We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel was invested” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parisienne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parisienne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parisienne Hotel
240 - 244 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England (Formerly Royal York Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 72 hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the hotel was invested”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

when we arrivied on monday afternoon we was very dissapionted with the rooms. I went to reception to order papers and they asked for the balance of the room before we even un packed the rooms were dirty,they needed re vamping, the carpets were dirty,the curtains were hanging on by two hooks and the windows had duck tape on. It was surposed to be a sea view but the double glazing had misted in side so was unable to see anything!
the roof celing tills had so many leeks on them you didnt know which ones were recent or old.
the next morning when we opened the curtains we was invested with ants! they were everywhere not just on the floor but on the dressing table, draws and our cases everywhere was covered ! when we reported this problem they transfered us to tiffianys hotel which was 100% better that hotel was a pleasure to be in would reccomend tiffianys but not the parisienne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardC23, General Manager at Parisienne Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

We did allocate you a large sea view room which is always requested due to the view and the size of the room.
I am sorry we had a problem with ants they came through a tiny gap in the window which we didnt know about until you informed us. They were not there when the room was cleaned.
After you reported this they were eradicated immediately and have not had the problem since. At this time of year, ants and insects can be a problem even in our own homes.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay over at Tiffanys in the end.
If you come again ask for me and I will ensure you have a fabulous stay.

Kindest regards,

Howard.G.Crump MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    71
    31
    34
    50
See reviews for
53
81
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

When I stayed at this hotel with my Grandad, we had separate rooms. As our rooms where on the 2nd floor we kindly asked if there was a spare room on the ground floor as my Grandad was in a wheelchair. They where very helpful and found a room for him.

The food was great and good choice to choose from.

Location was great, right opposite the beach and not a long walk to the centre.

Room was cleaned everyday with fresh tea and coffee supplies.

One complaint I had was the size of the bathroom, but this wouldn't put me off going again.

All in all good stay and would certainly recommend to anyone thinking about staying here.

Thanks for a good week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardC23, General Manager at Parisienne Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Parisienne Hotel. I am so pleased you and your Grandfather enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, its so hard to try and get guests to write one on the site.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Howard.G.Crump MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed from the 2nd till the 6th May 2013. Had a fantastic weekend as we have had there for the last 4 years. So much went on this weekend we renamed it Faulty Towers but it all made for a great time the staff are fantastic so helpful and
caring even when I fell down the stairs. The food was faultless and plenty of choice. The hotel could do with a face lift but apart from that looking forward to returning next year!!! Yvonne & Alan Grieve

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardC23, General Manager at Parisienne Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your great review on your recent stay with us for your re-union weekend.
I am so pleased that you all had a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you all back for a 5th year in 2014.

Kindest regards,

Howard.G.Crump MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Room I was in was tiny room 708 I've been in the room twice in the last two years for a army reunion, the food is faultless and the same with the drink and really well priced the whole hotel needs a good clean or redecorated. The staff were all great as usual especially the new lass Emma who did a very professional job with the check ins and front desk work. So cheers and c u all next year !!!!! GED rogan !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have being coming here for our reunion now for the last 4years, We book the whole Hotel for the weekend. The food is great and to excuse the expression they bend over backwards to help us with all our needs nomatter what they are. The girls at the reception help where they can and are fantastic.
We will be there next year, thanks for everything
Paul & Heike Hampton

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having recently returned from this hotel I have to say the only redeeming feature is the friendly, helpful staff, especially Emma who couldn't do enough. The hotel is in need of refurbishment, wallpaper hanging off, carpets dirty with sticky marks, the florescent ceiling light was full of dead flies, the ensuite was no bigger than a cupboard you couldn't shut the door when you were in, the fixtures and fittings were poor and didn't all work, toilet not flushing properly. It all needed a really good clean, dust everywhere! The food is average, just edible but the service was very good. Not value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have had the opportunity to travel much of thr world over the past 40 years, staying in comfortable bed and breakfasts to five star hotels.

Unfortunately, Hotel Parisienne, which I stayed in with 56 other guest on April 19/20 has to be - without doubt - THE WORST place I have ever had the misfortune of crossing the threshold:

Their website bears little or no resemblance to what was on offer.
The elevator didn't work for the whole weekend.
NO "free wifi-fi throughout the hotel" as advertised on the website. NO wifi at all.
Many rooms had celiing tiles that were either damp, full of water or falling down.
One child found a half full bottle of brandy in a hotel room drawer!
On a balmy weekend the heating could NOT be turned down in most rooms.
Only one choice for evening meal on both nights, service extremely slow - and a chilld menu was only introduced after we sough one.
Quality of the food and size of portions left a lot to be desired.

I coud go on and on - but suffice to say i would NOT recommend this tacky, rundown and inefficient hostelry to anyone.

Room Tip: Sorry, nothing to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardC23, General Manager at Parisienne Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
What a false review!

To our prospective guests who may read these reviews before booking, please be assured that the contents in this review are false.

The group 30 adults and 27 unruly children paid £25 a night for dinner, bed and breakfast as a special group rate.
The hotel does look like the website, any one may come in at any time and look around the hotel and have a coffee with us.
One of the lifts was out of order for 15 minutes, it had tripped out and it was repaired straight away, so the comment about being out of order all weekend is a lie.
We were asked to provide a 2 courtse menu because of the very cheap price. The had 2 choices of main course plus vegetarian option and kids meals with a choice of 5 items. A hot dessert a cold dessert and tea / coffee. So again the comment about one choice is a lie. The children were running riot around the restaurant smashing a stack of wine glasses. They were in the toilets throwing toilet paper all over the place. Hence why the serve was not as quick as usual, as everyone was up and down from their chairs. Many of the adults were drunk and abusive and extremely crude to the staff, the staff all complained to me about them.
The heating is on a timer and was not on 24 hours a day it goes off in the afternoon and at night.
Especially as the weather has been so impredictable.
There was one ceiling tile that was damp as the room above had a shower with the shower door open.
There were no complaints made to the hotel at all during the weekend, in fact many when leaving said thank you for a lovely weekend. No body reported anything about brandy found in a drawer so we do not know if that was true or not. i am sure that if this was found then it would have been reported to reception.

I know my reply is quite long, but it annoys us so much when we know the comments made are untrue. We try hard to please all our customers, and we have many regular guests who stay with us again and again throughout the year.

Thank you for taking the time to read my response.

Howard.G.Crump MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parisienne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parisienne Hotel

Address: 240 - 244 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England (Formerly Royal York Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 72 hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the fashionable North Promenade, The Parisienne Hotel not only offers a friendly welcome but value for money and fantastic home-cooked food, a stone's throw away from Blackpool's many shops, bars and attractions - the hotel is in a prime location for all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Parisienne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parisienne Hotel Blackpool
Royal York Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parisienne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.