We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hornby Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hornby Villa to your Saves list
The Hornby Villa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   130 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at hornby villa for the weekend. I booked this hotel because of the reviews and we weren't disappointed... From the minute we walked in the door to the moment we left everything was perfect. David and Gill do a lovely job and are great hosts. Being able to have a choice for breakfast was great as my daughter can be hungry one morning and not the next!
The location of the hotel is great as it is very central.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you littlemamma for reviewing your 4 night midweek stay in one of our Standard Double en-suite rooms. We are pleased you had a great stay & our reviews which prompted you to book with us lived up to your expectations of what we offer... Glad you liked the different breakfast choices & look forward to seeing you both again .....Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    36
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
190
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thanks David and Gill you both made are stay very welcoming, breakfast was excellent couldnt fault it ,will be recomending to friends and family the location is just about right far enough from the main hustle but located not too far from the tower and the winter gardens ,would definitley stay here again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Many thanks domo73 for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your break & breakfast & found our location ideal for stay. We get a lot of guests staying for events at The Winter Gardens being only a 5Min walk away. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.....Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

wonderful two night stay.. david and jill were very welcoming and as it was our 30th wedding they even went to the trouble of putting baloons and banners up in our room.. very clean and tidy room and the whole place was a pleasure to stay in.. and the breakfast was superb.. will be booking another stay next time we visit blackpool..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Many thanks lcfc07 for reviewing your 2nt stay in our Superking en-suite room, We are pleased you had a great 30th anniversay in Blackpool & were suprised by the room deorations. Glad you enjoyed your "superb breakfast" too....Here's to another 30th years together & see you again on your next visit to Blackpool....Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our hosts were extremely welcoming. There was a welcome pack in our room and David and Gill were able to provide other information we asked for such as restaurants. The breakfasts were excellent and the room comfortable.

The location was ideal as we were only 5 to 10 minutes from the centre of Blackpool which meant that we could leave our car at the hotel and lots of things were in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Many thanks Gillian w for reviewing your 2nt stay in a standard double en-suite room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay & found our location ideal being only a 5-10 min walk into the heart of everything. Pleased you enjoyed our hospitality & our recommendations on finding somewhere nice to eat out....Look forward to seeing you both again Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I chose this B&B instead of a larger hotel because of the fab reviews. David and Gill are fabulous hosts friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and warm and the bed was so comfortable.The en-suite was small but had everything you need even toiletries and the shower was fab.There was a menu in your room that you can select items for breakfast the next day ( you can of course choose on the morning but ordering the night before speeds up the service)there is of course the usual cereals,orange juice a selection of yoghurts and more.and as much tea/coffee and toast as you would like. A 10/15 minutes walk to the promenade just enough to be out of the noise in the evenings.
Have already booked again for October

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello looby0127 Thanks for taking the time to review your 4nt stay in one of our standard double en-suite rooms & we are pleased you had a great stay. Due to the layout of the building & room sizes it's difficult to incorporate large en-suite's into some rooms. We feel that guests these days prefer a smaller en-suite to a shared bathroom option especially with the extra toiletries we provide. We know we have provided a great service all round when guests rebook before leaving so we shall look forward to seeing you again in Oct & thanks for rebooking....Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I chose this B&B because it won a Trip Advisor award. And that award was clearly justified; it is a great place.

My room was clean, nicely decorated, with a big comfy bed, powerful compact shower, TV and fridge. Also wireless internet and car parking for only three pounds a day – very reasonable.

But what impressed me most overall is the level of attention the hosts pay to details. For example, when I arrived, owner David met me at the door and greeted me by my name. As I checked in, he referred to the various emails we’d exchanged; this is a great level of personal attention. I was also very impressed that he took the time to note my girlfriend’s name and remember it. She is Chinese and her name is pretty hard to remember and pronounce for a non-Chinese speaker – but David took the time to do so.

The B&B also offers a great breakfast, with a full range of items; the standard juices, cereals and yoghurts, but also a wide range of cooked items. There is a menu provided in the room and you can select the items you’d like the next day (guests can also just ask for what they want at the breakfast table, but ordering in advance speeds things up.) Here too the attention to detail was obvious – David knew I’d asked for brown rather than white toast, tea instead of coffee. And he remembered my choices the next day, too. Also Gill came into the room just to introduce herself, as I’d not met her up to that time.

Now of course there is no magic here; all it takes it attention to detail. But it shows that Gill and David have thought hard about how to make their guesthouse as good as possible. And they have succeeded very well; the Hornby Villa is run to a very high standard, and the hosts are friendly and welcoming, with a genuine desire for guests to enjoy their stay as much as possible.

I would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone planning a trip to the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Many thanks David M for reviewing your 3nt stay in our Superking En-suite room & providing such in depth information to other potential guests looking for a nice B&B to stay. We are pleased you felt our award was justified, liked the room & found the car parking reasonable for internet bookings...it's handy that when guests like yourself book our accommodation online & request the parking in the special request box that they have peace of mind that they have a space guaranteed for their stay. I'ts all about attention to detail & giving good customer service & we are pleased this was duly noted in your review & hope to see you both again in the future....Regards Gill & Dvaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay.its so clean the breakfast is excellent.david and jill such good hosts can not do enough for you.lacation is really good I would not hesitate to stop here again.just wish all b&b were the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Many thanks Lisa2000Barnsley for reviewing your 2night stay in a standard double en-suite. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us & are proud to announce with that with reviews from guests like yourself we have just won a TRIPADVISOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE 2013 for a 2nd year running...So many thanks to you & all the other's who reviewed their stay this past 12months....Look forward to seeing you both again...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hornby Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hornby Villa

Address: 130 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hornby Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HORNBY VILLA is not a party hotel/B&B, We do not accommodate Stag/Hens, Group bookings of Single or Mixed sex OR Late Night Nightclubbers....We specialise in relaxing breaks in a homely environment for Couples / The solo traveller / Families / Delegates attending events & conferences.....If you are after a wild night out nightclubbing into the early hours this is NOT the B&B for you & there are many other Hotels/B&B's more suited to your needs. ABOUT US..The Hornby Villa is a late Victorian house providing the traditional experience of a seaside B&B with a homely ambience while awarded a 4*Guest Accommodation status by Visit Britain for our excellent standards of Cleanliness / Hospitality / Breakfasts & the presentation of our Bedrooms which do vary in size & this is reflected in our pricing structure. CAR PARKING AVAILABLE FOR FAMILY SIZED CARS & MUST BE PREBOOKED AT THE TIME OF BOOKING ACCOMMODATION--in the special / additional request box online, parking will then be allocated by ourselves in one of our parking areas- LOCATION...Perfectly situated at the top of Hornby Road away from the hustle & bustle of the noisy nightlife & Ideal for event & conference delegates being only a short 5 min walk to the Winter Gardens. The National Express coach station is at the bottom of Hornby Road, along with The Sealife Centre, Blackpool Tower, Central Pier, Town Centre & the Promenade also a short 5min walk away--- ROOMS...All En-Suite & accessed by stairs, non smoking,tastefully furnished & each room with it's own sense of identity. Rooms have Free WiFi, Freeview TV ,Tea & coffeee making facilities with complimentary beverages. We supply big bath sheets,hand towels,toiletries & Hairdryers are provided in every room. Our Superior Double/Twin - 4 Poster Room & Superking Rooms also have a Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Hornby Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hornby Villa Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hornby Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.