We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crewes Original Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crewes Original Hotel
Save
You added Crewes Original Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   203 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #484 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked at Crewes original hotel after not being able to get into the hotel we usually stop in as it was a last minute booking. We wanted a hotel on the seafront so our 2 year old could look out of the window at the illuminations. We read the reviews on here after we booked and was a little worried. But the hotel was fantastic value for money. It was room only basis, the room was small but we only really slept there and was fine for a few nights, The room was clean and tidy and was serviced once whilst we were there. It was a very cold weekend but the heating in the room was fantastic (although the bathroom was frezzing). The only real down side to the room was the old tv with only 4 watchable channel!!s..( what did we used to do with only four channels lol), because we were in our room early at night for our little one to go to bed we were a little bored lol.
The staff were very welcoming and made our stay enjoyable.
if you want a hotel on a budget in a great location book here.

Room Tip: Sea view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    36
    26
    13
    59
See reviews for
72
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I think feedback should detail the positive and negative of an experience. We have just returned from a two night stay at the hotel. First the good, ideal location, good sea views, warm, fairly clean, bar lady very attentive and courteous, bar prices very reasonable, secure (door constantly locked). Things that weren't as good, watch out for the unexplained surcharge on card payments when booking, no in house breakfast option (have to visit café around the corner, which was good, but extra cost) Web site photos show hotel better that actually is (maybe the photo’s are a little old) only two plug points in our room (so unable to watch TV, have side light on and boil the kettle at the same time) T.V small and old andvery high up the wall, Hotel of the year award if only for a particular category (gold award 25-30 bedroom hotels) not the overall winner, shower in our room went hot when turned to cold and vice versa. Owner made flippant comment when mentioned this point. Luckily we aren’t suing for what could have been a very different story when our 6 year old had a shower and turned it to cold, 10.00am check out. Overall enjoyed our stay, fell we saw better hotels at a better price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evra, Owner at Crewes Original Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review all feedback is appreciated. I would take issue with a few of your comments. The rooms are not old and have been refurbished in April 2012. There are two plug sockets in each room both with double sockets so you could plug in all your appliances if you had used both sockets. We did win Hotel Of the Year and had over 600 nominations from people who had stayed with us. A mystery shopper from Blackpool Tourist Board then stayed at the Hotel without us knowing to assess the property independently. We were outright winners of the accolade and worked very hard to achieve this. The property has three stars and is accredited and assessed yearly . I note that you said you could find a better property for the money. We charge £15 a night for an adult and £7.50 for a child. We are the most central Hotel on the seafront and have three stars, you had a sea view I think you would find it difficult to find a better quality establishment for £15 a night. With reference to the shower, I'm sorry if your daughter turned the shower the wrong way and burnt her self. I expressed my concerns when you told me, but as I said to you at the time the showers are all correctly plumbed in and are all in perfectly good working order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times now with members of my family and over the years have always felt comfortable with the kind and welcoming way that Debbie has made the stay enjoyable.
The hotel is excellently located , the staff are friendly, nothing too much trouble and all the ingredients are there for the visitor to enjoy a true Blackpool experience--whether you are a first time visitor or regular.

Room Tip: sea views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

just arrived home from another lovely stay at this hotel. had a great family room (room 25) with a view of the prom. my 3 year old daughter loved looking at the illuminations every night from the window :-) Will hopefully see you next year and thanks again for another pleasant and enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Review from Kevin and Samantha Smith we have just got back from a great 5 days at this hotel so we don't understand why there is so many bad reports about this hotel .
the staff are all friendly and helpful we have never had a problem with our stay here and we have stayed here a number off times. Debbie and Julia are the main 2 staff during the day and night .
it has always been clean and comfortable.
the hotel is in a central location for town and the piers it is also on the sea front .
we will see you again next year .thank you for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Crewes Original Hotel and enjoyed our time there. The hotel was clean and tidy, had a t.v in the room, tea and coffee making facilities. Debbie and the team were really friendly and helpful, very polite and made us feel very welcome. Although the hotel needs updating inside what you have to remember is that you are paying only £15 for a Hotel right on the centre of the promenade/sea front and we think what you get is excellent value for money and the staff are nicer and more friendly than you might get in a 5* hotel.
Lovely Hotel, Thanks Debbie and the team for making our holiday so lovely xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evra, Owner at Crewes Original Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Sarah thank you for your kind comments, it's really appreciated when people take the time to write something for us. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you are in sunny Blackpool! Hope you found the zoo okay and enjoyed your day. Thanks again, kind regards Debbie and the team @ Crewes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Have been going to this hotel for the past 5yrs. Debbie gives u a very warm welcome and the staff r very pleasant,rooms r spotless and nothing is a bother to any of the staff. Great atmosphere in the bar.Thanks again Debbie for ur hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crewes Original Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewes Original Hotel

Address: 203 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crewes Original Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central seafront Blackpool. We are the most central location on the seafront, the closest to The Tower. We have three stars from Visit Britain. All rooms are en-suite with Tv, complimentary tea making facilities and free wi-fi. we have a lovely outside patio area and a licensed bar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crewes Original Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.