We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Dartford, kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a lovely long weekend at Liberty's and have no complaints at all. The room, 207, was spacious with a great sea view. We found all staff members to be be friendly, polite and efficient. A special mention to Chris, the barman, and Dominic, the waiter, for their excellent service and pleasant attitude. The food was much better than we expected - compliments to the chef - with some very tasty and imaginative dishes available. The entertainment was most enjoyable - well done Franklyn and Michael!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review on the Libertys Hotel.
I am really pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and the food to be at a good standard, i will pass your kind comments to the staff in question.

We do hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    129
    67
    36
    14
See reviews for
55
199
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwest England UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago when it was first opened. It only offered continental breakfast but you could stay in bed until 10am! It's sister hotel was the Royal York just around the corner (now the Parisienne which offered full English breakfast.There was a good age group mix but the hotel mainly appeared to appeal to younger people (not juveniles!) who appreciated the late lie-in and weren't bothered about full English....what a change!
I was surprised we could get in at such late notice (I phoned to check for a double en suite availability on Friday night for the Saturday). We only wanted 1 night and it was during the illuminations season so I didn't realistically expect to get in but we had no problem. It cost us £70 for the stay including breakfast.The hotel is clean and comfortable and the reception staff are really helpful and friendly. The hotel has a lift....a must as there are three floors and 2 flights of steps to get up to each floor.There were no spaces in the car park but we managed to park in the private car park across from the hotel and could see our car from our room. It cost £12 for 24 hours but so did the hotel car park. I'm not sure if parking would have been free for hotel guests.
The lounge and bar area is large and the hotel provided entertainment for the night. However........having changed to venture out we discovered that many guests were already gathering to claim their seats in front of the entertainment area. There was a large table set out with a tea urn and lots of cups and saucers etc. Now I am not age prejudice (I'm 60) but it very quickly became clear that this hotel caters mainly for the elderly....and there were very many of them. It is a Bay hotel and contracts with Shearings holidays.
My only real gripe is the time set for breakfast...8-9.30am on a Sunday morning????? Our British hotels really need to get a grip of this (in Paris breakfast is served until 11am). It is so uncivilised to drag people out of bed at this ridiculous time for breakfast but of course...I'm forgetting that in general, older people need less sleep and are awake very early in the morning but perhaps I'm wrong. The breakfast was adequate but 1 rasher of bacon is not enough for my husband. It seemed to me that the portion sizes catered for the smaller appetites. Service was excellent with pleasant professional staff but I was surprised to see that vacated tables were not cleared promptly. I know that dealing with guest's requests is priority but leaving tables cluttered with used crockery etc left the dining room looking untidy.
I think in future we shall be seeking a hotel that offers a later breakfast as I don't mind the alternative of a continental/buffet style meal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front mainly have sea views. Choose lower floors if you have mobility problems as the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, especially the friendly staff.

As we were very busy we did not have any spare spaces in our car park, We charge £5 per day to park in our car park which can be pre booked with us at the hotel if required.
Our Breakfast times have been the same for many years and never really caused much issues to customers but your comments will be taken on board and discussed with the team.
I can assure you we cater for all ages of customers at our hotel.


Once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a few doubts about this hotel given other reviews, however having stayed three nights I feel the negatives are unfair.

The welcome was good, the public areas very clean and warm as were the bedrooms. On two days the were very strong gales but the hotel remained warm.

There are steps almost everywhere so not ideal for persons with mobility problems.

Clearly its not 5 star nor does it pretend to be, you need to take shampoos, etc. Our sea view room (201) was spacious and was great for watching the firework display on North Pier.

There was entertainment on two nights which was enjoyable, the food was typical of a seaside budget hotel but was well cooked, plentiful, warm and served by friendly polite staff.

The bar had a good section of drinks (beer £3.40 per pint) and the staff friendly polite and helpful.
Car parking charges are £5 per night booked in advance (its cheaper in the Car Parks opposite but places are limited).

Tip: If you have an English free Bus Pass you can travel free on both the buses and trams, (both of which are staffed by helpful, friendly professionals.

So if you want a great value budget hotel in a good location this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Sea views rooms spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review, We aim to provide a comfortable and friendly atmosphere which is value for money and i am really pleased you found this to be the case.

I do hope we see you again here at the Libertys Hotel

Once again Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

just returned from a five day break with shearings to libertys on the square this is the best hotel
with shearings we have been to. staff were so polite and helpful the food was excellent thanks to
dominic for the great service.our room 127 was great it was large well decorated nice and warm
the bathroom had plenty of space and a good shower over the bath the entertainment was very
good.the lady singer on thursday night was very good great voice she had everyone in stitches
we had a great driver peter he pointed out all the places of interest on the trips out
thanks for a great holiday john and mary nuneaton

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking to review yor recent stay with us, Myself and the staff are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and i will pass all your kind comments to the staff.

We aim to provide excellent cumstomer service to our guests and i am pleased you agree.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned after a 2 night stay, Hotel is in a good position, had a seaview room 202, very spacious and very clean, complimentary tea/coffee and flat screen tv. Very friendly and efficient staff in all areas.Food was of a good standard,with good choice of menu to suit all tastes. Evening entertainment was a bit flat due to lack of audience which is not the fault of the artists involved,wondered where everyone goes at night, can watch t.v. at home not on holiday!

Room Tip: sea view room was worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi and thanks for your positive review of the hotel, We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Libertys and found all aspects of your stay enjoyable, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments about the food to our Head Chef Andy and his team who will be delighted with the comments.

Myself and the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Found this hotel to be great , food excellent served by Patrick who was more than helpful, the lady on the desk who lent me her umbrella for three days. The room was clean and cosy after all that rain,and it rained for three days but did not spoil our break, will certainty go back to Libertys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Libertys, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be certain to pass on your kind comments personally to the staff.

And we all hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 day weekend to see the lights, the food was good and staff very polite and helpful
The only moan I have the room was good but if it gets cold no way to put heating on. I would use this hotel again as their gave good service and what entertainment they put on was good.
Would book car space worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your great comments, I will be sure to pass them onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you again at Liberty’s Hotel.
Kind Regards
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Address: Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.