We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Blackpool!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jollies Hotel to your Saves list
Jollies Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   86 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #709 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay in Blackpool!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to Blackpool for a Monday to Friday Stay the first week of August 2013, The weather was superb sunshine every day bar 1. Went to the theatre to see the Tina Turner story all we can say is brilliant.
The hotel although a budget hotel costing £25 each per day B&B with us taking the occasional evening meal at £10 each, The food was ample and plentiful having been offered more if we wanted.
The rooms are clean and tidy and looked after daily.
Our car was locked up safely for the duration of our stay as we used public transport for travel.
Lyn and Bill we caring and happy to assist with booking taxis, theatre shows, and anything else we asked of them.
We are going to return to Jollies Hotel on our next trip and will be recommending this hotel to all of our family and friends.

Room Tip: First floor are smaller rooms we are told, we had a very comfortable second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    4
    8
See reviews for
2
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Jollies as part of a hen party, when we arrived at the hotel it was all locked up and in darkness! We decided to call the owners on the phone and were told that they were awaiting the AA back in Birmingham!!! and that they would call us as soon as they got back, so we could check in! As luck would have it, other members of the group were checked in to a nearby hotel that allowed us to sit in the bar and wait. 4 hours later we got a phonecall to say that we were now able to check in.
We had a twin room that was cosy to say the least, but was clean and comfortable. The shower room on the other hand was tiny and dirty!
The room itself was freezing, which wasn't great at the beginning of Feb!!!
Such a shame this hotel couldn't deliver brilliant service and bigger rooms as the location is excellent for the center of Blackpool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

just stayed at the jollies hotel 4 nights over xmas very friendly rooms small but cosy bathroom could be bigger but we managed had ground floor which was great for me the bed comfortable and 2 pillows wow most hotels only have 1 on the bed know these seem small things but all together make a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good and plenty evening meals were ok but could have better on some days for example the beef was not from joint the pastry on steak pies warmed in microwave and was soft my only 2 complaints. other reviews i think were very harsh we had a great holiday and will go again if they will have us.

ann and mick from coventry

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choppington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have been to Jollies now for the past couple of years and have to say that some of the comments are harsh. Yes, the room I had came with powdered milk for making tea, a warm shower rather than a hot one and a toilet seat that wasn't fixed on properly. However, the hotel is in an excellent location for all the attractions, there is limited parking at the front like most of the hotels along Hornby Road, my room was clean and presentable upon returning after a day out (and perfectly adequate for a single person like myself) and the breakfasts were good and set me up for the day ahead. And Bill and Lyn are outstanding hosts. So there!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

simple atrocious room (sorry shed) was so small & filthy the mice backed out & wiped their feet . the food (sorry again) pig swill was so bad the sick on the pavement outside seemed a better choice. when you walked upstairs to your shed your hands stuck to the bannister, you had to leave the door open to have awash . all in all this place is truly ahealth hazzard ,avoid at all cost . you have been warned

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne B, Owner at Jollies Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
I have no record of this person staying with us, it sems to be yet another vindictive review,
We adhere to strict guidelines in order to retain our gold standard the staff are trained to high NVQ standards in both cleaning (hospital spec) and hospitality, following on from many years experience in the hospitality and catering industry as well as customer services the hotel has excelled by receiving many commendations (awards) from Blackpool for hotel of the year and family friendly business of the years and many others, I would advise customers to check our other reviews on the home web site and also the returning customers that we get every year as well as contacting the companies we are accredited by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

If like us you are wanting a cosy romantic weekend away then this is definitely not the place to stay, in fact to be honest this wouldnt be the place to stay under any circumstances! Unless you are wanting, filthy small rooms, uncomfortable beds and the smallest bathroom where theres not enough room to brush your teeth in never mind trying to dry yourself off after a shower. Theres tea and coffee making facilities in rooms but i have never tasted anything more disgusting, its all powdered stuff, YUCK! The breakfast, YUCK YUCK YUCK again disgusting! I couldnt eat it i had 1 bite and couldnt eat anymore and i love my food!! The bacon was raw, the sausage was as hard as a rock, the egg and fried bread just swimming in fat and i never tasted the beans i wasnt brave enough! The coffee came in a teapot and was so weak i thought it was tea, i gave it a stir and the coffee was stuck to the bottom like sludge. I did manage half a slice of toast but after taking advice from the partner who got a taste of the most disgusting marg in the world saying DONT EAT THAT i opted for marmalade which was a safer choice. The next day we asked if we could skip the full English and just have scramble egg on toast, it wasnt as bad and i did manage a full slice of toast and some egg but all in all the food was very terribly cheap and blumming awful.

In a way i feel bad writing such an awful review because they did seem like a really nice couple but i cant lie about the place.

Dispite staying in the worst place ive ever stayed in, we had a really great weekend, the nightlife was great, soul suite was brilliant, brilliant music and brilliant atmosphere id highly recommend going there. We had lunch at wetherspoons and the food was lovely, 2 meals with 2 pints for £11 again id highly recommend. Had a gorgeous chinese meal but cant remember the name of the place or the street it was on.

The only recommendation i can give for this hotel is avoid completely !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I expected a small room but!!! The tea/coffee/dried milk in room must have been the cheapest they could find, I judge a hotel by this although I bring my own just in case it's bad. Breakfast was one of the worst I've had in Blackpool, there was no fruit juice, limited choice of cereal (pre-ordered the day before) cheap bacon and sausage, no tomatoes, soggy fried bread, hash brown and egg. We don't have beans so can't comment on them. It was undercooked toast brought when nearly eaten cooked breakfast and MARGARINE UGH!! luckily we were only there for one night.
I also felt that whilst being friendly the proprietor was watching us too much. Plus I've not had to pay to park before as this is one of my criteria when choosing hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne B, Owner at Jollies Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
we adhere to the sctrictest of guidelines for our accreditation and do not skimp on quality for any supplies used within any part of the hotel, Our products are all locally sourced and are cooked from fresh and go straight from pan to plate so there is no reason for it to be inedible, we have been honoured for many years on the food we supply and are also approved by many special dietary needs companies for the range of needs we can cater for
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jollies Hotel

Address: 86 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #709 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jollies Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jollies Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.