We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Save
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326/328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

My partner and I stayed in the Strand earlier this week and were very disappointed with the room. The rest of the hotel looks quite nice, however we seemed to be stuck in a portacabin-style extension round the back. Our stay did not get off to a good start when the receptionist asked us to check our details - it was my name but not my address on the system. The booking also stated that we had requested early breakfast - we had not. Not sure if this is a hotel mistake or booking.com error. We were then shown to our room. After passing many normal looking hotel room doors with key swipes, we found our room down an extension corridor at the back of the hotel with a flimsy wooden door with a handwritten room number bluetacked to it! The room itself was tiny. the large bed took up all the floor space and the bathroom was cramped and damp. It was extremely hot and clammy in the room despite the window already being open. We had not requested a room with a sea view but were still not expecting the view from the window - the wall of another building about 2 metres away with a noisy generator attached to it. The shower was not at all powerful and the walls were so thin you could hear everything from the corridor outside.
Judging by the other reviews on here, it would seem we were very unlucky with the room we were allocated. As mentioned, the other rooms we passed and the photos on the website looked nice. I would definately recommend being in the front of the hotel as there is no way the room we stayed in is worth what they charge.
The breakfast was ok, quite small portions.
There are only 4 parking spaces (1 of which was blocked by a car parking over 2 spaces).
I am not one for complaining about hotels normally, but after deciding to pay a little extra it was very disappointing to be worse off than if we had stayed at a little b&b.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Hotel Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Strand Hotel. As with most negative reviews, no complaint was made during your stay for us to rectify any problems. Whilst we take any complaints seriously and are constantly seeking to improve the experience for all our guests, your comments are rather puzzling.

The purpose of checking guests’ details on arrival is to make sure we have the correct address and telephone number, as it happened we didn’t so the task carried even more significance.

The hotel is a Victorian building and you stayed in the original rear wing of the building. Sadly, all rooms are not afforded a sea view but equally the wall to which you refer overlooking is substantially more than 2 metres away.

Furthermore, I wish the builders had the foresight to build an extended car park at the front of the hotel allowing more car parking spaces but, alas, cars weren’t as fashionable over 100 years ago. Although this is a problem we are aware of and cannot resolve, there is free on-street parking at the side of the hotel and we offer 10% discount on all bookings when traveling by public transport. The hotel cannot be held responsible for guests parking over 2 spaces.

The room itself contains a king-size bed and there are bedside cabinets to either side allowing extensive floor space.

The bathroom was completely fully tiled only weeks previous which, coupled with the window in the bathroom, makes any chances of damp evidently impossible.

The shower is a power shower with 3 adjustments on the shower head to adjust the pressure, advice would have been readily available had you asked how to operate it.

Sadly the suppliers of the door numbers became a victim of the credit crunch and another source needed to be found. I hope you can appreciate that without these temporary numbers there would have been complete havoc.

Finally, to suggest the room door is a “flimsy wooden door” is a very serious accusation due to increasingly stringent fire regulations which we would not have passed had your description been factual.

On the whole, I am sorry you found £25 per night including breakfast, which you failed to elaborate on, over the bank holiday period to be excessive and that you chose to air your views in this manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    96
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
149
150
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

The writer and several colleagues stayed at the Strand for 3 nights. This is probably the best hotel I have stayed in at Blackpool, within this price range. The food is extremely good & the staff / proprietors are very friendly & helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Strand over the Bank Holiday weekend and were very impressed. The rooms were clean and modern, the staff very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast was very tasty. I would highly recommend this hotel for stays in Blackpool

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

(CORRECTED REVIEW)

WHERE do you begin in singing the praises of arguably the best hotel in the resort? After an 'egg-static' four day stay over Easter at the Strand (our second visit) our belief in quality Blackpool accomodation has been resurrected - owners Jane and Aaron deserve all the accolades for raising standards to new heights. Gone are the traditional Blackpool interiors and replaced with a modern, spacious fresh feel, including cube furniture & Freeview Plasma Televisions. We were greeted by the effervescent Jane and the equally bubbly Aaron on arrival, who along with a great staff - headed by the ubiquitous Karl and 'marathon man' Frank, attended our every whim!

Meals were hot, obviously freshly cooked to order and satisfying.

Our room, was spotless, modern with a very large comfortable bed, and excellent bathroom.

The Hotel is perfectly positioned, around 15 minutes walk from the town centre and theatres.

In house entertainment was also first-class with Tony West and Charlotte, proving the Jewel in the Crown, producing a five star quality performance, which wouldn't be out of place at some of the resorts, established show venues.

Teenager Tom McCloud was another polished performer who added greatly to the 'Easter Package.'

If your looking for the best deal and value for money destination in Blackpool - then it's got to be the Strand.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I cannot see how this hotel is ranked 17th out of 442 in Blackpool - we were either very unlucky or the other hotels in Blackpool are dire.

We booked two double rooms for two nights over the Easter weekend. I was very disappointed because:

1) Breakfast

- On both days they got my partner's order incorrect. On the first day, despite ordering Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Salmon straight off the menu, they somehow contrived to deliver Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Bacon (which was not on the menu).
- The most disgusting and congealed baked beans I have ever seen
- My fried breakfast on the second day was pathetically small and did not even cover half the plate
- Ran out of pastries and croissants both days even though we only arrived halfway through the sitting

2) Bedrooms

- Tiny (both the bedroom and bathroom)
- Shower did not work in our room (although they fixed it quickly which was a plus point)
- Mattresses too hard and very uncomfortable
- Shabby

3) Car Parking - Parking spaces are advertised as being available, however what this means is there are 4 parking spaces for 35 rooms. Hardly sufficient and should have been told about this earlier.

The only positives were the amazing sea views from the 1st floor lounge area and the reasonable friendly welcome from the receptionist.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

My family and I just returned from a fantastic four night stay at the Strand Hotel. Everything was first class, from the staff, rooms, meals, entertainment (Tony and Charlotte were excellent} and not to mention the crowd from Motherwell!
We hope to return in the very near future.
Mr and Mrs Strand 2009!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INVERNESS
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

i and my wife found the hotel to be clean tidy and the staff to be very friendly and helpful i would recommend this hotel to anyone going to blackpool a special mention for Karl truly a nice guy and also Jodie who was very helpful a very enjoyable stay

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326/328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.