We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worse b&b ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waverley Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waverley Hotel
Save
You added Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   95 Reads Ave, Blackpool FY1 4DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #811 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“one of the worse b&b ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

sergeant steve came up to our room at 9.15 to ask if we were coming down for breakfast even though it was till 9.30 very rude make sure you eat everything on your plate or he will ask you why and tell you he does not like waste and when we found no soap in our room he told us there was and was again very rude do not think about puting up a do not disturb sign because this will really upset him make sure you are on time leaving because before you have finished your breakfast he will have the car ready out the front he likes to keep all car keys not a realaxing stay too controling and its his way or no way and she is no better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

stayed in this hotel for 2 nights from friday 31st august till sunday 2nd sept, for the illuminations and found it to be ideal for us, it is a quiet family hotel, no noise of people comming in late waking u up, not to far from shops and bars, we had the four poster bed room , which was big enough for two, tea and coffee and biscuits in the room, and plenty to eat at breakfast,all in all we had a a lovely weekend, and would go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

just came back from here,it was a very good hotel,steve and colleen couldnt do enough for us,such a nice couple,would return again,the room was very nice and clean,very comfortable.breakfast was very good,steve always asked the guests if they wanted more toast ,coffee or tea,we would like to say thank you to you both,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My daughter stayed in this awful place from Sunday to Friday, with a driving course so she had not chosen this property herself.I arrived on the Thursday night to surpise her.on entering this house there was a funny smell,the carpets all old and very dated all the doors had no paint on them,and this was before I got into the room...In the room ,this was a family room,with a sliding door into a small ensuite that was awful,the cold tap just about got water out of it the floor and paint work needed updating..
I asked my daughter why she had dirty towels and only two and dirty bed sheets,she said no one had given her clean towels or bedding all week,I was not happy, to be honest I didnt really want to sleep here,but as it was late I did...
In the morning when we were leaving she asked me to pay for my one night,I asked how much she said £15.00 my reply was,sorry but that room is not worth 15.00 so I will pay you £10.00 because of all the reasons above..I wanted to know why the towels and bedding hadnt been changed..The woman that owns the B&B replied`well im not going to change the towels if she has make up on them` I was shocked... She said she was going to call the police if I didnt pay the full amount so she called them.. I rang my lawyer when I was awaiting the police and he said I was in my right as I was unhappy with this B&B....I have stayed in many hotels and also B&B and costing from £45.00 to £200.00 per night and not once has anyone ever said to me that they are not changing my towels because they have make up on them......So beware if you stay here take your bedding and towels.....
A very awful place and rude lady....

Room Tip: Dont even bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I recently visited the the waverley guest house in blackpool and it was great. Steve and Coleen were the best host. The rooms were clean, cosy and comfortable with en suite. The breakfast in the mr
morning was yummy was a full breakfast and they take the time to ask you what you would like. The bar is value for money and i would return again definaltey. Thank you Steve and Coleen for a fantastic weekend x x x
Manisha and Jit

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stayed at the waverley hotel reads avenue in may 2008.We drove to blackpool and decided to look for a hotel while we were there rather than book in advance.We got a little fed up of looking around so decided to try this hotel as a last resort.We stayed here in a triple room at a cost of £80 .The room was very modern and clean which is rare in blackpool. The reception,bar and dining area need a little updating but i did not spend much time there so it was ok .The people who run the hotel are very nice .There was a little problem but that was sorted right away.
We had an enjoyable stay and would return to this hotel.
I can honestly say that looking at the website pictures i would not have booked this hotel because part of it looks too old fashioned but now that i have stayed here i would return at a later date.
We payed £80 for a triple room including breakfast for one night .The hotel has a 3* rating

  • Liked — modern and clean
  • Disliked — bar,dining,reception areas
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 95 Reads Ave, Blackpool FY1 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #811 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.