We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a weekend we just had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henson Hotel

Henson Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Henson Hotel to your Saves list
Henson Hotel
23 Clifton Dr, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
westmidlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a weekend we just had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just come back home today from the henson hotel once again we had a wonderful time we went for a Tony Rydal Weekend there this hotel is a really good hotel for all your entertainment and as a regular would recoment it fantastic food and plenty of it
breakfast is second to none infact you cannot wait to go to bed to get up to it lol the hotel was full this weekend and a really good crowd were there the staff are always there to help you and the Managers Dave & Sue treat you like one of there family and money cannot buy that we are back in 3 weeks for our weeks break so counting the days down now to go back we spoke to first time people who were there and none had a bad word at all to say all i can say is you must be very hard to please if you dont return year after year

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    68
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
49
73
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Henson is a great little hotel we booked for two night over the easter weekend ariving on the saturday having stayed the previous year. its a stone throw away from the pleasure beach with friendly staff and a bar witha good selection of drinks. rooms was very well laid out a tidy with plenty room. upon checking we were told of a comedian / singing who was peforming that night called tony rydale, very funny guy. Will be staying again next time. Only grumble was the bed was a bit hard but very good trip all round.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Erm were do i start.... good points , breakfast brill, dave & sue lovely people , entertainment fantastic....bad points ,room no beds were made & rooms were not cleaned for the 3 days we was there, had to fetch our own towels from reception , rooms were cold at to ask for heatin 2 be put on , evening meals were awful....dont think we be going back :( Henson Hotel looking very tired.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I have stopped at this hotel before and i am very pleased with the service and the friendly staff. my room was warm,clean and very comfortable. the food was good. the entertainment was very good. Tea coffee flat screen tv. lovely shower. yes it had it all.. From the young lady cleaning the rooms to the owners nothing is to much trouble. i would recommend this hotel to all my friends. and all my friends that have already stayed there remain UNITED behind this hotel. I preferred this break to a CITY break anyday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmidlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Just come back from the henson hotel we go there 3 times a year with a large group of around 70 every time we have fun and laughs all the time dave and sue join in with use which is great to know they feel at ease with us crazy lot our group is ages from 43 to 85 so a wide age group we are all going back in march next year we find the rooms are just fine for all of us and if there is something that needs doing nothing is to much trouble for sue dave or the staff meals are just out standing cannot fault them and if you ask for chips instead of potatoes you get them all i can say is well done to you both and staff we love out little ben cuddly dave and nicky and as for entertainment it is the best we love them looking forward to going back in march like home from home for us Kym & Terry & nutters lol

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We booked this hotel for two nights at £70 a night. The rooms are very old fashioned and on arrival I had to ask the owner Sue to change my duvet as it had make up on it. She was reluctant to do so but after looking at it agreed it needed changing, the spare pillows also had used pillowcases on them which she also changed. The shower was awful, black mould around the edges, badly fitted skirting boards, and dirty beaker with toothpaste residue in the bottom probably from the previous occupant. The toilet when flushed took 22 minutes to fill up, and when we reported this after the first night we were told it would be fixed, but this never happened. The view from the window was of a grotty back yard looking onto a roof full of rubbish. If you like a pleasant, clean, fresh smelling room this is not the hotel for you to stay in. One consolation the breakfasts were very good, with a good selection. The rest lets what could be a very good hotel to stay at down.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELLINGBOROUGH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at the Henson as part of a coach tour. Having stayed in Blackpool before, and realisig how dodgy many of the hotels are we hoped that the cach operators had picked a good one.
Well, lets start with the good points. The owners, Dave and Sue give a good welcome and are always friendly. Most of the staff are ok, if a little disorganised. The breakfasts are very good, huge selection and piping hot, served buffet style.
Unfortunately, the bad points outweigh the good. Room was ok but shabby,the bathroom was poorly decorated, the shower was intermittant and the sliding door to the bathroom was not anchored properly.
For some reason many Blackpool hotels serve the evening meals at the ridiculously early time of 5pm, this can only be for the convenience of the staff, because it certainly isn't for the guests.The Henson also follows this rule, they must cook the food at about 3pm, because without exception each and every evening meal was overcooked, vegetables cooked to a pulpy mass, gloopy soups, and unforgivably, running out of hot dessert of the day before everyone had been served.I am not being picky, these are serious faults, and as I say are details that spoil what could be a very good small hotel.Its a good job that the curry and chips option is so popular.
Looking at the websiteand the brochure, like so many Blackpool hotels, the reality is far different.
Speaking to ther guests, quite a few return regularly, so it obviously ticks their boxes, but many on our tour were disatisfied.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henson Hotel

Address: 23 Clifton Dr, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Pleasure Beach on the Blackpool's South Promenade, this friendly, family-run hotel has free parking and free Wi-Fi. With modern rooms and a bar, there are also delicious breakfasts. Blackpool's lively town centre and famous piers are less than 2 miles up the coast. Blackpool Tower is a 5-minute drive away, passing restaurants and shops on the way. The Henson Hotel is just 50 metres from Blackpool Pleasure Beach Train Station, and 1 mile from Blackpool Airport. Each of the rooms has a TV, free tea and coffee and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a separate lounge area with sofas, and a large flat-screen TV. The bar and games room offer good views of the sunset, and Henson Hotel provides seasonal entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Henson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.