We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Corona to your Saves list
The Corona
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   18 - 20 Clifton Dr | South Beach area, near Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have sons aged 4 and 6 and came to Blackpool for 2 nights. We stayed in Room 3, which was very spacious with bunkbeds as well as a double bed. It was over the reception area, so there was no noise from downstairs (and we didn't have to worry about disturbing any other guests). Paul and Richard were welcoming, and treated our boys with warmth and a real sense of fun. The guest house is modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great, with lots of choice. And the location is fabulous as it's about a minute's walk from the Pleasure Beach. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello, I have read your review and we feel very privileged that you chose the Corona over all the other properties in Blackpool. I know your friends stayed close and we know you could have stayed with them in that hotel, so thank you. Its a great review and we are proud of our business and appreciate the time all our reviews take to write their thoughts.
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you return.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    49
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
165
177
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Corona,it was our second visit there & it was just as good as the first time,the hotel is spotlessly clean & the food is very good,we will be definitely be returning. Paul & Richard are top hosts. Best hotel we have stayed in Blackpool by far!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we truly appreciate all guests views and ensure our staff are made aware of the praise we receive.
Cleanliness is mentioned so often and to be honest, it is high on our priority of guests satisfaction....
along with the attitude of our staff and the quality of the food we offer guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Corona in 2013 for your 3rd stay.
Thank you so much,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights we could not fault the accommodation or the owners and staff. We stayed in room 20 it has a king size bed, large flat screen tv and beautiful decor and very very clean. The owners were very helpful and welcoming, I wasn't well on my second day and Paul brought bottles of water up to me. Breakfast was very tasty good quality food and service. Conservatory, bar area and pool table kept very clean and tidy. It's very close to the pleasure beach (5 min walk) but also in a residential area so there was no noise from traffic, bars or public so it's ideal if you want a quiet nights sleep. The touches inside the rooms were very sweet, in room 20 we had robes, slippers, mini box of chocs, biscuits and a flapjack type bar, liquid soap, bottle of water, bottle opener, coasters, huge flat screen tv with lots of channels and the arrangement of pillows and be throw was gorgeous. Would highly recommend to everyone and definately will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the time you have taken to to review the Corona.
We really can't say a big enough thanks for all our guests who take the time to put together the words and to share their thoughts on the stay they have with us.
Room 20 as you did mention does have a huge 7ft bed with a 42" wall mounted TV great for chilling out and taking some time to yourselves. So, you enjoyed the use of the bathrobes and slippers, we do try to give guests that pampered feel, all the little extras come as standard in all superior, deluxe and Luxury rooms.
We do offer room service on request and the higher room grades can also take advantage of continental room service free of charge, we just require the order is placed with us the night before.
I know you do not get time away with your partner, but please keep us in mind for your next short stay in Blackpool.
Once again, thank you so much for the review.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from our third stay at the Corona this year... And love the place so much we've extended next years planned visit.
Hotel is spotlessly clean, food is excellent and nothing is too much trouble for Paul and Richard.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Blackpool book the Corona , you wont be disappointed !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Well, you said it all, thank you for that.
Your words are spoken first hand and it is wonderful that you have taken the time to put your view across to others who may be considering the Corona for a short stay.
All I can say is we look forward to seeing you in 2013.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 night stay at the corona. What can I say again excellent service with helpful and friendly staff. We will be returning again for the fourth time next year. Keep up the work Paul & Richard. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Julie,
Thank you once again for your review, we welcome all our repeat guests with the same warmth as your very first visit.
You didn't waste time booking for 2013 October half term, as I said on our Facebook page; most of the family rooms are booked out for that whole week,
We encourage all guests to book early to avoid disappointment and secure the room of your choice.
Many thanks for your continued support over the years and we will speak to you in early 2013.
Paul Richard and all the staff at the Corona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and took my eldery grandmother along with our 2 boys .Both Richard and Paul could not do enough for us.The rooms were spotless , food fantastic. Could not fault the hotel one bit......even the public toliets were amazing!!!
We will be back !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for the wonderful review, we invite many families through our doors every year with the age range from 1 to 99 and offer a selection of rooms to suit all guests. We have first floor single rooms for our elderly guests and these are always best booked early to secure your preferred room choice.
Hopefully we will be seeing you back at the Corona in 2013.
Thank you so much once again for choosing the Corona over the 1000 hotels in Blackpool.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I really can't understand the reviews for this place - the management are abrupt, unhelpful and out and out ignorant.

