We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind and attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leicester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leicester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leicester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LEI 5LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very kind and attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I attended a course here at the weekend. I wish very much that I had booked to stay as well. I had a nightmarish experience at the Grafton House "Hotel" in Saxby Street and left at 6.30am on my last day, I was so desperate to get away from Grafton House. I arrived at Holiday Inn at 7am, two hours early for my course. I explained to reception staff what had happened and they welcomed me sympathetically. I had a safe, comfortable place to sit and wait for my course to begin. Staff even pointed out that I could go and have breakfast if I wanted to (although this would not have been free, of course) but all I wanted was a cup of tea when I got to the room where my course was being held.

Room Tip: I cannot rate everything as I didn't actually stay here, but one of my fellow students did and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    200
    106
    38
    27
See reviews for
88
106
36
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've stayed at a few holiday inn's before and generally find them ok, but wasn't as impressed with this one. First of all there is car parking but it is an NCP car park next to the hotel which cost £12. Check in was quick and easy, the rooms are clean and a good size but dated and could do with updating. No iron bad ironing board but asked for one at reception and they brought it straight up. WI FI will cost you £16 for 24 hours, don't understand why holiday inn charge you for wi if when other hotels don't, so what ever you pay for your room be aware with parking and wi if you could add another £28 to you bill. Used the gym which was not a bad size for a hotel, also have a swimming pool, hot tub and sauna as well which is a plus. Eat in the restaurant and the waitresses were very friendly and the food was ok as well (£23 for started, main and a soft drink). My real issue was the sleep quality, the Air Con in my room was very noisy, effective but very noises and the mattress was very hard. Breakfast was ok but the sausage and bacon tasted like cheap meat, once again the waitresses were really friendly. Check out was quick and easy. V

I would stay again because I thought the facilities were ok, but would maybe ask about the air con.

Room Tip: My room was 402.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Holmezzi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value of the hotel prevented you from having a fully enjoyable experience. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for multiple nights and enjoyed the comforts of the HI standards, but the hotel can do with a refit. Colours are dated and areas like the bar and leisure club are in clear need for a refurb. Staff very friendly and keen to engage, in pleasant contrast with some hotels in the chain which are very formal. The restaurant promotion in the lobby works well and the staff manning this front post do an excellent job as the hotel is within 100 mtr of a major new shopping centre with an extensive range of modern and classic restaurants and eating out is tempting. The hotel is in the middle of a busy roundabout and access during the busy rush hours is difficult, but parking is ample and adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Fellow travellers suggest to avoid the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Danny B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we all hope to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here in January for a 2 day conference meeting.

First the plus points:

The a la carte food at dinner time was tasty and service was good.
The rooms are clean and comfortable albeit basic (what you would expect from a brand hotel)
The lunch and supplies (coffee, tea, biscuits, water) for the conference were restocked frequently and were good
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Water pressure on the shower was good (this is always something that is hit and miss on larger hotels)

Now the negatives:
The "buffet" that they do on the theme night (our night was italian) just looked absolutely unappealing and though it had been left out for a while.....
The air con in both the bedroom and in the conference room were unbelievably noisy - we had to turn it off in the conference room and open the doors and windows, which isn't great in January....
Getting into the car park off the island is difficult in rush hour to say the least - could do with improving signage
A few areas in the hotel look a bit tired. The lobby and restaurant/bar are nice but some of the hallways/stairwell look a bit grubby

In summary, it's a nice hotel but could do with a few touches here and there just to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mike H,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is lovely to hear you liked your room accommodations and found the rooms clean and comfortable. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the air conditioning unit and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canewdon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Booked 1 night for a business. a little on the expensive side but the company was paying.

room was very spacious, with 2 very lage beds in the twin room, i received a complentary mars bar and bottle of water.
the room was very clean, with plenty of towels in the bathroom with toiletries included.. Room had TV and kettle with plenty of tea and coffee.
Breakfast and dinner was very nice with a good choice.
Overall a very nice stay.

the staff were all very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a works nightout. Great location near the centre of town. Checked in at 3pm on a Friday, no waiting to check in, sorted out in a few minutes. Was a bit concerned to start with that my Executive Room was right outside the lifts. There was a bit of noise around midnight when the wedding guests turned in but overall it wasn't as bad as I thought. I use earplugs anyway! The bed was huge and very comfortable with a nice choice of pillows. The shower was excellent with fantastic water pressure. Overall very clean too.
Complimentary mineral water was nice as was the couple of chocolate bars too. Breakfast was pretty good quality for the self serve kind, all the hot food like eggs and sausages were nice and hot.

A very pleasant stay with good service. If I'm every in Leicester again for a night out then I'll be staying here again, but just asking for a room away from the lifts maybe.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor with the aircon units outside, although this didn't disturb me it may do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked one night so we could look round Leicester where I went to college. Had a nice meal and a few drinks in the restaurant on the Sat night. It was ok - we didnt want to bother going back out again.
Not a good night sleep wise. We were in 223 which overlooks a roof with air con gear which rumbled away all night.
Breakfast in the morning. OK plenty to be had and well cooked. Overall, would probably stay again but not on floor 2

Room Tip: Previous reviewer stayed on floor 7 which would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LEI 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leicester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.