We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stop here. The pictures are nothing like the real thing.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Graydon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Graydon Hotel to your Saves list
Graydon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33/37 Banks Street, Blackpool FY1 2AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not stop here. The pictures are nothing like the real thing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday! What a mistake.. Poor shower . We had 2 tidy our room up before we could have fresh towels & toilet paper.. The breakfast was cold & you had know choice of what was on the breakfast .. Never again! The pictures look nothing like the place!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graydon01, Owner at Graydon Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
What a load of lies!!!
You failed to mention that you were asked to leave after your second night due to your behaviour. ( We will be contacting you both with regards to the damaged shower door.)
You also failed to mention that you were asked to leave the Duke of York due to your behaviour and swearing at the bar. This we found out only yesterday from the landlord.
We did not know when you arrived that you were both only just 18, our website states adults over 30 years unless they contact us first. You two are a prime example why we are dubious to accept younger guests!
We were fortunate that you were the only ones in the hotel at the time of your stay, because other guests would have been disturbed by your behaviour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    7
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

on our arrival we found all to be ok pleasant nothing to shout about,we had booked two rooms as we was with friends we all didn`t expect to much for the price,we found the rooms ok cleanish but old decor the bathroom had a smell in it and very old furniture but apart from that work to be done and updating.we found the breakfast freshly cooked average on our first morning all seemed ok but on our second morning our day of departure well alot to be desired from Linda and crew she had a terrible attitude under presure we sat 15mins waiting before we got a drink and finally breakfast came and 2 slices toast between 4 persons could`t beleave it they had actually ran out of bread so it was shut up and put up so we ended up taking what was left from other guests of there table what a joke!! knowing we got to be out by 10 o clock we was all set and ready to go but before we could even finish our coffee we was told to get up stairs get our stuff and leave by linda as she wanted the rooms for others and she needed us out now bad attitude really had money now get out. we left rather discussed to top it all once home 2 days later they had actually taken further payment from my account i having no idea what for i called them they say a set of towels had gone missing and thats the cost but the best thing was it wasn`t our room we stayed in i then reallised that when i booked they had actually kept my card details not even informing me they hold them on file and chose to use my details and take payment with out my knowledge (theft) be very carefull people never again treat this one with extreme caution!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graydon01, Owner at Graydon Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Why didn't you tell the full story??
You were all more than happy from our memory, with everything, and you told us that you were discussing with each other how this place was the best you had stayed in Blackpool.
That was until you had realised that we had deducted the cost of a set of towels from you account.
You had 2 rooms, and 1 set of towels was missing from one of them!!
What you haven't wrote in your review is that you did phone us, and we ended up giving you the benefit of the doubt and returning your money!!
I honestly wish now that we had not!
It's amazing how many guests will walk away with various items, or cause some damage in their rooms.
But of course, we are expected to swallow the cost.
We provide a very good service for our guests, all rooms are clean and have what is required for their stay.
We give all guests respect, it's a shame that a small percentage do not return that respect.
So, if any person reading this review is the type who expects 5* treatment for the price of 2* rates-PLEASE: Don't bother booking in here, because you won't be missed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We only paid £40 a night for our double room including breakfast so wouldn't normally expect too much but I fear the reviews on here give people expectations too high.
The female owner was friendly and welcoming, showing us to our room and making sure we were settled.
The room and bathroom were small but this was what we expected and was exactly as their website described it to be. There were some lovely little touches which you'd only normally expect in hotels not B&Bs such as two chocolates in the room plus a bible and sewing kit in the bedside cabinet. We found the room to be very clean and warm with above average bedclothes and curtains.