I booked a KGB deal for this place and within a week of booking the deal all weekends had mysteriously been booked up a year in advance! When attempting to book an alternative date the manager was more interested in telling me when I couldn't come than when I could. Despite admiting there were vacancies available they were not available for 'you people with deals'. We were very much treated like second class guests and it seemed we were more of a hinderance for daring to take advantage of the offer.

There are more signs than wallpaper on the walls dictating what can and can't (more often can't) be done and when it must be done by. The hotel is situated right by the pleasure beach which is noisy and busy. Parking is very restricted and I was often sat outside waiting for a space for half hour. The main centre is far from walking distance so taxi's were very much order of the day. And don't you dare venture out of the limited time slot for breakfast or the bar!

To top it off the room was small and cold. Heating was set between certain times and if your comings and goings did not fit you were pretty much out of luck - not pleasant for a soggy September. Apparently this is a four star hotel - even for Blackpool that's a shove!

Room Tip: Ask for one in the Big Blue Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking time to review the Corona 4 star guest accommodation (not hotel) I am sure your stay was terrible for you by the sound of your review. I can only apologise on behalf of us, the owners.
I find it interesting that you rated the Corona very low in all our areas including value but despite the cost of £69.00 for a 2 night stay to include breakfast both mornings you still felt the need to rate the value as low, I find it incredible that a room in the Corona at a cost of £34.50 per night was still too expensive for you, and yet we have guests who pay £90.00 + per night and believe they receive great value. We do have competition from every other hotel in Blackpool but the days of cheap and cheerful were never at the Corona. As we agree with guests about the rooms being compact, that is out of our control sorry, we try to offer all we can in the rooms and most guests appreciate this. We pride ourselves on cleanliness quality and the mark you gave there was also low, if you purchased a KGB deal or not, all our guests are treated with respect and a welcome but sometimes the Corona may not be right for some guests….The comment about signs I will dismiss, I haven’t a clue what you are talking about, sorry.
Parking: We offer limited parking and this is made clear, there are plenty of parking areas in the surrounding streets that are free and yes you do have to drive round the corner sometimes, but we do not feel the need to charge and reserve parking as there is so much street parking as I have said.
The fact that there were no weekends available might be better described as, the particular weekend you wanted to book, we do have guests sometimes booking 12 months in advance.
The pleasure beach is in close proximity as you pointed out, thank you, although we have never had anyone staying here say that it was noisy unless the laughter and general noise of people enjoying themselves is regarded as noise to some people.
Heating: When it is required we do have the heating set on a timer that would fit in with a majority of guests being in the building, this is our policy until such times as the heating is on 24 hours per day. Leaving heating on is like having a shower running when your out of the bathroom all day, or perhaps my views on that are wrong. A simple request to flick a switch would solve that problem, but you chose not to ask so unfortunately there is nothing I can say to that.
I look forward to your response in the very near future. And I can apologise once again for your terrible stay with us.
To date, 30th October, I have sent you 2 e-mail messages via Tripadvisor but as of yet, you have not replied. It would help us to know what dates and room you stayed in during your recent stay so we can respond appropriately as we do not seem to have any other details that we can trace to your stay with us at the Corona, without this information we assume this is not a legitimate review or at least we have doubts about its authenticity.
Paul

Paul waiting for guest to reply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Address: 18 - 20 Clifton Dr | South Beach area, near Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.