We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carn Brae B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carn Brae B&B to your Saves list
Carn Brae B&B
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   657-659 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #480 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
warrington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel on the weekend of 24/04/15 a family of 4. The welcome we recieved was very good and we were checked in quickly. The room booked was a family room consisting of 1double and 2 singles, still plenty of room to move about. The bathroom was very large and the best shower i have had in a B & B. we all ate breakfast which was very good and the service was excellent. the location is good for the Pleasure beach with a tram stop right outside the hotel. we will use the hotle again to stay in blackpool

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    6
    9
    12
See reviews for
42
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

not the most modern hotel along the coast,but relevant to what rooms cost here i would not hesitate to return. my room was clean,the shower was hot,a small but adequet TV and coffee making facilities. We all had a very good large breakfast that set us up for the whole day. One of the guys i travel with for football is a PIG (and i do mean a pig) when it comes to food,and even he went without lunch. We all enjoyed our walk(40 mins) into Blackpool,but if walking is not your sceene the bus/trams stop 50 yards away.
Late at nite one of our guys thought he had lost all his credit cards. When he told the owner the chap went out of his way to help.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Ken, the proprietor, was very friendly and welcoming and made sure that our stay was enjoyable and his staff were very helpful and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. The breakfast was absolutely first class, with everything you could want. I cannot comment on the evening meal, as we were B&B only, but can only assume that it will be very good if the breakfast is anything to go by.Although the hotel is a little way out from the centre there is a tram stop virtually opposite the hotel so this was not a problem for us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Booked in on Friday the 20/02/2015 for a one night stay to see a show with my wife,Daughter and her Fiance Jan.
Was met by The owner Ken who greeted us with a polite introduction and gave us our room keys.
We stayed on the second floor and both rooms were sea views, the rooms were really clean and ample. We have stayed in Blackpool before and i must say the Carn brae is a liilte Gem.
The Breakfast was amazing, so much variety and the staff were really nice and polite.
Would definately recommend this hotel to my friends and family and will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Was somewhat dissappointed where the hotel was situated thought it was nearer shops etc.Had a lovely warm welcome from Ken the boss when we arrived with sandwiches ,tea and coffee laid on which I thought was a lovely gesture untill I realised it was our regular lunch served everyday in the lounge bar.The Christmas decorations were lovely. Kren may I suggest although it sounds great you cut back on amount of courses served as it makes for a HUGE AMOUNT OF WASTE FOOD.Couldn't fault the food.There were nice little touches with sweets in 3 baskets and a bowl of fruit in reception for everyone to help themselves.The entertainment was good but ythe itenery was out of date. I was on the top floor which needed a bit of a face lift but Ken bless him is working on that,Rome wasn't built in a day.I was in C 11 the bathroom was very small coiuldn't open door wide because toilet was in the way.and the TV was immediately above the tea making forcilities.I'm dissabled and was not very well over Christmas and the staff couldn't have been more helpfull but then they were like this with everybody.All things considered not a bad holiday have had much worse. mY BED WAS VERY COMFY SLEPT BETTER THAN HOME

Room Tip: floor A OR B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

stayed friday till monday. excellent staff the breakfast and evening meals very good quality very good cook ken.stayed in a few hotels in blackpool but this is the best rooms clean and tidy.thank you to ken and his staff

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Have just returned (with a group of 40) from a weekend trip and cannot thank Ken, his sister, Liz and all the staff who made us feel welcome and valued. Everything was 5* standard and nothing was too much trouble for them. Saturday night's meal was very tasty, followed by fantastic entertainment, and today we all sat down to a super breakfast which set us up for our return journey. We look forward to another trip to this excellent hotel and wish we had booked a longer stay. Thanks Ken.

Room Tip: Beautiful sea view rooms and comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carn Brae B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Brae B&B

Address: 657-659 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carn Brae B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carn Brae is family owned and personally supervised by the proprietor for 22 years, We present a homely atmosphere with quality service and cleanliness to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday & placing you in the most desirable position on Blackpool's new south promenade. This means you're close to all the attractions, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sand Castle & South Pier. The Famous Golden Mile & Blackpool Town Centre is just a short Tram ride away. Bus and trams run frequently from just opposite the hotel. We have 25 guest rooms all with their own en-suite, many offering breathtaking views of the Irish Sea and there is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Carn Brae B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carn Brae B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.