We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   285 - 287 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #726 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Me and 10 friends stayed at this hotel the 25th till the 27th of October I really enjoyed the stay the hotel is in an ideal location in between the 2 piers close to all bars pubs and other attractions, the rooms are quite small but very clean and looked after, rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels are put in the room for you. The hotel is very big with a downstairs bar and upstairs bar, a large dining area and a pool table and lounge. The staff are very friendly and the waiters are very polite I would recommend this hotel to anybody going to blackpool.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    41
    23
    25
    55
See reviews for
77
52
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

having stayed here before thought we would book b/b and evening meal what a mistake, when we booked in we was then told that they had changed the dining arrangments and now evening meal was a buffet, after been reassured by the guy who booked us in that the food was the same as it always has been we said we would give it a go bearing in mind was not told when we reserved).that evening we went in for the meal and what a shock when we saw the indian and chinese thats what they said it was,how do we explain to my 80yr old mother that the choices was so limited ,they did have what they said was english food but it looked and tasted awful,in the morning we went to see honey(the owner) and explained our mother could not eat the food again another night so could we be refunded for the meal ,was told that it was immpossible to do and if we didnt want the meal we would waste the money.having been at the hotel 3 or 4 times we will definately not be going back so hope they are happy to lose 4 guests but i am sure they will not they are just bothered about your money!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband & I took my 3 year old daughter & my mum, so we booked two prison cells, oh I mean rooms. Our family size room was very small. One three quarter bed & a single. There are no frills to the rooms. Not a picture on the wall or curtains that fit the small window. Our bathroom had mould on the shower glass which even to my failing eyes screamed "clean me". My mothers room was laughable as mum is only 5ft tall & struggled in her cell for room & she only just managed to fit into the bed. Loud music can be heard bellowing from the hotel at all hours as they have cabaret/entertainment every night.
They also have a Indian/Chinese/English all you can eat restaurant next door you can try. Due to bad weather we went!!!!! Please don't go, food cold tasteless. My chicken was raw 'it cost us £50 to have a a few bites of what Dogs would t entertain.

Room Tip: Go go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a hotel which is right on the sea-front. Parking is very limited and the hotel itself is basic. It is clean but the room we had, a double, was very small and the wardrobe in the room was falling to bits. There was entertainment on during the evening which was quite good and the drinks were reasonably priced. It was let down firstly when the tried to charge a fee for paying with a Debit Card or Credit Card so we paid cash and secondly when he told us breakfast was between 08:30 and 09:00. The food was OK but it wasn't very hot.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem to matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham, Notts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night (thank goodness) room we occupied at the rear of the hotel number 1. Very small but clean, probably a single really certainly not what most modern hotels would offer as a double.

As we where only staying 1 night we decided the size of room could be accepted but the window at the side of the bed (the bed was based up against it otherwise the room could not accommodate it!) had 3 extracted units immediately below it that operated all night and kept my wife awake. The worst thing however was the all pervading aroma of boiled onions which started from 7am, it really was sickening.

We spoke to the owner the next morning who flatly refused to accept that the fans had been on all night or that the kitchen smells came from his kitchen! We must have dreamt it all!!!!

There are plenty of reasonable hotels in Blackpool and I strongly recommend you do not stay here. One to avoid!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Mike and Honey were excellent hosts. The hotel met all our families needs!
the rooms were very clean, and the meals were fantastic!
we would recommend this hotel, even if only for a nights stay.
we will definitely be returning, as it was a fantastic holiday!
Thankyou very much, Cherrington and Adams Families.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Myself&Sister stayed here the hotel is spotless,the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble,food is outstanding,Mike&Honey are the perfect Hosts. Facilities catered for all ages,situation of hotel brilliant for all attractions can not fault it in anyway hundred percent Will Definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 285 - 287 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #726 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is a family-friendly Blackpool Hotel situated on the Blackpool Promenade, mid-way between the Central and South Piers.Our fantastic location means you'll be within easy walking distance of Blackpool's main attractions - such as Blackpool Tower, Pleasure Beach, The Sandcastle and all three piers. If you'd like to travel further afield, we are also across from Blackpool's famous trams, as well as local bus and train links! We can even offer you very good prices so you can get the most out of your holiday to Blackpool! Of course the Hotel itself hosts excellent entertainment in our own Ballroom, bar and Games room, including dancing, sing-alongs and regular cabaret! Our modern dining room serves mouth-watering cuisine across a wide menu, including vegetarian dishes. Most special diets can also be catered for (please contact us for more information). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.