We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for the gay man” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaps
Save
You added Chaps to your Saves list
9-11 Cocker St, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for the gay man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've quite a bit of experience of hotels in Blackpool and they range from the downright seedy to the OK. Nothing spectacular.

It is lovely therefore, to visit somewhere like Chaps which really stands out as an oasis in a desert of mediocrity.

Clearly the owners have lavished plenty of money and TLC on this place. Our bedroom (Room 24) was lovely though it has to be said, b****y cold until the heating clicked in during the evening (even then it didn't get really warm).

However, the bed and bedding was lovely... it was a really pleasure to snuggle under the duvet (yes.. a lovely duvet not a mangy blanket and sheets). The shower was great (how do they fit so much into a tiny en-suite). Plenty of in room tea and coffee too and also a TV that can be used to play DVDs (selection available)

The breakfast is lovely (I tried to stick to just cereal but the cooked breakfast looked far too inviting).

The bar area is really welcoming and a nice place to start your evening. I had an evening meal there one night too and the food is excellent and large portions too!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and do not hesitate to recommend the hotel. If you are a gay man looking for somewhere to stay, I personally wouldn't bother looking anywhere else

Room Tip: Go for an en-suite room - Room 24 was fab so ask for one like that
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
42
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have stayed at a few hotels in my time in blackpool but i have to say chaps hotel is the best i have ever stayed in,friendly comfortable Kevin and Mark are brillant host marks cooking is to die for the food is lovely the rooms even the basic one are all furnished to a high standard large televison in the lounge area and all rooms have tv i stayed in a small double ensuite over the easter period 2012 and am planning to go back again for 2 night 13/04/2012 to 15/04/2012
really quality at an affordable price oh and brekfast are good too

Room Tip: all the rooms are good standard but internet is better if you can get a room at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Outwardly this is a traditional seaside hotel; inwardly it provides four star quality in bright comfortable modern surroundings. The owners are committed to maintaining high standards and excellent customer service. I have been visiting this hotel for the past twenty years, under various owners, and can say without fear of contradiction that it is one of the best hotels (gay or otherwise) in Britain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My partner and I visit this beautiful hotel when ever we can well worth the trip all the way from Israel. Like most gays we are not the easiest to please but we can't fault this hotel in any way. The hosts are just perfect making everyone feel they are jusy one big happy family. The rooms and food are to the highest standard and the welcome we recieve here is like no other hotel we stayed at with a five star rating.

We usualy stay in the Frank Sinatra suite but all the rooms are to the highest standards.

Room Tip: this hotel has rooms to suit every pocket and the food here has to be the best kept secret in Blackp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

this hotel is clean and excellent,
The staff are very freindly and the food i had is plentifull high quality and excellent the standards of cleanliness are very high the rooms are nice i would definatlety reccomend this hotel to others the gay night life is 5 mins walk away the sea front is abt a min away an all rounder hotel the bar is very reasonable 2 and its comfortable

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Superb hotel close to all the gay places, 2 mins from Funny Girls and The Mardi Gras. I stayed in this hotel (my first time in any gay place) Kevin and Mark are the two nicest guys Ive ever met. I was a solo visitor but they really put me at ease, Met a few guys who made my holiday one of my best. I cannot fault Chaps in any way, The food is fantastic and is all fresh produce (only complaint here is the plate over runneth with food) Its a lovely modern hotel professionally run and has all the facilities you need ie, Ironing Board and iron and a laptop with free internet access. The bar prices must be the cheapest in Blackpool with an excellent choice of beers and is a great meeting point. Rooms very modern and serviced every two days with plenty Tea and coffee. The four post bed was the softest I have ever slept on with the bedding feeling like its made from the finest cotton. Ive stayed here twice now and am looking towards this years holiday and hoping to be meeting all the guys again.
See You Both soon

Room Tip: The themed rooms at the front of the hotel are the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with CoopTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

just came back from staying at chaps again this is the 10th time ive stayed there mark and kevin are great host, the room are exellent. and the breakfast are really good all room have ensuite and the evening meal are opportional and very good priced from huw thomas cardiff south wale

Room Tip: all room are exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps

Address: 9-11 Cocker St, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaps Gay Hotel in Blackpool, is the largest and one of the best Hotel for Gay Men Only. Perfect for gay holidays and weekends away. Is truly the most popular Gay Hotel in Blackpool. Close to the sea front, and walking distance of all the gay bars, clubs, and sauna's that Blackpool is famous for, makes Chaps Gay Hotel one of the UK’s premier Gay Men Only Hotel for Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chaps Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.