We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brillant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crewes Original Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crewes Original Hotel
Save
You added Crewes Original Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   203 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #471 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
liegh lanacashire
1 review
“brillant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

me and family stopped there in may and we were made welcome and the owner debbie was very polite and we all had a laugh and good stay i will be bookin agen soon for our next trip in august for my birthday because its in a grate location and close to all the amenties and we all had a gr8 nite sleep and was gud value for the money just wish they cud do breakfast tho but its ok we still enjoyed it tho xxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    37
    26
    13
    59
See reviews for
74
86
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are looking for a great break in Blackpool close to the attractions then stay at the Crewes original hotel on the promenade. Debbie the hostess is so welcoming and friendly and the bedrooms are very comfortable... brilliant value for money... we will be back again ..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evra, Owner at Crewes Original Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Diane thanks for your kind words. Was lovely to see you both and get to know you. We are really glad you enjoyed yourselves and are really looking forward to seeing you all later in the year. see you soon, Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and i stayed over easter weekend, first time this hotel in blackpool, very clean and friendly, nothing too much trouble, all staff happy and friendly, chatty, really made us welcome, we have stayed in many different hotels in blackpool over the years, but the Crewes has been our best time yet, close to everything, but not too close to the busyness, Debs the owner, wot a fanatastic person, we have left there good friends, she has very high standards for her hotel, plus a no tolerance policy, which was good to know as taking mychildren back with us next time, the cafe recommended by owner plus got a discount for all paying guests at hotel, was fanastic traditional food, great views from seaview from, well worth the extra pennies for, as watching the sunset and rise was priceless, the standard of cleaning was very high, also seating area out front for all those people watchers was fab, cant wait to go back this time for 7 days, just didnt want to leave, plus value for money is exceptional, many thanks Carl & Tracy xxx

Room Tip: Seaview a must if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend with my partner and loved it, the room we had was clean spacious and felt very homely, staff were fantastic and very helpfull. Recently tried to book again but unfortunately was fully booked. Definitely will be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and my partner decided last minute to get away for the evening. I am so glad we did, we had a lovely time. We turned up late in the evening, with the price of £15pp per night (the lowest price we have ever paid) i was pleasantly suprized on how nice, clean and comfortable the hotel was.

We stayed in a double room which was very clean and cosy (we did not have a sea view room simply because we didnt ask for one). The bed was very compfy and we had both had a great nights sleep.

the hotel is perfectly central to all attractions and the view from the front of the hotel in the evening is wonderful.

Overall i would say you certainly get value for money! I am so happy with my stay that i most certainly intend to return in the very near future.

Please note-if you want a 5* hotel with breakfast then maybe you should pay 5* prices.

See you again soon! K

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evra, Owner at Crewes Original Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank youfor taking the time to write a reviews and for your lovely comments we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

after a disastrous hour at our original hotel we called in the Crewes Original on Good Friday and found a wonderful sea front hotel - a warm welcome - a spacious, bright and warm en-suite room with comfortable beds. I think it was meant to be a family room as it had 2 double beds so I can't comment on the size of a true double room but obviously luckily for us the hotel are happy to fill an unoccupied room. We love Blackpool so would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evra, Owner at Crewes Original Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words we appreciate your review. We are so glad we were able to help after your disastrous experience at another hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am a great believer in trying to be as fair as possible, and as a journalist, objective without personalising.

Firstly this hotel has what arguably has to be one of the best central locations in Blackpool, being located a stones throw from the Central Pier, and therefore equidistant from the North & South promenade areas. The town centre and Tower, as well as the Pleasure Beach are within walking distance. There are plenty of local restaurants in the immediate vicinity, some offering various deals 2 for 1, 2 dine for £5.99 etc. Please be aware that the hotel does not offer food therefore you will require to eat out, including breakfast. The hotel have arranged a deal for breakfast for customers at a local cafe within a 3 minute walk.

I had booked two rooms for a family break, a twin and a double with sea views. That is what we received, therefore no complaints there. The twin room on the top floor was for our two children and the climb up several flights stairs would be unsuitable for the elderly, infirm or disabled. The size of this room was reasonable and it accommodated 2 beds, a wardrobe, bedside cabinets, small table and chair. It had a lovely outlook over the North Sea through a large picture window.

