We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class What More Could Be Said” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Brascote Lane | Brascote, Newbold Verdon, Leicester LE9 9LE, England
01455824433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 840 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a contemporary informal dining experience within a traditional country pub setting or just come for a drink in The Windmill Inn's relaxing bar atmosphere. Open Every Day Lunchtime and Evening (Restaurant closed Sunday evenings).
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First Class What More Could Be Said”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Saturday night out with friends, we were all so relaxed, no pushy waiting staff. Food was presented with obvious attention to detail from the chef. Taste second to none. We have eaten here before and really didn't think they could improve on the menu but they have. Nothing was too much trouble and really good value for money. If you are uncertain, they are offering taster nights during the week but I suggest you book early. Keep up the good work,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks Ian. Its lovely to here that you both get and enjoy what we do here. Our relaxed style does go down well with our customers and is something the staff focus on. If you want to know more about forthcoming events and offers then check out our new newsletter. You can subscribe direct from our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    84
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Windmill WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I have been here a few times recently now to try the ever changing menu and we love it. Our favourites so far have been the ham hock and beef brisket. Give The Windmill a try. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for the review, great to here you enjoy visiting us here at The Windmill. Have you tried our sister pub, The Reservoir Inn, Thornton?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, good service, exquisite food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A truly beautiful place, the food was absolutely amazing and the staff were really friendly, an incredibly nice atmosphere.

Would recommend to everyone and I would definitely go again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Jamie. I remember talking to you on the evening and am so pleased that you had such a great time. Thanks for taking the time to post your review and please do join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Have visited The Windmill Inn for both Sunday lunch and an Evening meal. On both occasions the food was great, the service friendly and prompt and all in pleasant surroundings. Quality ingredients, well cooked, with a little style.
Better book as they deserve the reputation they are building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review Warren and so pleased that you enjoy visiting us. Why not try out our sister pub, The Reservoir Inn, just down the road in Thornton, We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I called into The Windmill for the first time ever to lunch with my Mum. This was a wonderful experience from start to finish.We both chose the lamb and mash with delicious gravy which I must say was a very generous serving and the meat was to die for!! The drinks were nicely chilled and the waitress service was Top Class. I didn't have time to have a dessert but I will definitely return very soon to sample a Three course meal as all of the dishes that I saw being served looked really good. How nice to have such a good restaurant on my doorstep!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
So glad that you both enjoyed lunching with is Gill and thanks so much for our review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.