We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what was looked for.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Belmont Hotel to your Saves list
The Belmont Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Darlington, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exactly what was looked for.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Came here with my daughter for her university interview. Had read thre was parking difficulties in the city and so the parking was a great start. Check in was quick, friendly and room large, good rate (£10 less when we called than Internet quoted rate), spotless and quiet. Sub- zero temps outside and rooms / public areas all warm. Ideally located for centre of the city / university and breakfast was well presented, with good choice. If our daughter gets in to the Uni - we'll stay here when we come to visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your very positive review of the hotel, we have our fingers crossed that your daughter gets the place she's hoping for at uni!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    193
    67
    33
    13
See reviews for
85
139
51
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Exec Double for £79. Spacious, quiet, comfortable room with large bathroom and functional desk for working. Temperature outside was minus 8 so the room needed (and was provided with) additional extra electric heater, which struck me as thoughtful.
Good breakfast. Central location.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear guest
Many thanks for your positive review of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Let's be honest, Leicester doesn't feature in many tourism brochures so one must expect Hotels to be 'commercial'. The Belmont is more friendly than a purely 'commercial' hotel. It is well located, has excellent staff and my breakfast was very good in quality and value. Not being familiar with Leicester and being 'solo' I ate twice in the restaurant. The first evening the meal was acceptable, but no more. I therefore faced the second evening with a little reluctance but was presented with a very good meal indeed. The room was very acceptable for the Hotel's rating. If, like me, one has occasion to visit Leicester for the first time I believe this would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review of the hotel, I have passed your comments regarding your initial dining experience to my Chef and food and beverage manager, although we are all pleased the second night impressed. Should you find yourself in Leicester again please ask at reception for a variety of information on local sites/festivals or events taking place in and around the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Very pleased with all this hotel has to offer, room was spacious, food very good and staff very friendly. 2 hrs free wifi is a great facility.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Tony
Many thanks for your positive review of the hotel, we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Great Bed!, Great Shower!, Great Service!, Great Food! (Breakfast and Dinner)
Location Perfect for Railway Station, Centre of Town and Universites.
Staff very helpful friendly and polite, and work extremely hard to make everything happen.
Fantastic Hotel would stay here again without hesitation, a rare gem of individual character.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your comments, the team are blown away and very happy that we made you so happy! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We have stayed at the Belmont many times before and each time the experience has got better. This time though we thought it may go wrong. I was sure I has seen an offer for Dinner B and B on a Friday at a special rate so I phoned the hotel and booked it. Two days before we travelled we had a phone call asking us to phone reservations. They said they had no knowledge of the offer but as it had been accepted by the front desk they would honour it. We were wondering what would happen on arrival but it turned out well and we were efficently dealt with by welcoming staff and found we had been upgraded to an execuive room - 222. It was a large, well furnished and very comfortable room. There was a large wooden sleigh type bed that actually had a proper mattress and not two single ones that you often see. Also a settee, two arm chairs and a dressing table. Again a good touch in that not only did it have a mirror but plugs for a hair dryer next to and not on the other side of the room. Bath robes and slippers in the wardrobe as well as what looked like a new iron and ironing board.A large flat screen TV with all the Freeview channels and a radio with an I-Pod dock. The bath room had an excellent power shower and plenty of towels.
The set evening meal in the restaurant was very good but the service was rather slow. It did not bother us as we wanted a relaxing evening but the wait of around 15 minutes for coffee after the meal was a little too much.
Breakfast was self service and plentiful but as in most hotels I do not like fried eggs that have been sat in a hot plate for any length of time. Check out was efficient and again helpful.
The only thing I would change would be to either completely get rid of the awful equipmet in the Mini-Gym or replace it with something better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Stu & May
Many thanks for your very positive review of the hotel, your comments are much appreciated. I have spoken with my food and beverage manager about the delay for your coffee and will speak with the MD about the mini gym, which I agree is a let down. We do however have day passes available for a large gym and pool that is within ten minutes walk of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have stayed at the Belmont pretty regularly for the last 2 years whilst visiting Leicester for work.
Pluses: it is a quirky, characterful building in a handy location for Leicester City centre with curteous and efficient staff and a nice atmosphere in and around the hotel.
Minuses: The cold tap runs hot for a while in some of the rooms, the decor and condition of the rooms varies a bit.

I usually arrived at the Belmont late and left early - finishing work any time between 9 pm and 1 am and heading out by 9 am the next morning - and on foot having walked from the city centre and it feels quite safe. The staff still gave me a curteous and warm welcome on arrival despite me sometimes probably waking them up by phoning the night room. I have never eaten here but have had a drink in the bar a few times when I had earlier finishes and it's a nice, relaxed space.

I've stayed in all sorts of rooms there from a small but super quirky single spread over three levels (with a couple of steps between each) to a very modern, spacious newly decorated double. The showers, TVs and decor in the older rooms aren't great but again, are adequate and all the rooms were clean, everything worked and had all I needed.

Don't go for a luxury stay or a romantic break, do go for a handy location in Leicester, a peaceful nights sleep and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Wow! 4 stars for Value, Location, Cleanliness, Service and Sleep quality
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of the hotel.
I like to think the guests that do join us for a luxury break enjoy our refurbished, double and executive rooms or a night in our mini-suite (with the fireplace and lovely blue sofa) But yes I would agree that some of our traditional rooms are lagging behind. We have more room refurbishment scheduled for December, and despite some tough trading in 2010 are endeavouring to move forward so we can deliver fantastic rooms to all our guests.
Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.