We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value due to offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merginn

Save Saved
You added The Merginn to your Saves list
The Merginn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Merginn
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 Gynn Ave, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 886 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Bradford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good value due to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very good hosts who made us feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast well cooked and good choice. Rooms average size with good comfy clean beds. Unfortunately very dusty and big cobwebs on both walls made my dust allergy quite bad. Had to take antihistamine both days when indoors. A little more attention to cleaning would have made us return in the future but my itchy eyes and sneezing put a stop to that. Good value as we got an offer of half price rooms but would have been disappointed if paid full price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strawberryBlackpool, Owner at The Merginn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Firstly thank you for your review, we always find it helpful when feedback is given. Obviously when nice things are said i.e. our breakfast being good and our beds being very clean and comforable,we appreciate your telling us.

We were not aware that there was a problem with the cobwebs being in your room. The walls in the your bedroom are artex and small cobwebs can appear over night. As you were with us over two nights, we would have thought you might have pointed out that this was causing you a problem and we would have dealt with it accordingly with apologies! As for dust your room was dusted prior to your arrival but we note that your window was wide open during most of your stay. We cannot control dust through a wide open window. Sorry that your allergy is so sever, and had we been aware we would have re-dusted and closed the window. All our previous reviews state that their rooms were clean and comfortable, and we pride ourselves on this,

We note that you have said you wouldn't visit us again but should you change your mind you would be made very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
40
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Dawn & Steve were amazing from the second we got there! Had a good chat as soon as we arrived and even a cup of tea, helped upstairs with the bags aswell! Beautiful breakfast every morning aswell, perfect location away from the centre of Blackpool, only a 5-10 minute walk aswell, very clean all round, nothing was ever too much trouble! Thank you for helping us have an amazing weekend Dawn & Steve :)
Jamie & Michelle x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me and my partner stayed from the 12th to the 16th of aug 2013. The B and B was very clean the room was a good size. Every morning we were cooked a lovely full English breakfast , Dawn and Steve and very nice people and made us feel very welcome from the minuet we arrived. We think its very good value for money and we will be going again next year with our two younger children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My self and husband stayed two nights we got a great welcome the room was clean Steve and his wife were very nice and very friendly breakfast was great I had a bad foot but to walk into Blackpool only took 10 mins and I had a bad foot but buses and trams right on the door step would definitely stay there again we went 23rd of July was a nice weekend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me and the wife looked for a bed and breakfast that provided a warm welcome value for money and a good base to explore Blackpool and after reading the reveiws we chose this place and it location room and hosts did not let it down...Warm welcome a clean room and a good breakfast to set you up for the day is what you are after don't hesitate to book with this B&B
Paul&Marina

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have recently returned from a weekend at the Merginn hotel, we booked a double room at an excellent price and car parking although this is limited and you have to book in advance. The car parking was great although it is tight but my driving skills were admired by Steve lol when I managed to manoeuvre out of a very tight space(our choice as wanted to park car on street so we could explore blackpool more on our last day).When we arrived we were greated with a lovely cuppa before being shown to our room. The double room wasnt massive but ideal for what we needed it for our only slight grumble was that the bed wasnt the most comfortable but we had a decent night sleep despite this. We also got money off vouchers for the tower and madame tussads which was great. The breakfast was excellent and not greasy at all it was what we needed after a night out dancing. The merginn is situiated on the north pier very quiet and the trams are regular it is about a mile to the tower we walked in a few times. A great weekend away and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Second stay at the Merginn. Once again not only did we get the great weather we had a warm welcome from both Dawn n Steve. Beautiful n clean breakfast was lovely;-) they couldnt do enough for u n this made the stay all the better. Keep up the good work guys see u next year.

Room Tip: Had two rooms now one back n one front of the house, both good no complaints at all over either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Merginn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merginn

Address: 9 Gynn Ave, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 886 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Merginn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merginn is situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool where you will find it quieter and more relaxing, yet still within easy reach of all Blackpool'€™s many attractions. Buses and trams stop each end of the Avenue. Gynn Avenue is a lovely quiet street close to the Gynn Square. We are only a 2 minute walk to the promenade, and just a mile back into town and the Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Merginn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merginn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.