We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rise of the Raj

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rise of the Raj
6 Evington Road, Leicester LE2 1HF, England
0116 2553885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #355 of 807 restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I always head for this place when i'm in leicester. It's what i call a proper traditional curry house and what's wrong with that! Yes it caters for everyone but that's what i like about it! And the staff make you very welcome! Much cheaper than Bristol too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    22
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Rise of the Raj is a pleasant enough restaurant serving a range of meals. It's all nice but there's not that special element to it. The food is mainstream 'English' Indian without the authenticity of an Indian regional flavour. In any other city the Rise of the Raj would probably be considered very good, but Leicester has a higher bar than most.

It isn't expensive and the service is good. It's a shame there isn't a good rating in TripAdvisor as I'd give it that.

So, it's a pleasant enough place, reasonably priced with good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Authentic, great flavours and the best for years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My brothers and son shared an excellent meal here at the Rise of the Raj. We had to book and I'm glad we did but the lamb meals in particular were excellent. £87 for 4 of us is great value too. Will certainly return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A nice restaurant just of London Road. The service was ok, and the starters really nice. The mains were nice, but not the best I have had, however, it was good value and had a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“fabulous as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A return trip, one of many to this great restaurant. Food hot and delicious as always. one of the best indian restaurants in leicester, and we return over and over again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rise of the Raj also viewed

Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Rise of the Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rise of the Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.