We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thornhill Hotel to your Saves list
Thornhill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PARKING
Ranked #30 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
“welcoming and friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Thanks Gaynor and Steve for being so welcoming and friendly. Our room was clean and comfy and the breakfast was lovely. The hotel was in a perfect location right in the centre of everything can't wait to come again sometime soon.
Thanks again Sarah and Dan.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
73
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I found this hotel via the Internet and choose it because of the great comments from trip advisor. I was the only guest staying for the 2 nights (not surprising as it was February) and I was attending my old school reunion (St. Joseph's College). The price meant I could stay for 2 nights rather than my usual 1. Steve & Gaynor were excellent hosts, the breakfast was terrific, the room was clean and comfortable, the car park was a bonus as was the location.
I will definitely stay here again hopefully with my wife this time as she has not yet seen the illuminations, so see you in November.
Nick O'Keeffe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for Taking time to do a great Review.
We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed for the pigeon weekend first time at the hotel we stayed in room 5 and it was lovely and very comfortable,breakfast was great,we were made very welcome,we would recommend thornhill to all our family and friends and yes we will be back.thank you gaynor and steve.

Room Tip: any room they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed the Winter Gardens, Hope to see you both Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Our first stay at this hotel which was recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. Made to feel welcome and room comfortable and clean. Hoping to go to northern soul weekender again next november and would definitely stay again. Will try NOT to leave hubby's wallet next time - thanks to Gaynor and Steve for the prompt return !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and week-end and lookforward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Once again a lovely welcome at the Thornhill from Gaynor and Steve. Stayed in room 5 this time for the soul weekend in the tower which was nicely furnished and very comfortable. Friends also stayed and they were also impressed. Will be back next year

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
It was great to see you both once again, glad you enjoyed your northern soul week end, and for
recommending your friends to us, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, ideal central location in quiet street few doors from prom. Clean, tidy room, loved the lounge area. Guaranteed parking such a bonus. Cheerful, friendly owners. Will definately be back. Daughter, hubby and 1 year old cheeky monkey joined us for 1 night also made very welcome. came back after checking out to change clothes and have a coffee before journey home thanks for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time for a great review, it was so nice to meet you and your family.
Look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Steve and Gaynor made us very welcome on our return to the Thornhill Hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We really enjoyed the meals and our room was excellent. Would gladly return and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was so nice to see you both again, look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: 14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.