We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Colonial Hotel to your Saves list
Colonial Hotel
465 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
SCOTLAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ihave just had a very good 9 day holiday at the Colonial. I found all the staff very kind, friendly and helpfull. Meals were very good, Daniel and Dean very attentive and looked after me as if i was a V.i.P. Sandra and Sharon on reception very friendly and helpfull. The owners Bobby and Linda around most of the time, both excellent hosts. I had a double room with a very large bathroom. All perfect,cant wait to return. Thanks Colonial .

Room Tip: room 215, quiet, cosy, very large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    10
    11
    35
See reviews for
57
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

we went passed one day decided to try carvery one of the best &staff so kind&helpful. so we decided to stay as great value we are so glad as the management&staff brought us back to loving blackpool again .daniel who should be top waiter of the year was really kind&helpful&smiling even at breakfast daniel greets us with a smile bubbly personality even the new bar man was great .the dj was funny&played tunes for everyones taste.from start to going we had areally great time and will go again. if you was on your own you would not be on your own for long because the management &staff look after you.the food was still the best all home made &if you was still hungry there was plenty extra toast bacon etc.thank you so much for looking after us pat&bev xx

Room Tip: let management know what you want there is a lift,and easy access,parking brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Absolutely disgusting from start to finish make no wonder they make you pay before you even enter the dining room. Never been to an eating place before where the chef actually shouts at you and shows you up in front of the whole place because the waitress didn't explain to us that we had to take a ticket up to the carvery. Was so humiliated just wanted to leave. Did eventually get the carvery but wish I hadn't bothered (call yre self a chef pfttttttt) I have four children and each n everyone of them could produce a meal of far more quality. Chicken so dry you couldn't swallow it, roast potatoes cooked in fryer, veg all frozen and swimming in water n no sign of any Yorkshire puddings (carvery ain't carvery without yorkies), instant gravy and no sauces gone back to hotel angry and feeling sick. Haven't wrote this review in anger tho it really was that BAD !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in september 2012.

Hotel is in the prime location of the pleasure beach and there for near south peir, has got tram stop near by which is waterloo road.

Hotel.

The staff are friendly and welcoming but heres the bad points.

never had clean towels daily for price paid i would like clean towels every day no matter the price. lower your room prices of rooms as not worth it get better rooms and cleaner in other hotels.

Rooms dont get cleaned every day which is a let down.

The hotel needs there carpets replaced in bed rooms and in hall ways but the hotel needs a majour update to bring it in to 2012. lift is old but works

the hotel needs to replace net curtains and draw curtains as they are dirty even a wash wouldnt make them clean.
Net curtains and draw curtains never been washed since been put up.
Please bring hotel up to date and make it clean and nicer and not just pride your hotel on food.

food.

Breakfast very small would only suite a little child which was not filling tomatoes was bitter. sausage small only serve 2 chipalata size.

Evening meal.

Not givish on the meat only 1 slice of meat, frozen roast potatoes, tasteless peas. carrots was ok nothing more than that to go mad about.

Puddings was lovely but again money what paid expected alot more.

Harrassed passing people to invite to eat which looks desperate and naff for the hotel. this is the only HOTEL in blackpool what does this and very sad to see.


The point on my review is hotel needs majour update and needs to be cleaned, owners need to be seen more than just behind the office. there is alot mire hotels in blackpool what serve food and better hotel.
Feels sad for this hotel. needs updating and new carpets would be number one in blackpool but for now not the best but near the worst needs money spent on it.

will go back though if they updated rooms and cleaned more.

Honest and true review.

If you like to discus review feel free to drop e mail.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hi. I am sorry to say that the positive reviews below must be for a seperate hotel unless some rooms are different but i will guarantee this review to be honest and acurate.
Where to start,
Dirty room im afraid, we took a video to show how dusty, custains hanging off, musty just slept in smell, Fag burn in duvet, grime all over shower tiles and bin in bathroom broken, no sink in bathroom.
We just couldnt bear to sleep in the bed, drove home at midnight. Been in better for 15 per night, this was 60 per night.
Cant and wont say anything regarding the people ( staff) as didnt see anyone, bar was closed . Walked uop the road to Lynedene, now thats how to run a hotel.
As always this is a genuine review as we travel weekly both business and for nights out.
Desperatley needs attention in the rooms, but cant comment on food, bar etc as wasnt open so didnt have any.
Bit of a shame really but there you go. Located on the front so location very good.

Room Tip: Always look at the room before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

had a week at the colonial 20/8/12 to 27/8/12
our holidays there just keep getting better , the food is to die for carvary or whatever is on the menu , best cooks in blackpool.
our favourite waiter still working his socks off to make sure everyone is looked after , yes we mean you daniel! a new waiter dean fabulously friendly and helpful to all we love you both xxxx SANDRA i promised you a mention lovely sandra , telling us each night about the cabaret act that is appearing , believe me we saw some great acts there MILO'S ARMY IS NOT TO BE MISSED great fun and very talented . we always get to feel so welcome we go back year after year because we just love the staff , you should meet madcap ian great dj master of bingo and great person , will be back to see you all again next year kath mike + elise from middlesbrough.

Room Tip: if you need a nice roomy family room opt for room 316
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

At our stay at this hotel it was very pleasent, the food was excellent, the people who work here cant do enough for you, the hotel is in a very good spot just on the front, i would deffenetly reccomend this hotel as our stay was more than expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Address: 465 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run hotel run by the family who have a resident D.J and top entertainment. Carvery restaurant with a choice of menu. Promenade position. When you come to our hotel you arrive a guest and leave a friend. Recommended by TripAdvisor 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.