We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Save
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326/328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely would recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here all inclusive for my honeymoon. Great sea view. A bit out of the way, but with our free travel passes only 2 minutes on the tram to the tower. The staff are amazing and so helpful and friendly. And the food is great. Definitely going to come again with the kids and maybe even bring the dog. 5*

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Darren, Thank you so much for your review. It was a great weekend and it is guests like you and your wife that make such weekends at the hotel so memorable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, perhaps with the family?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    100
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
158
160
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It says a lot for this hotel that many of the guests we met have stayed there several times a year for many years. It is very friendly and the owners and staff work very hard indeed to make your stay enjoyable. The food was good, too, with a good variety. The hotel provides good access for the disabled or less-mobile with a ramp to the front door and a room (105) with a wet-room en-suite. It is well-situated and quiet with lovely sea views from the restaurant. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable, the drinks very reasonably priced and all-in-all is very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Derek, thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our repeat business which now accounts for over 50% of our clientele. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Incidentally the front of the hotel has since improved with hand rails on both the steps and ramp which further enhance facilities for the disable and less-mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Strand. Can think of only one word to sum up our stay - disappointing. When we booked the room we asked for a king room with a sea view. Were told by reception that they thought the room had a sea view but would have to check!! On arriving at the hotel it was clean and modern. We were allocated a room on the second floor (203). The room did have a sea view however, there is no way this room could be classed as a king room. It was a small twin room which had the beds pushed together to make a king. There was a gap of 3 inches on one side of the bed to the wall and a 6 inch gap on the other. We had to crawl in and out of the bottom end of the bed.The duvet was small and barely covered the mattress. The window did not lock properly and quite clearly you could tell that maintenance had tried on several occasions to seal the window, without success. We approached reception to advise of the problems with the window and duvet and were advised that they would get maintenance and housekeeping. No-one appeared. Evening meal was fine and breakfast was a buffet and was great. Shame about the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which, although viral, is still important to us at The Strand Hotel. We appreciate the positive elements of the review including the cleanliness and meals but are sorry you were disappointed with the room. Admittedly, some rooms are slightly smaller than others but because you phoned 2 days before your stay, and we were almost full, this room was the only one available. We did manage to secure you a sea-view, for which you were not charged any extra.

Maintenance and housekeeping were made aware of the issues and dealt with them instantly. The windows are in the process of being replaced and that room shall be done early in the New Year at which point the room shall then become a double room allowing more space - the majority of hotels that offer king-size beds actually push two singles together, zip the mattress and change the bedding so this shouldn't really come as much as a surprise. Also, the receptionist was in fact seeing if the room was ready for you as you had arrived prior to the 3pm check-in time.

We feel that for £69 for two people half board in a sea-view room is a fair price for the standard of accommodation offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend on the 2nd November for 1 night.

Couldn't park on the front of the hotel but found a space on the side street just round the corner, so no worries.

Lovely, modern place and great location (quiet but only a short walk or tram ride along the front to bars, restaurants etc.).

Buffet style breakfast, fairly good. Waitresses really friendly and helpful. Great view over the front too.

Would definitely stay here again if staying in Blackpool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor and thank you for the great feedback. Hopefully we shall see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel provided everything we needed for our family visit to Blackpool. The rooms were clean warm and comfortable. The food was extremely varied and plentiful, served with great speed, pleasantness and good humour. The view from the restaurant over the sea and the illuminations just added to our very enjoyable three days. I would definitely recommend this hotel for young families, children are made very welcome! Many thanks to all the Staff.Roger and Janice Brindle

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Roger and Janice, thank you for your review and thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure accommodating you both and your lovely family and we very much look forward to welcoming you all back to The Strand Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at The Strand at the end of October with my family! We chose a dinner bed and breakfast rate. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble! Different menu every night great choice if food! I would like to mention Marta in the restaurant especially as she really made our stay but all the staff were brilliant! Thank you great stay had by all! The Brindle family!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Katie, thank you for your freeback. It's always appreciated and encouraging when we hear good things about the hotel - so thank you once again and I shall pass the comments on to Marta and the rest of the team!!
See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Arrived for a 2 night stay last weekend.
The check-in process was very quick and painless as we were greeted by a lovely lady at the desk.

The rooms were very clean and tidy, the bathroom was particularly well done - excellent shower which is always appreciated first thing in the morning after a heavy night of wedding partying!

Had an issue with our keys (locked them in the room) and the hotel team were very accommodating to rescuing us.

Breakfast was great too.

Just a short walk along the promenade and you're in the heart of Blackpool.

Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Ashwin, thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. It was a really good wedding weekend with great friends and family and we were happy to be part of it. We are glad you all got home safely and hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326/328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.