We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stadium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welford Road Stadium

Welford Road Stadium
Aylestone Road, Leicester LE2 7TR, England
0116 319 8888
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Attractions in Leicester
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stadium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I visited Welford Road for the first time 29/12/12 for the Gloucester game. Now bear in mind I am a Cardiff Blues fan so the Arms Park is my ground, I was so impressed with the ground. One of my best friends is a massive Tigers fan and we do go to a few games (first time at Leicester) together but I thought the whole stadium and fans superb. There was an excellent atmosphere and people and staff helpful and friendly.The way the whole ground fell silent when a kick was being taken for either side really made an impression. I wish more grounds/fans would have this attitude. The club shop was well stocked. I will definitely be coming back again, more than once, even if on my own!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I am from leicester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Been here more times for conferences. Good facilities and well organised. Staff excellent and venue nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The spiritual home of first class rugby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The best place in the world to see Rugby Union played at the highest standard. A good tip is to wrap up well as it does get cold.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Earn Your Stripes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am only an occassional visitor to Welford Road but cannot recommned it enough. Even if you are not much of a Rugby Fan, it is well worth popping along on a Match Day to see Leicester, pretty much at iis best. The People that is, as well as the Team.

The best place to stand is the terrace at the Holland & Barrett stand which runs along one side of the pitch. The crowd here are very lively and humourous and kids are abundant and made to feel welcome. The atmosphere is very much like how football used to be and yes, beer is readily available but everybody seems to behave themselves.

The bars are very well organised, the Pork rolls delicious and the best views of the stunning new Caterpillar Stand can be had from here.

For a special treat, try and cme down when there is a night game on, the atmosphere is electric and if you can make it for one of the games against international opposition, then you have really hit the jackpot.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tigers won !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Tigers beat Bath then watched Eng thump the All Blacks at HQ in the Droglites bar - whats not to like ?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welford Road Stadium also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Welford Road Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welford Road Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.