We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added North Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
North Ocean Hotel
390 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Booking Direct is Cheaper
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just had a wonderful 2 day break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Friendly team all round, everywhere spotless. Our room had lovely views overlooking the sea. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent. Received a lovely card and chocs from Wayne and staff. Will certainly book this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Many thanks Anne and Bob! Appreciate you writing a nice review. It was nice to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again when you can get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
235
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at end of June, we were welcomed by Wayne at reception who very helpful and friendly,we were shown to our large double room, which had fantastic views overlooking the sea, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The room had two lovely chairs at window which were great to chill on and enjoy the views. The bathroom is a good size with a good shower and nice fresh fluffy towels. The bed was very comfortable and linen spotlessly clean. We ate in the hotel the first night and the meal was exceptional, huge portions and good quality food served by two friendly guys, breakfast was just as good and Wayne was on hand to give good tips about where to go and how to get best value for tram tickets, they certainly know how to make you feel at home. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Blackpool, or there is a tram stop nearby. We enjoyed our walk as the weather was great. We will most certainly choose this hotel again and would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Booking a seaview room is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Owner at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review Brian. Glad you both enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the fantastic weather was a huge bonus for all I know. See you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

what do you look for in a hotel if youre like my husband and I its cleanliness and good food.then try the north ocean.all public areas are spotless room 26 was beautiful with sparkling white duvets and furnished to high standard and a lovel sea view.breakfast was excellent with large portions cooked to order.On the first night we ate in the restaurant and were so impressed with varied choice of menu and service we continued to eat here for the remainder of our 5 night stay.Wayne,Dave and chris work long hours and are always kind helpful and thoughtful.Great guys who deserve every success .The bar in the evening is a must where the "A TEAM " made us feel special. we cannot praise this hotel highly enough.We will definitely return.

Room Tip: room 26 large room with lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Tom and Eileen, what can we say apart from thank you! You were a great laugh, we felt special around you too! During your 5 day stay you really did get to see how things are run at the hotel (including the odd comical drama). We can't wait to see you again. from the A Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Me and my boyfriend chose this hotel after seeing the ratings and we weren't disappointed. We were greeted with a smile and had help taking our bags to our room. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay and made us feel most welcome. The room was fantastic, with a great view. There was a good choice of food on the menu and the food was quick and delicious. I would definately recommend this hotel to couples and we will definately be booking it for our next stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Owner at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to do a nice review Leah, it's much appreciated and spurs us on to do more and give even more to what we are doing here at the hotel. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just come back from 1 night's stay,when booking in we were upgraded to a suite with sea view,which was spacious and immaculate.As we were going to see Mama Mia we were offered an earlier evening meal,(which was much appreciated) both evening meal and breakfast were excellant .Were made to feel very welcome ,by Wayne ,Chris and Dave,won,t hesitate to recommend it to friends and family
Mike and Jean Wrexham ,N. Wales

Room Tip: rooms at the back of hotel may be a bit quieter,but suites have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Owner at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Many thanks for a great review Mike and Jean. Glad you liked Mamma Mia and your stay at the hotel. You were a great couple and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent last weekend at this hotel and absolutely loved it. I think both of us were initially shocked that we got such a bargain considering the raving reviews (and I don't remember ever seeing a hotel with NO negative reviews whatsoever) and it's safe to say we were probably even more shocked that it lived up to the expectations all the reviews had given us.

From the outset we were impressed at the friendly service and banter, including having our bags carried to the room for us! The room was great, spacious and well laid out, and the bed was so comfortable - I was not happy about having to get up in the morning!

As we had came down to Blackpool straight from work, we arrived quite late in the evening so decided to take advantage of the offer in the hotel to get two courses and a bottle of wine for £11.95 each rather than heading out anywhere. I loved the breaded mushrooms I had to start and the boyfriend definitely enjoyed his potato wedges, which included bacon and cheese. It was my main course, however, which defeated me - an absolutely MASSIVE portion of Toad in the Hole. Even its description on the menu leaves my mouth watering again at the memory -" A large Yorkshire pudding containing sausages served with creamy mashed potato and onion gravy" - and makes me wish I could eat the half I couldn't manage at the time right now. (Any chance of sending one up to Glasgow???)

Breakfast was also fab - although I was still struggling to find space in my stomach from my meal the previous evening! There was a variety of cereal and juice available and you could also make toast... then the full English appeared on the table . . . and promptly disappeared into our mouths.

I've stayed in Blackpool many times over the years, both in the old Pontins camp and several of the hotels along the front, including the Metropole, but this has definitely been the best hotel I've stayed in here. I would definitely go back here and I would recommend it to everyone!

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you Paula for a really great review. It pushes us on to do better. I know we currently have no negative reviews however we do realise that one day we'll inevitably receive one. When that day comes we will take note, adapt if necessary and act in a professional manner when replying to it. We do try our very best and are working constantly to improve the hotel. It's still very worrying for us when guests leave or the smallest thing goes wrong during their stay. Generally people in life love to see a failure or to see someone get knocked down but we are blessed with having genuine support from the most wonderful kind guests (like yourselves) over our first 4 months of being open at the hotel. Your support in our efforts to offer something a bit different in Blackpool is much appreciated. We thanks each and every one of you!! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Me and my partner stayed 28th June 2014 - 30th June 2014. We were greeted with a smile and friendly chat. We stayed in room 12 double on suite with beautiful sea view, the hotel is on the promenade which is far enough out to be nice and quite. The whole hotel was absolutely spotless and to a high standard. Full english breakfast plus cereals, toast, juice etc served until 10.00am. We had a fantastic weekend which included Mamma Mia show and not to be missed the hypnotist/mentalist/comedian Ken Webster, never laughed so much. We will defininately be back. Sue and Rob x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Many thanks for spending a few minutes to do a great review Sue and Rob, it's appreciated very much. Glad you enjoyed your couple of days in Blackpool and at the hotel. we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Ocean Hotel

Address: 390 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality promenade hotel in Blackpool. Clean, professional, friendly and very reasonably priced. Evening meals are available in The Stone Grill from 5pm to 10pm every evening. Great Location on the North Promenade. Open all Year. All En-Suite Bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi. Fabulous Breakfast served 8am-10am Free Parking (limited on front of hotel) Flat Screen TV's in all RoomsTea & Coffee making Facilities in all Rooms. Sun Terrace overlooking the Promenade. 24 Hour front desk. NO Stag or Hen Parties and NO Children under 14 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your North Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.