We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Chinese restaurants used to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peking

The Peking
Charles Street, Leicester LE1 3FG, England
0116 2623376
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 808 restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just like Chinese restaurants used to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

In the age of the revolting Chinese buffet restaurant, this is how I remember how they used to be. We've never had bad food, OK, the decor is a bit ropey, the service can be hit and miss, but the food is always consistently good. If you are lucky enough to be dining when the matriarch is there, she will really look after you!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    47
    21
    3
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Been there recently for Sunday Dim Sum. Most, if not all, the usual staff are gone. The new ones are not very helpful. Even the senior staff are not too keen on serving. The standard of Dim Sum has gone down. Shame, Peking used to be the best in Leicester.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good old chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

been going here occasionally for their reasonable business lunches for over 11 yrs now.as I only moved to Leicester then...wonderful food service an quality....no competition with any other Chinese restaurants in Leicester.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

came here as a party of three food was great. Service was a bit slow and the place does need air vents as the smell of food really lingers. However food is great best Chinese in leicester.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Peking has an eye pleasing decor and easy listening music in the background. We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff and shown to a table straight away. We were there on a Saturday not long after its opening time of 12noon and were the first customers. Each member of staff served us during our visit but they weren't fighting over us, it was all conducted with grace and sincerity. We tried the Chinese Beer which was refreshing and light and the food we ordered was of an excellent quality. The food was at a very reasonable price for three courses. Despite not having our pudding choice available this did not spoil our enjoyment of the meal and the alternative selection was more than satisfying.
The reason this doesn't get full marks is due to the large spider that paid a visit to our table, though I have to say the waitress dealt with the situation in a proffessional and efficient manner. There was also an eyelash in my partner's pudding. Otherwise we cannot fault this restaurant and will return for a sequel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peking also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.