We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value meal on Saturday evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boot Room Restaurant

The Boot Room Restaurant
27-29 Millstone Lane, Leicester LE1 5JN, England
0116 262 2555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 840 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: English, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Occupying a former Leicester shoe factory, The Boot Room restaurant in Leicester, serves simple, yet special food made with fresh, quality & seasonal ingredients. The Boot Room restaurant has quickly become one of Leicester’s premier restaurants, supported by the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with just a hint of the buildings industrial past. We have a simple and effective philosophy to “Buy quality ingredients, treat them well, and let your customer enjoy the experience.” The Boot Room is owned by Stephen and Tracey Fitzpatrick who also run The Joiners, a successful restaurant in Bruntingthorpe, Leicestershire.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good value meal on Saturday evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our dinner at the Boot Room yesterday. Tasty food well presented and a lovely atmosphere. Plenty of space around the tables and arrival of diners well spaced out as well. Overall can't ask for much more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The pan fried chicken appeared to have been cooked from frozen, with the batter separated from the chicken.

The smoked haddock risotto hardly had any haddock in it and was quite a small portion.

Each course cost £10.50 which was very poor value.

At a nearby restaurant we could have had two courses for under £10, which we will use in future. We will not return to The Boot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely food and wine. A great way to celebrate a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Good value Tuesday deal. 3 courses and a glass of wine for 15 quid
Food was really tasty and well presented. Definitely recommend

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything Spot on!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visited recently for first time after hearing very good reports and reading excellent reviews. We have eaten many times in the owners other Restaurant, The joiners Arms, Bruntingthorpe and never been disappointed there. The Boot Room has a very 'London' feel, nicely laid out, tables not too close and a contemporary feel about it. We were slightly late for an 8.30 booking but this was not a problem - I mention the time because upon ordering starters they informed us they were already out of scallops which I thought was a bit early in the evening to start running out of things. The tempura chicken with chilli jam was fantastic as was the rib eye steak - highly recommended. The portions were far bigger than we were anticipating so no room for sweet I'm afraid. Great wine selection and we can't wait to go back and take other friends there. They really have got Everything Spot on!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely meal at the boot room. Cant recommend their cant be a**ed Tuesday enough, 3 lovely courses for £14.95 with a glass of wine. The best steak I have had in a while. Great atmosphere as the restuarant was full, unusual for a Tuesday!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boot Room Restaurant also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Boot Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boot Room Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.