We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation to your Saves list
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41 - 43 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
barrow-in-furness
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smashing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I have just arrived home after staying at Mardi Gras with my daughter, her wife and their friend. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. My room was spotlessly clean, the bedding fresh and crisp and the bathroom immaculate with lovely clean towels, shower curtain and a supply of good quality shower gel. Thank you for a lovely stay and we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MardiGrasHotel, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your review, I know my team and I are always happy to read good reviews, we all work very hard to make your stay memorable and I look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    56
    16
    4
    16
See reviews for
9
104
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Mardi gras is a great 3 star B&B with friendly staff and owners
Our room was clean the bed was very comfortable there is tea making equipment in the room with mugs insteed of the usual small cups you get in hotels.
The EN-suite bathroom looked as if it had recently been decorated and had some nice toiletries.
The room also had a flat screen TV my only grumble with the room would be the blinds as they let to much light intheroom in the morning but this is by no means a complant

The breakfast was great we had the full english everyday which was cooked perfectly

To sum up i would highlyrecommend the Mardi Gras to anyone looking for a good stay on a budget

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard1948161HQ, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your review, we have had a few people mention the blinds so we have recently arranged for a decorator to start work on redecorating our rooms and also we will purchase curtains for all the rooms to help with the light problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a really friendly hotel, owners very friendly and staff too they cant do enough to make your stay a good one. They are very helpfull giving you advice i.e places to go in the evenings, where to go for meals, shops, parking etc, there own meals are very good too. I went with my husband and my mother it was her 70th birthday, we took her to funny girls which was just over the road we all had a brilliant time. thank you Ste, Lee, gary, mathew and all the guest we met there. The rooms were clean, spacious with plenty of storage for clothes etc and clean towels and bedding, also large kettle, mugs, tea, coffee and ironing facilitys all at a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MardiGrasHotel, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your review your mother was absolutely lovely and nowhere near the age she is, I'm glad you have had a great time I know you loved Funny Girls. I look forward to you returning again, next time less drama you know what I mean lol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

As i was staying in Blackpool I thought that I woulf give the Mardi Gras a try as I had heard some good reports about it.
Having worked in the tourist industry I knew what standards to expect.
The hotel is cheap and cheerful. Moderately clean ,
what lets it down is the bad fitting bed clothes that have not been updated for about 15 years. come on lads I bet your bed had nice fitted bedclothes.
We all sleep in nice bedclothes so dont expect us especially gay men to pay to sleep in old ones.
The decor really is crying out to be modernised with a few coats of paint.
With the 60es stippled plaster to be replaced and the ancient black ceillings to be brightened up. You can do it lads Brighten it up and we wount mind paying a few quid more for something we are used to .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MardiGrasHotel, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is hard to please everyone. However, your comments regarding bad fitting bed linen I will pass onto our suppliers Sunlight Laundry. who I'm sure will take this comment, like me with no interest at all. Sunlight is one of the leading laundry service providers in the country and would not have linen that is 15 years old. I remind you of the previous reviewers who have stated that we provided lovely clean fresh linen, this linen is from the same provider as the one you slept in, and by the way my bedding on my bed is none of your business, I can just imagine what is on yours.

In terms of the decoration the black ceiling and stippled plaster is in the bar area and works well with what we are trying to achieve, I happen to like it so there will be no change there. I note you have reviewed another hotel here on trip advisor what a surprise you didn't like that one either. I do like criticism but yours is laughable and in some ways your review is being insulting but with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

love this hotel,can take my dogs,rooms spotless,friendly staff,great breakfast,could go but think you get the message that i love this hotel,hence why we will keep coming back whenever in blackpool x

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MardiGrasHotel, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you had a good time here, Your dogs were adorable and absolutely no trouble what so ever. I know we are looking forward to your return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Our second time there as again the same perfect service form all the staff. The room was clean and tidy, nice to see white bedlinen and not flowery and chintz.. The staff are always friendly and cheerful. Close to the gay scene and a 10 minute walk to north pier and trams and buses to pleasure beach, and within easy walk to town centre. Will def recommend to anyone who wishes a break in Blackpool. There is very little parking outside hotek but there is a multi storey car park at the end of the road that is cheap

Room Tip: Ring direct and ask what is available and state ys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MardiGrasHotel, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your review, I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

we stayed here on our rugby tour and all we can say is, think of the most perfect hotel and this is it!!! the staff especially matty are the so welcoming and laid back. the bar area was fab and the drinks are really cheap too. the breakfast was tip top plus the dining area was very clean.
our rooms where fabulous i dont think i could have cleaned them better myself we were all together on the same floor. the lovely beds were so comfy and the best sleep iv have in ages even if i did have to sleep nest to the team snorer!! and can i say you dont get no floral car boot cheapo bedding the mardi gras NO you get pristine diamond white bedding so 10/10 for that!!
i could go on for ages writing all the plus points for this hotel and there is NOT ONE negative i can think of!!
we will definatly visit again and will recommend to others
the owners should be very proud to have a hotel like this, nothing is too much effort for them. we couldnt have asked for more
thank you very much from the chesterfield ladies r.u.f.c xxxxxx

Room Tip: all the rooms are fab you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MardiGrasHotel, Owner at Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Hi girls thank you for this review you were a great group of rugby players well behaved even with a mega phone lol. looking forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation

Address: 41 - 43 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the largest gay run accommodation providers in Blackpool. We cater for the individual guests and groups numbering up to fifty plus. All of our rooms are en-suite and spacious and we offer smoking and non-smoking rooms.Unfortunately our hotel does not accept children under the age of 16. The Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation is situated in the heart of the gay scene of Blackpool, and less than a 100 metres to the night life of Blackpool’s gay complex of Funny Girls, Funny Girls 2, The Flying Handbag, Flamingo’s, Buzz, Kaos, Lucy's @ Tabago, and the Mardi Gras Nightclub. We are literally two minutes walk from the town centre for your shopping trips, and just a short tram ride to the fun of the Pleasure Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Guest Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.