We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel to your Saves list
Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel
13 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked as a last minute one night stay - 4 adults 2 rooms - both room were clean and nicely decorated - jo was extremely friendly and helped book taxis and arrange our night out - even put emmerdake on for us in the bar, despite her not liking it :-)the beds were very comfy and nothing was too much trouble -had a fantastic nights stay at a great price - thank you, my friends and I will be recommending you - we even got given the cute bottles of wine that we found so charming :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Guest Relations Manager at Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review we really appreciate it, It is so good to receive accalaide for all the hard work that we put in here at the Sandgate Boutique Hotel
We are constantly upgrading our little hotel every penny we earn goes straight back into it !
The two of us "Sally and Joanne " run the Hotel on our own along with our two children Chloe and Ethan It is our mission to ensure our guests receive the best service in Blackpool !
On your return to Blackpool please be sure to book direct with us and we will take extra special care of you !
thank you again from Joanne The booking manager Sally the chef Chloe the entertainments Manageress and Ethan the bell boy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for a night to see the ending of the illuminations on a Thursday evening. Parking is horrendous! We had to park approx 10minutes walk away which cost is £10 for 24hours.
Downside: room was small, toilet flush was dodgy, only one plug socket, couldn't connect to wifi, and tv channels didn't work (host blamed the aerial, so we had to stick to radio channels)
Upside: bed was comfy, pretty central to the whole strip with the main rides to the left, and central/north pier to the right.
Room cost £30 for the night with checkout at 10:30am, breakfast was £7.99 so we passed and found one for £2.50 a couple of minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Manager at Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Firstly please dont blame us for the parking that is unfair as we do not state parking at the hotel
2, You booked a small double room ! we don't hide the fact that the room is small that is why it is called a SMALL DOUBLE if you book other hotels in Blackpool the rooms are smaller and they charge you full room price 50 to 60 pounds a night !
3. I clean the toilet after a guest checks out and i flush it every time i clean it and have no problems it just has to be pushed down quickly, however it is on the list to have the internal workings replaced but this however is to save water and protect the environment but thank you for pointing out that you had a problem just a shame you could not have told us we may have given you a free breakfast for the inconvenience
4. there are 3 sockets in room 10 one just at the corner of the bed where the lamp is plugged in one for the television and one for the kettle you could have unplugged the lamp to plug in your laptop or the kettle one is by the mirror so that a hair dryer can be used there
5 all you had to do to connect to the router was ask us to reset the wifi ! this is a common fault with all routers that are wireless sometimes the firewall wall blocks suspicious devices esp if they do not have anti virus installed we would have happily sorted it out for you
6 no one could get satellite tv that weekend due to the inclement weather there were constant hail storms and heavy cloud cover making it impossible to receive a satellite signal ( not to mention hurricane sandy which affected the sattelites also)
Finally breakfast the great debate !
when you have breakfast at a cafe you are charged per item ie tea coffee toast butter juice jam Marmite fruit cereals porridge cooked breakfast items Below is a list of what you get for your money here at the Hotel please ask a cafe owner how much they would charge ! we asked one around the corner they said at leaSt 10 pounds !
BREAKFAST AT 13 WELLINGTON ROAD
Fresh fruit and sweets are always available in the foyer and in the breakfast room
endless hot chocolate ,oxo, tea and coffee with decaffeinated and filter options, endless rounds of toast with butter and a wide variety of spreads 50% fruit content jams marmalade Marmite chocolate spread peanut butter honey Vegemite etc etc including diabetic spread
a selection of branded cereals in individual single serve boxes not cheap basic range,We also offer Piping hot Porridge with golden syrup or maple syrup
Natural yoghurt with diced fresh fruit
To drink apple , orange , pineapple, cranberry ,tomato ,mango juice plus fresh milk and chilled filtered water !
eggs in a variety of ways but each one cooked to order fried boiled scrambled or poached even coddled in royal Worcester egg coddler's with a dressing of choice
OUR STANDARD BREAKFAST CONTAINS
2 EGGS sunnyside up, top splashed ,over easy , well done ,
TWO FRESHLY MADE KING CHIPS that is half a jacket potato cooked in CLEAN FRESH CRISP AND DRY OIL !
ONE LARGE FRESH CUMBERLAND SAUSAGE
TWO RASHERS OF FINEST BACON
ONE LARGE ROUND OR LUXURY BLACK PUDDING
4-5 FRESHLY COOKED MINI ITALIAN SWEET PLUM TOMATOES IN GARLIC BUTTER AND FIRST PRESS OLIVE OIL
FRESHLY COOKED
4-6 FRESHLY COOKED LARGE BUTTON MUSHROOMS IN GARLIC BUTTER
FRIED BREAD
BAKED BEANS
WAITRESS SERVICE AND ENTERTAINMENT !
oh and the price for our breakfast is £6 here at the hotel
party's of 10 or more are charged £5 per person
The £7.99 price on the internet unfortunately includes booking,com commission and credit card charges !
If you book direct you get a much better rate in any case both for the room and for breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for one night on 31st october , four people in three rooms.
We were met by the landladies who are both really friendly and chatty . We were shown to our rooms which were numbers 9/10/11 all spotless and well presented.
We went down for drinks at the bar and again , great service and Jo even went out for a drink that we wanted to ensure she had stock of it!!!!!
Didnt want breakfast but instead asked for a late check out , which the ladies agreed to , this certainly does not happen everywhere in Blackpool and was a nice gesture really appreciated.
Hotel is clean and well presented and the landladies are lovely .
Ignore any negatives with the hotel or service and simply enjoy your stay .

