We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs Bridges Tea Rooms

Mrs Bridges Tea Rooms
17 Loseby Lane, Leicester LE1 5DR, England
+44 116 262 3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 839 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: A lovely tea room in the centre of Leicester that has a wide menu for brunch and lunch.
Leicester
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I came here for lunch as I had read the positive reviews but was sadly let down. The waitress took quite some time to see to us although it was fairly quiet. I ordered a jacket potato with coronation chicken. The portion was generous and beautifully presented but this tasted nothing like coronation chicken. The chicken was not seasoned and was in a sour plain yoghurt sauce with just enough curry powder to give it a slight yellow curry colour ( but u couldnt taste any curry). I ordered a pear bakewell tart served with clotted cream which was tasty. To sum it up I would come back but would order something else that us fool proof.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sandwich orgasm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Incredible selection of gourmet sandwiches. A bit pricey if you sit in but the sandwiches are just brilliant and always a good selection of specials. See the board.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is one of my favourite places ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The sandwich selection, the breakfasts, the cakes, the service, the loveliness of the place, it just rocks. If you want a properly gourmet treat that is such good value, this is the place to go for a delicious lunch. I've been here so many times and I have NEVER had a bad experience - love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great british treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

i have been going here since i was little with my parents, the food is delicious and well worth every penny, we took my gran for afternoon tea the last time we went and she loved it tiered stands with sandwiches, pastries and yummy cakes. everyone must try this place at least once you will go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“THE best lunch available in Leicester!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Mrs Bridges Tea Room is a quintessential English tea room in its decor and ambiance. It sits in a crowded little space that occupies two levels and has a patio around the back for those sunny afternoons. Unfortunately, it is not open in the evenings, so it is our go-to breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea location whenever we are in town.

The service could be better, however the quality and taste of the food will bring you back time and time again. Everything is made fresh in house which comes through in the flavours of the sweets and savouries. Their ever-changing selection of cakes and treats is reason enough to keep coming back.

The prices are very reasonable offering good overall value. As I said, the service isn't always fantastic, but if you can look past that, you will be very happy with the food..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Bridges Tea Rooms also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Mrs Bridges Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs Bridges Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.