We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lawton Hotel to your Saves list
The Lawton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   58 / 66 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #461 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely hotel in a good location. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room spotlessly clean. Full English breakfast was delicious and hot. Plenty of toast and a good choice of cereal, fruit juices etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    119
    47
    27
    43
See reviews for
84
89
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We only stayed one night at this hotel as we went to a concert at the Winter Gardens. The staff and owners at the hotel made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely and hot (a must for my husband!) and served by a very friendly waitress. Would definitely stay again when visiting Blackpool

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is nice to stay to stay somewhere where the staff are happy and it shows in their work. I was made very welcome here. The rooms are basic, but clean, and with everything you want. The breakfasts were good, with a good choice of cereal, fruit, etc. Personally, as long as the rooms are ok, I think its the people that define how good your experience is. So that made it a really good one! Very good location for shops, Blackpool tower etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were booked in to stay at the Lawton Hotel November of last year. We had planned a chilly winter break in the las vegas of the north west and had a great time. The staff at the Lawton were great, stand out performer being the barman who's name escapes me, but trust me he was great!! The rooms were basic but clean, small but cosy and lovely and warm. Hope to return this year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here with my mum, sister and three children, we had two rooms booked. Quite friendly on arrival, the main car park was full so had to go to the "sister hotel" car park which was very narrow! Rooms were ok but very dated and smelled a little bit of damp as no fan in the bathroom...but it was clean and clean towels and bed linen.

Very good location, central to town centre (only a five minute walk). There was a 40th party and a stag do so a bit noisy in the bar but that didn't affect our room. The young chap in the bar was very friendly and offered the children to go the "family room" which was helpful although this was also dated and quite cold tho the kids liked being in there. There was another bloke behind the bar a bit older who was very unfriendly and asked my sister for ID even though she's 24! Other staff members had served her it's not like she had come in off the street but if she hadn't had ID she was told that she wouldn't be able to have a drink for the rest of here stay! Bit OTT!

Breakfast was nice and tables clean and fresh for new customers.

Some good points some bad...not sure if I'd stay again for the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Only booked in for one night with 10 over 70 'teenagers' hotel great, staff so helpful even driving our mini bus from carpark to hotel door for us on leaving. Dining room immaculate with beautiful linen, good breakfast and excellent service. Will definitely be back. So good some of our group booked in for christmas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Its was just "ok" reception staff person was friendly & helpful, resteraunt staff sounded polish, and not very happy, but they couple of english staff that were nice though. Cant understand why 99% of hotels/shops in Blackpool have dirty windows ! place was clean ish and basic, bed linen was clean, could do with new beds though, ours had no castors and old base onto floor, old pattern carpets, Room was small but slept 3 and shower was walk in wet room, shower was nice, but tiny sink smely bit ify. Breakfast was hot, but small, didnt like the sausage, hash brown was soft n cold, very greasy fried bread it could of dont without, clean linen n cutlery, its a big place, very decieving, 5 mins walk from tower.Free parking too was a bonus in Blackpool. Its not what we usually go for but thought we'd try it, would stay again if i had too.. prefer my 4*+

Room Tip: Not any good views from any room, id say go for front road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lawton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawton Hotel

Address: 58 / 66 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #461 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lawton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Lawton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.