We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pieces of 8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Collingwood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Collingwood Hotel to your Saves list
Collingwood Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   394 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pieces of 8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Visited here in June and it was a last minute decision as the other hotel we were going to goto had bad reviews. The Collingwood is at the far North of Blackpool, the posh end apparently :-). It is the quieter area and if you dont have a car , then tram or bus stops are nearby. Parking is round the corner, which is a 2-3 min walk.

Its a small hotel, and booked the non smoking room, which was small but more than adequate. It had sea view and as said it's the quieter area so no noise at night. Room had en suite shower and toilet. Have to say a very comfy bed. :-)

Staff were very friendly and polite, explained that we could bring in our own drink and more than welcome to order in takeway. Breakfast in the morning, was help yourself to juice and cornflakes with a English breakfast to follow. The parrotts will keep you amused during breakfast.

Would easily go back here again, it is the opposite end from the pleasure beach, but as said its quiet, staff are friendly, rooms were nice enough for the basics.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hucknall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Love this place. Love Blackpool

Brilliant little hotel with everything you need on its doorstep. Breakfasts are a must eat ! Friendly atmosphere with lovely staff (and their birds )

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Went to Blackpool with my girlfriend and decided to go with this style hotel to get the proper Blackpool experience. The hotel is great value, rooms were of good size and clean. Hotel owners are very friendly and made you feel right at home. And the fry up in the morning is done when you want it and is perfect start for a day when your going exploring. Its located a short walk from the central part of Blackpool right on the seafront with easy access to trams and buses if required. There is also plenty of on street parking around the corner from the hotel.

Next time I'm back in Blackpool I'll be staying here as its just excellent value for money.

Cheers
Rob & Amy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee,scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

what a great reception we were given on arrival,nice warm hotel with clean rooms.
loved interacting with toni+his partner+of course the parrots lol.
would defanitely recommend to others
thanks for a good nights stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

juat had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at the collingwood. excellent value for money and a very laid back and homely atmosphere. rooms are ideal for the time you spend in them very clean and always warm. breakfast was excellent and served hot. thanks paul and toni for a very enjoyable stay, we will return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Booked this hotel via laterooms.

Parking wasn't a problem, streets around were empty and restriction free.
Hotel common areas smelt bad and were untidy and messy.
Room smelt very bad due to it being a smoking room, non smoking ensuite wasn't availible. Bathroom smelt pretty bad too. Most of the room was clean, the cabinet above the sink was dirty and rusty. Shower was very poor and practically unusable.

Breakfasts were *OK* full english availible, but to be honest the breakfast room and the hotel in general was in such a state, I didn't really feel comfortable eating in the hotel.

The owner is a nice guy, shame the hotel is so poor, rundown and smelly.

I don't understand why this has got such a high review as the basic necesseties of a hotel are absent, maybe it's the bring your own booze policy?

  • Liked — Good internet access, good location.
  • Disliked — Lack of tidyness, rundown, needs refurbishment.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collingwoodhotel, Owner at Collingwood Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2009
Sorry you felt you had to leave such a negative review, however let me clarify a few points that you seem to have missed. You booked a smoking allowed bedroom, we give everyone a choice on Laterooms, and you selected that when you booked. We air the rooms as much as possible before a visit but as a non smoker I'd have suggested booking a smoke free room instead and paying the couple of extra pounds we charge for the priviledge. You paid £13 per person B&B. I'd love to charge the same as the hotel you avoided staying in, that was conducting your business meeting, it would allow us to conduct a few "spruce ups" here and there, but then you wouldn't have stayed with us at a guess.
The other people on here, and the 95% of people who reviewed us positively on Laterooms judge us on a competitive price compared to modest quality, and not on what you might get at top international hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We used to go to Blackpool quite often then Ryanair stopped the flights from Stansted and I couldn't face the 600 mile round trip.
However this weekend we decided to drive to Blackpool.
The Collingwood is Excellent value for money.
Our room was just what we needed, en suite, complimentary tea coffee making, hairdryer etc.
Most importantly spotlessly clean and the bed very comfy.
The fella who ran it was very friendly and helpful.
I have been to Blackpool so many times and I have stayed in some nightmare places.
We go to Blackpool for the clubs, bars etc (Funny girls is my fav) and our accommodation needs are basic as we really dont spend much time at the hotel. This hotel is bring your own drink as it has no license
I have stayed in other hotels that are unlicensed and licensed and I wouldn't want to have a drink in them,However I would have had a drink here if I had bought some.
Overall this is one of the nicest places I have stayed at in Blackpool, If you want a bit of luxury the Hilton is close by ( I stayed there about 4 years ago and not good value for money or luxurious) about 200 yards away
I will definitely be re booking this hotel.
Lovely owner.
Spotlessly clean room
Good location
And superb value for money

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collingwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Hotel

Address: 394 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Collingwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and Friendly Sea Front Hotel on Blackpool's famous North Shore. Operates on a bring your own alcohol policy and low prices, allowing for a cheap get away for families and groups. Deals for Monday to Friday stays and pensioner discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Collingwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collingwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.