We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The City Rooms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The City Rooms to your Saves list
The City Rooms
Hotel Street, Leicester LE1 5AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Leicester B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We held our companies (RWL Gym) birthday party here last year. We normally hold this at a well known hotel chain in Leicester however after hearing good things about The City Rooms we decided to try them out. We had a black tie event for around 80 guests with champagne on arrival and canapés throughout the evening. The great thing about this venue is that all of the staff are so well trained and clearly don't come from an agency. They were attentive to our needs and very accommodating. The food was also fantastic and because it's all made in house when we requested some different canapés that were not on their menu they were happy to create them for us.
The venue itself is stunning and team there really do a fantastic job! The location is ideal as it is city centre based however when you are there it really doesn't feel like your in the middle of the town.
We will definitely return and I know that some of our clients have gone to other events there and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Owner at The City Rooms, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi, thanks so much for the great feedback, we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves! One of the things we pride ourselves on is not using any agency staff and instead employing our staff directly so it's great to hear such positive feedback on this. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
15
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have used the services of The City Rooms myself and have attended several weddings and have always found the staff to be ever so attentive and helpful. The look and feel is grand with beautiful high ceilings. They don't make buildings like this any more!
The food has always been fab and great value under one roof. The facility is very flexible and the management have a helpful open mind to any ideas. Keep it up City Rooms!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We're so glad you've enjoyed your experiences at The City Rooms. We pride ourselves on our flexibility, fantastic customer service and delicious food, cooked freshly by our in-house chefs, so are very thrilled you loved these aspects of The City Rooms. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

How can I tell you, just how wonderful the afternoon was? I had the most fabulous time at this magnificent venue in the centre of Leicester. The rooms are stunning, beautifully designed and decorated. The staff from the very start of the planning of this event were so friendly and helpful, they truly could not have done more. On the afternoon all of the staff on duty were very friendly, and provided excellent service. The food was everything I had asked for, all of my guests were immensely impressed with the whole event and of the venue.
A huge thank you to all concerned, Kieran, Cherlynn and all the staff involved, I can not praise you enough - FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Liz, we're so happy you had a fabulous birthday at The City Rooms, it was an absolute pleasure working with you in the lead up to your special day and to host you and your lovely guests on the day. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to all our staff and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have worked with the City Rooms for almost 5 years now holding numerous events, fashion shows, functions and parties at their wonderful venue.

The venue itself is absolutely beautiful; the surroundings offer any event that special setting and our guests are always extremely impressed when they see the City Rooms for the first time!

But what really makes the City Rooms such a quality venue is the staff and the service you receive as a customer or guest. As a family run business you always get a personal service from a team who really care about your wedding, party or event.

The City Rooms is in a great central location in the heart of Leicester Town and has a number of beautiful boutique style bedrooms.

In addition to the events we've hosted at the City Rooms, I enjoyed celebrating my 30th Birthday there and hosting our works Christmas party there last December; and again the food and service was exceptional! We would highly recommend the City Rooms for any event, function, party or just a romantic escape.

Kate Solomons
Managing Director
ModelZed Promotions Ltd

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

“Our guests were all delighted by the splendid venue and the quality of personal service, politeness and attention to detail they received from the front of house team, and the chef and team in the kitchen”.
The champagne to welcome us to the reception and the following three course meal were excellent
Leicester Civic Society

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi, we're so glad to hear you and your guests had a great time with us, look forward to seeing you back at The City Rooms again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice reasonable priced venue in great local central locations . Staff very caring and reasonable price with good service . Good, rooms, decor and fantastic and it's worth a regular visit . Brilliant in every thing and in service they provide

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi, we are so glad you had a wonderful wedding day and you and your guests had a lovely day. We take great pride in all our food being prepared freshly on our premises by our in-house chefs so we are thrilled you loved the food! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had our wedding at the City Rooms on the 19th January 2013. We arranged the wedding a couple of months before the date and Kelly from the City Rooms could not have been anymore helpful and reassured us that it could be organised in this tight time scale.
The Big Day was perfect and we enjoyed every minute. The food was lovely. We decided to have a choice of two dishes for each course so that guests could choose before the day what they prefered and it worked really well. The waiting staff were very organised and knew which meal was going where. I have had comments from the guests stating it was the best wedding food they have ever had! The ballroom is stunning and was decorated very well and added a lovely atmosphere to the ceremony and the rest of the day. Everything was so organised so you don't have to worry about a thing and can concentrate on enjoying yourself.
We also used the four bedrooms for our family and they are also very luxurious and comfortable.
I want to thank you all the staff at The City Rooms, especially Kelly and Suraj- I would recommend this venue to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The City Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Rooms

Address: Hotel Street, Leicester LE1 5AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The City Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The City Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.