We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, But Not Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Leicester to your Saves list
Hilton Leicester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Junction Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mediocre, But Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This Hilton Hotel is one of the lesser fancy ones in the chain.

Whilst the place wasn't bad, it wasn't exactly the Hilton style I imagined it would be. However, as we arrived at after midnight, I couldn't really ask for more than a bed, and that's what we got.

The room was spacious, and the bed was comfy. Bathroom was, very strange. The layout was just odd. Can't really explain it.

I wouldn't return here in a rush, but at the same time, it wasn't completely bad. Just not my ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay. We welcome all feedback and am grateful for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    262
    141
    68
    28
See reviews for
221
143
27
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights on business. Firstly the plus points - breakfast was very nice. Usual fare but it was very nice, pleasant and professional staff. May have been helped by the fact I was almost first one to be seated, so the hot buffet food wouldn't have been hanging around long. All other staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful. So to my main issue, the room itself:
Size wise, very generous, with a table, sofa bed and good lighting. Looked to have been painted recently. However, the bathroom was a weird layout, with the basin outside of the toilet and bath room. The shower over the bath was awful, low pressure, hateful shower curtain. The grouting was black in places, but just generally looked in a poor way and was awkward due to the size. It just needs to be modernised completely, not just a spruce up. The TV was a flat screen, and had many channels (incl Sky Sports) but the picture quality was terrible.

And to top it all, you are charged £5 a day for the privilege of parking your car outside!

Perhaps I have be spoiled by other Hilton hotels, but this isn't what I expect from the brand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. May I thank you for your comments. We value all feedback as this assists with our future refurbishment projects, and helps prioritise the action required. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancheser
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food and drink prices were high; room OK but lots of light from public areas lit up the room. not the easiest place to access and car park to reception is quite a distance take a brolly if it's raining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, after your recent stay at Hilton Leicester. Your comments are appreciated and valued. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here on 8th February and would recommend this hotel. The staff on duty were courteous and very helpful. The room was spacious. The bed was exceptionally comfortable! The only downside is that it is a little way out of town, but all in all a classy hotel, and well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us here at Hilton Leicester. I was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

lobby had a musty smell and the memebrs of staff said she would get the air freshner. It needed a bit more than that. Place needs more plants? Bar not very welcoming and noisy. good breakfast and room service. gym staff very friendly. well equiped. enjoyed the spa.

Room Tip: try not to get noisy neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor. We welcome your comments and have shared them with our Head Housekeeper to investigate further. I was also sorry to hear that you found the bar area noisy and unwelcoming, and again have shared your feedbak with the relevant manager. I hope this did not mar your stay, and I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and our leisure area. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was there for 3 nights after traveling from the U.S. for a funeral. The room was fine. I ate at the restaurant twice and had room service. Food and service both were good. The lobby is comfortably laid out and I spent some free time working there using the free wi-fi.to get work done. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to hear that you had had an enjoyable stay with us and your expectations were met. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having previously dined here on several occasions; we were pleased to be invited to attend a private function hosted at the hotel. We were not to be disappointed from arrival to departure our every need was attended and all in excellent manner. A memorable occasion befitting of the venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that the private function you attended met and exceeded your expectations. It is always a delight to get such positive feedback and certainly will be shared with the whole team. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Address: 21 Junction Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in Caffe Cino. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Leicester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.