We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McHalls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added McHalls Hotel to your Saves list
McHalls Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Outstanding"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

WOW what can i say its the best place in blackpool the only place. I, as well as my family, have stayed there so many time's over the years and always look forward to the next time. The warm welcome you receive from danny on arrival just gets better with every visit they truely do make you feel at home. I stayed at danny and gavin's for a week and just got back home today and i have to say i just want to go back. The room's are excellent from the standard to the double and all have they're own unique style which makes it all the more homely and the price is fare i love it. The food is to die for from the breakfast to the sunday roast i have to say gavin's cooking is outstanding wish i could take the recipies home lol just wouldn't be the same though but the best thing is he now makes and sales his own preserves and by the way gavin they're great lol can't wait till my next visit see you see guys xxxxxxx

Room Tip: If visiting on your own the standard rooms are great but if you are doing a romantic weekend room 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    28
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
123
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I took my Mum to Blackpool to watch Derren Brown, don't know which I enjoyed more, the show or the hospitality shown by Danny and Gavin. The term 'Nothing is too much trouble' is certainly true at McHalls. Well done guys on a top class establishment and for making Mum feel so special. Def be back and will send others. Ben from Norwich.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went to Blackpool to see Derren Brown (who was amazing!!!) and found this hotel on Trivago. I chose it because of the reasonable price and the good reviews on here (£50 for a double on-suite and breakfast included) and it was worth every penny. Danny greeted us and made us feel welcome from the very start and we really felt at home. We were given a choice of room and we took the one at the front of the building. Well decorated, tea and coffee making facilities and a selection of shower gel, soap, shampoo and the like. I had a toasted sandwich and my partner had a BLT with chicken on arrival they were both very nice, we also had a light dinner before we went out of tomato soup and home made chicken goujons which was to die for!!! After a very good nights sleep we had breakfast and I bought some home made chutneys and jams for my mum. Gavin is a true masterchef!!!!!!! I would go here just for the food!!! Everything about our stay was fabulous and the other guests we met were all really nice as well. So a huge thank you to Danny and Gavin for our lovely stay and hope to see you again soon, as this is the only hotel I will book for my Blackpool needs!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

After reading the reviews we couldn't wait to meet Danny and it was true, he was possibly the most genuinely friendly man we'd ever met, if only we could clone him! Having stayed in 3 b&b's in 3 previous years this has to be the best for service and value.
The room was large, our twin had two double beds with lovely fluffy bedding. The location is great for town, the sea front, Winter Gardens etc, of course you can't be that close to town and not experience the noise from the late night party goers (I only wish I still was one!) which was not really welcome at 3am, but it's a trade off for the very short stroll into town, and it was good weather so possibly more people out that usual?
The shower was ok, a common problem with Victorian houses with so many bathrooms, as much as we'd love to of had a power shower, it was no worse than any other b&b we've stayed in.
Great value, if you want to be right in town, with parking outside the door, I don't think you'd find better.


  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I had to visit Blackpool for the Zumba Instructor Training and found this little gem of a hotel near to the Station - beach and all the amenities.

I had a welcome welcome from Danny - one of the owners and had a single room which was more than adequate. The bed was really comfortable.

There was a wide selection for breakfast but as in Training they were able to support me with my diet yet I would have loved to have tucked into their FULL ENGLISH!

Very clean hotel and the bed linen smelt so fresh!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaston-in-Wirral
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Staying at McHalls Hotel has changed our opinion of Blackpool's hotels. We only needed to stay for one night as we had tickets for Rebecca Ferguson at the Opera House on Saturday night, which was also a great concert, and booked on-line at McHalls because it was very convenient for the railway station.

When we arrived we were immediately felt welcome by Danny and Gavin. Danny is a fantastic host - he knew every guest by name and you felt like he'd known us for ever. Gavin is a great cook - we ordered food as soon as we had settled into our room, I had his Chicken and Mushroom Pie (the pastry crust was sublime and the chicken very generous) with mash and peas and a fantastic rich gravy while my wife, Kirsten, had Carrot and Coriander Soup which she said was so tasty and the chunk of bread it was served with was superb. We had the day's specials but the bistro menu was wide and varied and very interesting. The food was excellent value. Breakfast was equally as good and cooked to order which we so appreciate - I increasingly dislike buffet breakfast which too many hotels do now. The bar was very comfortable and the prices very fair. It was lovely sitting in there chatting to the staff and other guests.

The bedroom we had was quite small but was very clean although the en-suite shower room could have benefited from some remedial work it did not spoil our stay. The bed was so comfortable and the room temperature was ideal. We slept well and were undisturbed and woke feeling very refreshed next morning in time for breakfast. All the guests were chatty and friendly - Danny just made everyone feel that way.

All in all we had a great short stay in Blackpool. We shall definitely book into McHalls when we visit Blackpool again. In fact, we shall probably go to Blackpool again just to stay at Danny and Gavin's McHalls Hotel for a longer time. Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAVINBLACKPOOL, Owner at McHalls Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thankyou for your review, it would be nice to see you again, maybe Elton John!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We've just returned from our short 'mini break' in Blackpool at McHalls Hotel. It was absolutely wonderful! We were originally booked elsewhere but the other hotel had problems and so it was a last minute look through Trip Advisor to see what we could find. How glad we are that we found McHalls. From the minute we got there to the minute we left we were looked after wonderfully by Danny and Gavin. Both myself and one of our friends are somewhat disabled and the care we both received was second to none. In fact, we nearly left our hubbys there and were going to ask Danny and Gav to come with us!!!

Thanks to Gav, who did the cooking, I need to get back to square one on my diet! Everything was soooo yummy and very reasonably priced! Nothing was too much trouble for him and he'd cook whatever we asked for, within reason of course.

In short I can say that we all enjoyed our stay at McHalls and will certainly go back there. More friendly and attentive hosts would be hard to find!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAVINBLACKPOOL, Owner at McHalls Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thankyou, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McHalls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHalls Hotel

Address: 7 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — McHalls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your McHalls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McHalls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.