night stay. The location of the hotel is good and the staff are very friendly. Both the rooms we had were of a good size and the free wifi, was great.

However our night stay was not great. We expected some noise due to it's central location, but it was quite noisy from pubs and clubs next to the hotel. Then me and my sister were woken at 4am from various different residents within the hotel. The noise within the the hotel carried on until about 8am. We rang reception twice, to try and sort the noise issue, but not much was done. (There were a group of lads having a fight in the room above us)

We have stayed in many central hotels, but none were as noisy as this one.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that is on the side with the clubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

The noise you refer to, was caused by inconsiderate guests. We normally do not experience such behaviour nor do we tolerate such behaviour, hence the reason we had them evicted.

On a positive note I was glad to read your comments regarding the team, hotel and the complimentary wifi we had recently installed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future where I am sure you will have a pleasant and comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent a weekend in Leicester to catch up with friends for an evening and decided to book this hotel. It is in a great location in the centre of the city. The room was comfortable and importantly, clean!
Service was great. I will stay here again when I'm next in Leicester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.

We are as you state in a "great location" only minutes from the train station, shopping, restaurant/bars and all the city of Leicester has to offer.

I was delighted by the comments regarding the team and the cleanliness of the bedroom. Our service and cleanliness are something we take a huge pride in.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby St, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.