We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute lifesaver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salmar

The Salmar
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Salmar to your Saves list
The Salmar
138 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PL, England (Formerly Salmar Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #674 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Last minute lifesaver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Booked to come to blackpool for the week via laterooms who had not informed the hotel of my booking. After screaming down the phone at them for ages I was called back and asked to come to this hotel.
On arrival Angela was very welcoming and had given me a small single which was clean and comfortable. I had the room only so came and went as I pleased.
The hotel is in an ideal location for the town and local nightlife while being in a nice peaceful location I am so grateful to the Salmar and would definately use again if ever up this way.

Thanks again.
Darren Bailey

Now I am going to go and give laterooms hell as I had to pay £50 more to stay here but will be claiming that back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

5 of us stayed at salmar last weekend and had a great time hotel was very clean and comfortable we would recomend salmar to others as we will be definitly goin back when in blackpool next time so a big thank you to the owners from all of us

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Salmar alone for one night as I was meeting friends for the night in Blackpool, on arrival I was met by the owner who assisted in helping me park on the front of the property. I was then told that there was a problem with the single room I had book however I would be upgraded to a twin at no extra charge which I was more than happy with. The room was clean and had everything I needed.

If I were to make one suggestion it would be that there were more plug sockets in the room, i only found one which was behind the head of the bed so i had to pull the bed out to plug in my hairdryer/ straighteners etc, saying that i managed fine and it didnt effect my stay any.

In the morning I was late so missed breakfast unfortunatly however when i left i had a good conversation with the owner who i found very welcoming and helpful during my night there. I would reccomend the Salmar and would stay again, it is excellent value for money, central to town and has free parking which is a major bonus in this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed for four nights midweek in a single room.

No complaints about the room which was above standard.

Very clean and nice breakfast.

Only complaint was that I was asked to leave the guest lounge/bar at 10pm on the one night I used it, as it was closing. I pointed out at the time that this didn't reflect what was advertised- comfortable bar/lounge for the use of guests.

This may have been because I was drinking my own malt whisky as the bar is under 're-construction'.

Overall though, an enjoyable stay and good sevice on the whole.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ang61, Owner at The Salmar, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for your review, and the comments that you found the accommodation clean and you enjoyed our breakfasts.
I close the lounge bar during the week between 10 and 11pm depending on the guests using the facilities. On this particular night the guest in question came in at about 8pm and asked if we served malt whisky which we did not, he then asked if he could bring a glass of his own down, which I did not mind due to there being no other guests in the bar.
The guest was told I was closing the bar up at 10.20pm as the other guests were either still out or were in their rooms. The guest had sat and drunk half of the bottle and not even purchased anything from the bar. I found I was very accommodating and reasonable in closing the bar due to no other guests were using the facilities.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights a week from Sept '10 to Feb '11 while I was at the Theatreworks college down on the promenade and Mark and Angela were so lovely to me. I was looked after like they were my 2nd mom and dad!

They were so welcoming and friendly and I really did feel home from home whenever I was there.
And they're food is the BEST!!!

It really is the best little b&b in Blackpool, and at really reasonable prices too.
Will miss it! xxx

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hooy67hound, Owner at The Salmar, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we loved having you staying with us. Keep up the dancing and hopefully we will see you in a production in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathpeffer
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Really nice warm welcome from Angela, made to feel at home immediately, comforatable clean establishment run by a warm friendly lady. I would recommend the Salmar and Angela

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed in The Salmar for one night with a couple of friends whilst going to the Darts in Blackpool.

The hotel was excellent. We were able to drop off our bags very early with Angela. When we came back our rooms were prepared. The rooms were great. Clean and every facility that you require.

The breakfast served was great and setup you up for the day. Angela was a very kind host and made us all feel very welcome.

The hotel is located a couple of minutes walk from the centre and the Winter Gardens.

We will be staying in this hotel again when we return to the darts again.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hooy67hound, Owner at The Salmar, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the darts at the winter gardens just round the corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salmar

Address: 138 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PL, England (Formerly Salmar Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #674 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.