We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay in the best hotel in Leicester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Granby St, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Leicester
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay in the best hotel in Leicester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My partner and I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions. Once again we really enjoyed our stay. Some people state that the building is old and dated, but I would completely disagree with this. In fact its up to date and vibrant. The staff and the management were particularly helpful and couldnt do enough to help out.

I would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for posting a very postitive review.

I was delighted by your comments regarding the hotel and the team.

Guests are entitled to their opinion and as a regular customer I was glad to read that you find the hotel up to date and vibrant. As a Grade 11 listed building we have to be very sympathetic to the age and character of the hotel.

Once again thank you for posting a very postive review and we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    89
    67
    32
    12
See reviews for
18
82
12
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a customers works party in Leicester. Hotel very nice and decor in keeping with style of building. Location to the city centre is perfect. Staff very pleasant and helpful. However I appreciate the need to hire out rooms for functions but more thought must be applied to your paying guests who most of would want to get some sleep not be kept awake by the booming bass coming from downstairs until 2am. Totally ruined my stay. For this reason I would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

Our location is as stated superb, right in the heart of the city.

In relation to the bass from the function rooms, we are a very popular eventing hotel and particularly at this time of year. We do where possible allocate bed rooms to guest's who are not attending the party in rooms away from the function which finished at 1am. Had we known on arrival that you where not attending one of the events then my team would have quite gladly allocated you a bed room that would have experienced no noise.

On a positive note I was glad to read you found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.

Once again thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A lovely building situated ideally close to the city centre and the railway station. Seems to function as some sort of banquet central which creates quite a lot of noise. But everything about this hotel is worn and tired, and the smell of old tobacco smoke fills the corridors. My tip: gut the whole building leaving nothing but the beautiful original features (e.g. the woodwork, the brass, some of the lighting), and renovate everything with love. Meanwhile I'd prefer to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I do not disagree that we are a beautiful building and I believe it is pretty well maintained, clean and tidy.

Our corridors are clean and fresh and are not smoked filled as suggested.

Thank you for your tip and we are expecting some investment next year which will be spent wisely.

Once again thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have stayed here before and again were not disappointed. The Reception staff were very helpful and polite, the room was very large, a bit cold but they had put an extra heater in which helped. The decor is quite old fashioned but the room and bathroom was clean, although the shower was not exactly a power shower. It is very central and on top of the large shopping complex in the center of Leicester. I asked for a Cocktail at the bar which they did but obviously the barman did not know how to make this and had to bring it over to me. Breakfast was very good. Would stay there again simply because of the position and the ease of parking immediately behind the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Delighted you had stayed with us before and chose to stay with us again.

I was also glad to read you found the reception team to be polite and helpful.

We are centrally positioned within the heart of the city.

I was also pleased you enjoyed breakfast.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for one night on business, and although I cannot fault the staff or the service, the rest of the hotel is not worth the money it charges or the 4 RAC stars it has.
The decor is old and dated and they still have swirly patterned carpets. The rooms are gloomy and mine was cavernous and actually echoed!. The light switch in the bathroom was tempremental, the top had come off the hot water tap, and the heating suspect. The room was cold and uninviting. There was no view at all except of another room . I found the whole experience depressing especially as there is a noise problem with a do going on downstairs which I could hear on the 3rd floor. ( just the bang bang of base). I totally agree with a previous reviewer who said it should be £50 per night rather than £150!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you received great service however I am a little disappointed by the feedback regarding our beautiful hotel.

It is always an interesting debate, would you pay a little extra for a new carpet and poor service or would you pay a little extra for a carpet that may be old but is clean and tidy and you got great service?.

Once again thank you for taking the time to put a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff are great but the good bit stops at reception. The room was poor quality with peeling paper and old furniture. The bed was horribly uncomfortable and the bathroom was like something from the 1950"s. noise insulation was poor and i could hear next doors conversation.
Happy if i had paid £50 but it was £109. I should have booked the IBIS or the premierinn.

Room Tip: they are in the high street so you get to hear the drunks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

The hotel was built in 1898 and is grade 11 listed and therefore the decor and style has to be inkeeping with the age and character of the building. Our regular guest love this.

Disappointed by your comments regarding your room as all our bedrooms are well maintained and very clean and tidy.

Delighted by the comments regarding the team as they are good.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby St, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.