We had a bad experience at breakfast on our first morning there where the younger man who works there was very rude and shouted across the room to us demanding that we move tables because the one we'd sat at was reserved for a family, we're a very polite couple and would never occupy a table for four if there was a table for two available but when we'd walked into the breakfast room there were only two tables for four free, neither of them had reserved signs on them and the female the day before had told us to sit down at any table, help ourselves to cereal and wait for someone to take our order.
Within minutes of us being made a spectacle of the female owner came out to apologise (she must have overheard how rude he was) she could see that we were embarassed by the situation and ensured we got our food immediately.
She later came up to our room to apologise for his behaviour and explain the pressures they'd been under that weekend, she couldn't have been nicer if she'd tried, it's just a shame her staff aren't as polite. She even left me a bottle of wine and glasses to drink it from in my room later that day (it was my birthday)
The following morning the same rude man served us at breakfast, when we walked in we asked where we should sit (as not to sit at a reserved table again) he laughed at us and said sit at a table for two today in a sarcastic way, we found this well out of order and wished the female owner was there to overhear him again because people like that should be sacked.
It is such a shame that this B&B was let down so badly by this one employees attitude when the owner was so lovely and previous reviews have said what fantastic customer service they've received there.

It is situated in a great location, close to the night life, restaurants and Tower, it's also only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and tram stop. Funny Girls is only a minutes walk away too - well worth a visit.

The food we received at breakfast was delicious.

Please don't be put off by review but I want people to be aware so they don't make the same mistake and be spoken to like we were. Hopefully this male will be disposed of and this B&B will continue to receive the glowing reviews it has done because the female owner definitely deserves them.

Room Tip: Check the desciptions for each of the rooms on their own website because they are accurate and exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

my wife and i enjoyed are stay at the hotel it was realy relaxed and the owner and his family are very frendly they make you very welcom [---]

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Unfortunately stayed at the Grayden in Blackpool - never again. The other reviews made it sound a little quaint but it is just old fashioned, mis-matched and not that clean. Someone elses hairbrush remained on the floor under a chair for the whole of my stay. I hope it was the previous occupant, not longer. I don't expect a lot but I do expect the bed to be made daily, towels folded, milk replenished, loo cleaned and the occasional hoover. Renters - for they don't own, actually made a point of telling us with incredularity that they were expected to change the sheets even if people had only slept in them one night!I can't decide if the attitude was don't care or just lazy. An ironing board was left up in part of the corridor for 4 days. Find somewhere else!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graydon01, Owner at Graydon Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
In response to your comments: your room will have been provided with a complimentary tray for your arrival, (we don't keep providing everyday) and clean towels in the ensuite. We do not service the rooms on a daily basis, and do not advertise the fact.

This is a bed and breakfast accommadation, NOT a 5* hotel.
Surely it is not that difficult to fold a towel, or straighten a duvet on the bed.

And the point about the bed changing, we will have simply told you that we will always replace clean sheets even if the guest stays for 1 night, (as in some places they would not bother)
The ironing board is always in the second lounge NOT the corridor, for guests use.

If you was not happy with the service, WHY did you not mention at breakfast when Lynda will ask all guests if they had a good sleep, that they were warm enough etc.
We would have gladly returned your balance, and directed you to the Hilton Hotel.

We try really hard to please our guests, however its true you cannot please all the people, all of the time. Fortunately, we do please most.
Finally, what did you do with the hairbrush???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

what a great hotel such lovely people very clean and breakfast best i had in blckpool and beds so comfy u dont want 2 leave them cant wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graydon01, Owner at Graydon Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast Tracey, and your bed was comfy. Since taking over the Graydon last May we have replaced all but one bed, and it has certainly paid off.
Glad you want to come back, and we will be open for New Years Eve. Mike, Lynda & Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

On arrival we were greated in a friendly manner and shown to our rooms. The rooms were spacious and clean. Some of the furniture was aged, but still usable. I loved the chandeliers in every room. The guide to the hotel was out of date and we were late for breakfast the first morning. Other than this the hotel is excellent and is still in a 'free parking street' if you can get a space. If not the train station is only 3 minutes away. Would recommend this hotel for couples and families who want a quite time as there is no bar.

Room Tip: I asked for a large double, although there no view the room was very big, compared to some places
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graydon01, Owner at Graydon Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
The room browser has now been updated Richard. The few pieces of out-dated furniture will be gone for the new season. We will not be opening a bar, due to having the Duke of York only 100 yards away, and open until 1.00 am at weekend, and social clubs nearby for families with young children. Thank you for your time to write a review. Mike, Lynda & Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graydon Hotel

Address: 33/37 Banks Street, Blackpool FY1 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Graydon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Graydon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graydon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.