The only negative with the area is shortage of parking , which is caused by other hoteliers on the road parking several of their own cars on the street .
There are car parks near by which again was pointed out to us . we got a space on the street but that was pure luck !!!!
However parking is not the hotels fault!!!!!!!

Thanks Richard and Simon x

Room Tip: 9 was our room , lovely!!!! our friends had 10/11 again lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Owner at Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such an amazing review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your brief but bubbly stay with us at the Boutique Hotel, Blackpool.
You certainly brought Joie de vivre to our happy little hotel in Wellington Road.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Love Sally and Jo x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

the hotel was lovely and clean, sally and jo really friendly and welcoming, would of liked to have come back at night to have a drink in hotel and socialise with guests, sally and jo. really enjoyed otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Guest Relations Manager at Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review we really appreciate it, It is so good to receive accalaide for all the hard work that we put in here at the Sandgate Boutique Hotel
We are constantly upgrading our little hotel every penny we earn goes straight back into it !
The two of us "Sally and Joanne " run the Hotel on our own along with our two children Chloe and Ethan It is our mission to ensure our guests receive the best service in Blackpool !
On your return to Blackpool please be sure to book direct with us and we will take extra special care of you !
thank you again from Joanne The booking manager Sally the chef Chloe the entertainments Manageress and Ethan the bell boy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