Unfortunately the double, room 18 was absolutely tiny, as can bee seem from the attached pictures. in fact i would go so far as to say that this room was originally part of the room next door, number 18 and had been subdivided at some point to form extra accommodation. This is all fine and well if you can still provide substantial accommodation and floorspace, this was neither! It was so small the room could only take one bedside cabinet with the bed being hard up against the wall. The wardrobe was located at the foot end, therefore if the person being on the wall side of the bed needed up during the evening, they either had to wake their partner, or crawl on hands and knees to the end of the bed to get to the bathroom.

This is patently not a double room, in fact it might just have been acceptable as a single, in fact, I very much doubt that the room could have taken anything other than the basic standard sized double. It would definitely not have taken a Queen or King size bed.

The room measures approx 10' wide at it's widest point and substantially less elsewhere within the room where furniture takes up floor space.

Similarly, the bathroom had been shoe horned into a corner of the room and was woefully inadequate again in terms of size. The roof tiles were damaged and mouldy, the toilet seat loose and no bath mats were provided to stand on when exiting the shower. We had to request spare toilet rolls as only one was provided in the bathroom, although these were readily and helpfully sourced by the maid. Perhaps it would be an idea to simply place 2-3 in the bathroom for customers use and to thereafter replenish as required, rather than having customers requesting them.

The hotel website states that rooms had been refurbished, however this was not evident in room 18. The fittings and furnishings were basic, i.e. cheap veneered MDF side units/table and appeared dated. The televisions were older models (no flat screens). I did note that the hotel is up for sale at present, and this might explain some of these problems.

We had to turn the heating off in the room it was so stifling and uncomfortable due to the size of the room, and the fact that there is only one tiny top window which opened. We left this open, but as a result of the plastic bunting strung up outside the hotel which rattled and groaned like an 90 year old asthmatic the minute a breath of wind hit it, meant we had to close the window in order to be able to sleep. Proprietor please note: remove the bunting, it serves no purpose, and given that it is torn, worn and faded it seems pointless leaving it up. The fact that the curtains didn't close properly and were hanging off the curtain rail probably didn't help either, given the floodlighting from outside during hours of darkness.

The hotel and all it's marketing products make a big thing of it's past award being the winner of "The Hotel of the Year" however this was won in 2005/6 season and using it now is well past it's 'sell-by date'. It could be construed as being misleading, although I am fairly certain that this is not the intention, and that it is simply seen as an award which was won and therefore used 'actively' - brochures, website, external face of the hotel etc.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful - pointing out local car parking facilities and recommending a restaurant when requested. There were no complaints in this area and they couldn't be faulted in any respect. Nor were there any overall concerns with regard to general cleanliness within the hotel environment.

As noted earlier, the hotel no longer provides any food service, but does have a small cocktail bar which is open for guests as and when required. Prices were fairly standard and not exceptional.

Please note there are no car parking facilities at this location, however staff did advise of local car parks nearby and on-street parking availability. For those considering the on-street option, please note that this is a busy pub/nightclub area and cars have been damaged in the past.

Keys are provided to the external door of the hotel allowing access after hours and conforming with good security provisions.

As for pricing structure - well I don't think you'll find cheaper for a centrally located Blackpool seafront hotel. £15 per person per night for adults and half price for children, no matter what else may be needing attention, is an absolute bargain for illumination period (October) in this resort.

So, on balance, was this good value - undoubtedly yes. Could some of the defects be rectified? absolutely and with little difficulty, would that increase my 3 star 'average' rating to a 4 star 'very good' - without a doubt. But please give consideration to my comments regarding room size (18) as a double room and consider rebranding this as a decent size single room instead.

Room Tip: Check with the proprietors for room sizes as these can vary substantially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crewes Original Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewes Original Hotel

Address: 203 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crewes Original Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central seafront Blackpool. We are the most central location on the seafront, the closest to The Tower. We have three stars from Visit Britain. All rooms are en-suite with Tv, complimentary tea making facilities and free wi-fi. we have a lovely outside patio area and a licensed bar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crewes Original Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.