We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not child friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carn Brae B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carn Brae B&B to your Saves list
Carn Brae B&B
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   657-659 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #479 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
“Not child friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Too many rules here. Everywhere you look there are posters on the walls about something not to do! Says family friendly but defo not. Pictures on internet very different to the actual place. Wont be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    6
    9
    12
See reviews for
42
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good all round accomodation.my husband and I have been going to this hotel for years and cannot find any fault with it whatsoever. The staff are very friendly, hard working nothing is too much trouble for them. Food is excellent and plentiful,comfortable clean rooms and entertainment all in a very reasonable price. It is in the quiet area which gives you the best of both worlds as the buses and tram services are just over the road from hotel you are not far from any attractions you may wish to visit. Josey & Ted Telford.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely wee place to stay, friendly staff and good entertainment! Deffo reccomend to friends! 5 minute was from the beach and pleasure beach. Tram and bus stations near by and plenty of car park spaces if your lucky enough

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Well where do I begin? ...... It's to far out if you were thinking of been in the middle of Blackpool, it's about a mile to the Pleasure Beach but the Trams do help, do not go to this hotel if you want to be in the middle if everything.
I asked about their Wi Fi I tried to connect during our stay but it didn't work at all, we asked for a room with a bath as that's what we saw pictures of on the net, when we got there we were told no seaview rooms had a bath but cud use an unoccupied room for our baths which was totally unacceptable as we had to run across the corridor into the next room, there are to many rules in this hotel.....ie you have to pay for more milk, sugars etc if you run out during the day, all electrical appliances have to be turned off before going out, children have to be seen and not heard, no food in rooms at anytime and these are just a few
PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN OR WANT A GOOD TIME
This hotel is been investigated by Trading Standards for False Information on the Internet ....... STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from a 2nt break at the Carn Brae chose this hotel because of its quiet location and after reading a few reviews. Stayed with my Wife for a short break could not fault the hotel at all staff very friendly. Check-in was swift our very comfortable room was a en-suite superior seaview very clean and welcoming with all we needed eg tea coffee making facilities ,flat screen tv,alarm and Wi-fi. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice from cereals to full English and plenty of toast i only had the full english and i was full for biggest part of the day. There is a tram stop 2 min walk almost opposite the hotel £2 up to north pier or a £4.50 day ticket or free with bus pass. We would well recommend this hotel to family and friends and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

For me, it couldn't get any nearer to where I wanted to be. Far enough away from town to get a quite night’s sleep but just a tram ride away from all that Blackpool has to offer. All areas of the hotel where very clean and in good order. Good facility's in my room and the public areas, giant TV and pool table in the bar area. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Always polite and helpful.

I Visit Blackpool a few times a year. Will be staying here in future trips.

Mr David McQuillan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Only had 1night stay but enjoyed it great breakfast good bar nice room the only gripe was 1 of our rooms was freezing cold all the time even though radiator was piping hot children had to sleep in clothes but that apart it was faultless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carn Brae B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Brae B&B

Address: 657-659 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carn Brae B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carn Brae is family owned and personally supervised by the proprietor for 22 years, We present a homely atmosphere with quality service and cleanliness to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday & placing you in the most desirable position on Blackpool's new south promenade. This means you're close to all the attractions, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sand Castle & South Pier. The Famous Golden Mile & Blackpool Town Centre is just a short Tram ride away. Bus and trams run frequently from just opposite the hotel. We have 25 guest rooms all with their own en-suite, many offering breathtaking views of the Irish Sea and there is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Carn Brae B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carn Brae B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.