We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sheldon Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cornhill Hotel to your Saves list
The Cornhill Hotel
377 - 379 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Sheldon Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our first time at the Cornhill Hotel. We was made so welcome by Joanie, Rodger and their staff. We could not fault the food at all. they even made arrangements to cater for my two girls who are vegeterian. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was quite big with a four- poster bed and two single beds each side with a small dressing room and shower room. The entertainment shows where brilliant. Especially Joanie's caberett as tina turner and more. I will be looking forwards to booking our next family weekend break at The Cornhill Hotel. (room 35)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMckenzie, Manager at The Cornhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Super review from such a lovely warm family See you next year x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    300
    52
    32
    153
See reviews for
272
510
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is our 2nd time at the Cornhill this year and we enjoyed it just as much as the 1st time! Roger and Joanie made us feel most welcome and the food was really good. Joanie put on an amazing performance on the Sat night as Tina, Dusty and Cilla!! This will be our Blackpool accomodation from now on and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMckenzie, Manager at The Cornhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous review after your 2nd visit to the Cornhill this year You clearly love the Hotel we in turn love you as such wonderful guests See You Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic time at the cornhill hotel. Joanie and Rod,excellent hosts and staff brilliant will definitely go back again.thank you for such a lovely time.
See you all next year from Brian and Fiona Alexander,Kirkcaldy (room 21)

Room Tip: would definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMckenzie, Manager at The Cornhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Wow! Great review pleased to hear you had a fantastic holiday with us you were 1st class guests See you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

please read this before you book into this hotel. my partner booked us into this hotel for my birthday. we arrived on friday 19th october, on arrival we were asked to wait in the bar area as our room was not ready, we asked the owners why the bar was not open and they told us that they were short staffed. it took nearly 2 hours before our room was ready. when we finally got into our room we were expecting a double bed, not a slightly larger single bed. the window in the bedroom was all cracked, and the carpets were badly stained.at 6oclock we were told to head for our dinner, you dont have a choice of meals, you have to eat what they put down to you, or else you go hungry. on our first night we had roast beef that was burnt and covered in gravy to hide this fact. the owners mr and mrs mckenzie were not interested in thier guests at all, i found them very ignorant and unhelpful. mrs mckenzie provided the entertainment on saturday night, what a joke, all she did was give me a migraine with her screeching voice.we will never book into this hotel again, i would rather sleep under the pier.please do not stay here, trust me it will ruin your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMckenzie, Manager at The Cornhill Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We confirm all guests are informed when booking 'bedrooms are ready from 3pm' - we note you arrived at 9.10 in the morning - the room that was allocated to you for that afternoon was still occupied by the guests who were departing that day after a very enjoyable holiday - as these guests were still in bed prior to coming down for breakfast.... what did you want to do Jump in Bed with them ? Your bedroom was ready for occupation at the informed time 3pm the time when all arriving guests checked in.
Bar staff open bar 11am as indeed most Hotels/Pubs in Blackpool have the same policy. Our Hotel guests appreciate that we do not have 24hr bars - Stags & Hens Hotels are where you should have booked Our Hotel policy is not for you That will not change (nor do we need it).. We do not need to comment on the rubbish you write regarding the Hotels fabulously reviewed food here on Trip Advisor (read them) to say the management were not interested in you has an element of truth to it what it actually means we are not interested in having your type in the Hotel... 'Our regular guests are pleased to hear that'.... we will never allow a small minority to affect the well being of the majority of guests in the Hotel. Your comment Re Joanie is blown away by the fabulous reviews she receives if it was not for you why watch it Female envy is a compliment to Joanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, it was with some trepidation that my wife and I booked for a weekend stay. However we feel that the hotel gives excellent value for money. Remember that you are on the promenade and close to all attractions..Owners were very helpful. One small problem with our room was resolved quickly. Food is fine with plenty of it.
All in all a good place to spend a few days in Blackpool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMckenzie, Manager at The Cornhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review - We are not the Ritz nor did we say we were you recognise what super value at an unbeatable price we provide at the Cornhill some guests want the 4 star Hotels but do not want to pay 4 times what we charge Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

A party of 4 of us stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of October. I have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised at how good the hotel is and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. We wanted a good location and boy did we get it! All the tourist attractions are easily reached from here.
The hotel staff are friendly and the cabaret on the Saturday night was great entertainment. Can't believe some if the comments here, ok it wasn't the Ritz, but nor did we pay anything like Ritz money. We all thought it was excellent for the money paid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMckenzie, Manager at The Cornhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Great review Thanks for your lovely comments See you again soon
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

i am writing this again as my last review has been removed, wonder why? the hotel is disgusting and manky decor very dated. and the dust on the curtain swags are that think you could write your name in 3d. the breakfast was basic and as advertised as serving home cooked food well unless their family own a frozen food company then its not home cooked its home heated the roast dinners that they bum about are all served from vaccumed packs with a gravy.
the car park only holds about 12 cars all the rest are jammed up the middle which means your car is blocked although i stated i wanted to use mine.
they did not have a menu for kids which resulted in my son and neice eating beans and sausage for dinner and breakfast Wednesday,thursday and friday morning.
the rooms are very dated and dirty one of the rooms we were given the paper was hanging from the ceiling and the walls in the shower room as well as the ceiling in the hall way the entertainment was ok monday and wednesday. tuesday night was the hotel owner and to b honest i would say its time to hang up the mike. the hotel bar was poorly stocked didnt open until 5pm and never had any change.
the games room has a pool table but you have to supply your own pool balls the game machines were never turned on it was a safety risk if you had young kids because it doubled up as a store room with bed linen lying as well as an iron and hoover.
to be honest this place should be shut down its disgusting and should carry major health risk warnings.
the only positive is that it is central and the 2 girls that serve the tables are friendly.
i have been going on holiday to blackpool for a number of years and this has got to be the worse place i have ever stayed.

Room Tip: go some were else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMckenzie, Manager at The Cornhill Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We have today replied to six super reviews who stayed at the Cornhill the same time as this writer - when we read the super comments from these wonderful reviews.. we ask ouselves why should on earth should we give this writer any consideration to the rubbish she writes ! The Hotel has one of the best 'sized FREE carparks on the seafront 21 parking spaces (Not 12 as this person incorrectly writes) Our Food is wonderfully recommended by our guests ..(see reviews)..Our in-House Entertainment is outstanding ..(see reviews)... We have a children/adult option every day - the children staying at the Hotel all were given this options without a problem - 'With the exception of your child' who you had no had control over - We had various complaints from other guests who said your child was completely disruptive, we suggest this is your real problem given guests were complaining about your lack of 'control or interest' in respecting other Hotel guests entitlement to a stress free Holiday without having balls bouncing off there heads that your child was throwing about .. this behaviour was caused by your lack of control... We refer once again to the 700 Excellent/Very Good reviews the Cornhill Hotel has received here on Trip Advisor - with this in mind we consider the content of this persons comments as unfouded and irrelevant....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornhill Hotel

Address: 377 - 379 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Blackpool
#30 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#33 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornhill Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.