On having an hen night in Blackpool, we were looking for respectable, friendly, hygenic, of good service and relatively priced hotel for the large group of us that we were, and a very brave hotel at that to cater for the noisy, cheeky bunch we were!! The Sandgate Hotel provided just that!! On arriving at Blackpool, after getting lost, we were kindly greeted by the Delaney family, which were all a lovely and friendly family. Due to getting lost in Blackpool, we were all very hungry and needed a drink!! Due to the outstanding service of the hotel, Sally and Joanne very kindly offered to open the bar and provide us all with a lovely, delicious meal, despite not being meal time nor should they have opened the bar, but still very generously did so, therefore, I must add the service of the hotel was extremely good along with the very well cooked and delicious meals we were kindly provided. Shortly after, we were kindly taken to our rooms which were beautiful, as we were three to a room, and needed enough space for us, the rooms provided just that!! Nicely spaced, very clean, great view and we all slept very well due to the very comfortable beds, we couldn't have asked for more. The Delaney family made us feel very welcome during our stay and also very comfortable to be around, as I am a gay woman, the hotel was very gay-friendly which was a great atmosphere to be in, as we all had a laugh with the family. Both Sally and Joanee advised us of the clubs to visit on our hen night and where certain clubs were which was very helpful after getting previously lost, they also very kindly took pics of us all ready for the hen night which hold some great memories that we shared, not just the nightlife, but the lovely hotel we were lucky to stay at and the amazing family we met, and from meeting both Sally and Joanne I have made a great friendship, and I couldn't be happier on my stay there. The Delaney family are a lovely family and I would definitely recommend others to stay at the hotel. As I will be doing if needing a hotel in Blackpool again. Thank you Sally and Jo for the lovely stay we had!! Steph and the crew. Xx

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Guest Relations Manager at Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review we really appreciate it, It is so good to receive accalaide for all the hard work that we put in here at the Sandgate Boutique Hotel
We are constantly upgrading our little hotel every penny we earn goes straight back into it !
The two of us "Sally and Joanne " run the Hotel on our own along with our two children Chloe and Ethan It is our mission to ensure our guests receive the best service in Blackpool !
On your return to Blackpool please be sure to book direct with us and we will take extra special care of you !
thank you again from Joanne The booking manager Sally the chef Chloe the entertainments Manageress and Ethan the bell boy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a lovely time at The Sandgate,room was very clean and the owners are lovely,they recommended places to go and where to eat.The breakfast was A1, plenty of it kept us going all day and came on hot plates not like other hotels we've been to and it was all cooked to order not kept warm till the guests ventured down for brekkie.Will definatley stay again ,thanks jo and sally for a great 3 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Guest Relations Manager at Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review we really appreciate it, It is so good to receive accalaide for all the hard work that we put in here at the Sandgate Boutique Hotel
We are constantly upgrading our little hotel every penny we earn goes straight back into it !
The two of us "Sally and Joanne " run the Hotel on our own along with our two children Chloe and Ethan It is our mission to ensure our guests receive the best service in Blackpool !
On your return to Blackpool please be sure to book direct with us and we will take extra special care of you !
thank you again from Joanne The booking manager Sally the chef Chloe the entertainments Manageress and Ethan the bell boy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel

Address: 13 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandgate Couples Hotel is a Boutique type Hotel meaning that each room is individually styled and that you get personal treatment from the staff. We aim to tailor make your stay to suit you giving you advice on where to go to eat, what to do for entertainment . No two people are the same so we endeavour to chat with you to find out what sort of things you like to do then we can plan your time in Blackpool in order for you to maximise your enjoyment ... We want you to keep coming back to Blackpool , it is a vibrant Town and has become an all year round resort with many cabaret bars staying open throughout the winter, along with the best of the bistros, Many attractions are open all year round like the Sealife Centre, Madame Tussauds ,the fabulous Winter Gardens, the Opera House, the Grand Theatre, the famous Tower and its Strictly Come Dancing ballroom open to the public where you can enjoy afternoon tea. Blackpool really is incredibly romantic , a walk along the beach is a real treasure and to watch the sun go down (and come up ) is a real treat, winter sunsets are quite spectacular so bring that camera ! Blackpool being on the west coast does not experience too much rain but hey if its wet there is still plenty to do. Here at our hotel the beds are so comfy you won't want to do anything but cuddle up cosy and warm. We can provide picnic hampers so that you can stay in all day and relax, all rooms have flat screen TVs some smart and some with dvd players, all rooms have fluffy dressing gowns and you will feel right at home in our little cosy hotel .We look forwards to meeting you soon. Please contact Joanne personally on her direct number you can find it just about everywhere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandgate Boutique Couples Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.