We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all rounder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Hotel

Martin's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Martin's Hotel to your Saves list
Martin's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9TA, England (Formerly Sunnybank Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #585 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
derby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great all rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights,great location,martin is a very good host!lovely płace to stay,close to everything.we went for illuminations,was not disappointed.trams very good value for money,9 pounds for family ticket,use as many times as you like for that day.we will not hesitate to go back to martins place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked a weekend trip to Blackpool with the kids and stayed at martin's guesthouse.

The room was perfect, the kids had a room to themselves which they enjoyed with their own tv. The beds were super comfortable so a good nights sleep was had by all. We opted to have a cooked breakfast mid morning as I'm a morning person but partner isn't. The breakfast was 5*, just the right amount, and perfectly cooked, the kids enjoyed having a mix of a cooked breakfast and cereal. Martin and mark were very friendly and welcoming, and bent over backwards to make our stay perfect.

The hotel itself is located out of the main centre which made it a pleasant stay away from the hustle and bustle and really good value for money. All the main attractions are easily accessible from this location. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Blackpool and will recommend to friends and family planning a visit to Blackpool.(Amanda, Ashley & boys- Leicester)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were moved here as the hotel we had booked into had messed up our booking, we were both so pleased we were, otherwise we would have missed out on these amazing hosts and the best couple of nights sleep ever.
We were put in the family room, which has a separate bedroom (normally for the children). The room was lovely and had everything we needed. Everything was spotless and the tea and coffee making facilities were replenished daily. On arrival we were immediately made to feel welcome (like part of the family). Martin offered us a coffee and it was just what we needed. We sat in the front garden terrace and chatted for a while, finding out the best places to go from Martin. Throughout our stay Martin checked we had everything we needed, but he was never intrusive. mark is lovely too and we had a gorgeous breakfast (not a drop of grease on our plates and eggs cooked to perfection). We bought some wine from the local shop for an afternoon drink and Martin immediately gave us glasses and as it was boiling hot he even walked to buy us some ice. The location was perfect for us, a short stroll to the tram stop and beach and a mile walk to the tower along the beachfront.

I would recommend The Imperial hotel for a lovely afternoon tea for two. You can sit inside or outside and the service is brilliant.

I really think we landed on our feet here. For those of you who always choose a well known hotel, Martin's has given me the faith to look at smaller establishments in future.

Room Tip: We had the family room, so can't comment on the others. This room has 2 separate bedrooms and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

we stayed for an over nights stay at martin's and we had a really good warm welcome lovley breakfast martin was a wonderful and very thoughtfull great sence of humour and we enjoyed the hotel . not that far from the tower lovely walk down the beach front we asked martin if there was any nice places to go to eat and he mentioned Blackpool finest Italian Restaurant Tiramisu it was nice and very reasonable prices would we go back to martin's again without question oh and i must not forget jack the dog hes so friendly

Room Tip: all there great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome, showed to a large family room which consisted of a separate bedroom for the kids (bonus). The room was extremely clean, spacious and bright. It has all the basics that you need for a comfortable stay including tea making facilities (an essential for some). The bathroom although compact was modern and immaculate. Breakfast was excellent on both days, piping hot, grease free and served with a smile. Please don't be put off by the location, it is perfect if you don't want to be situated amongst the noise, lights and drunken antics. A short walk to the tramline, where trams come every 15 minutes till past midnight and cost just £9 a day for a family ticket (up to 5 people) means you can enjoy all Blackpool has to offer and also get a good nights sleep, which we did on both nights.This B&B is great value for money and we will definitely be returning. Thank you Martin and Mark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Booked for a long weekend to see the lights and wanted somewhere quiet away from the hussle and bussle of the town and didnt want to pay the inflated prices that some hotels / B&B's charge this time of year.

We were welcomed on arrival with drinks which was great after our Journey. Martin & Mark were very friendly and welcoming, Our room was spotless and had complimentary refreshments and towels. The bed was really comfortable and warm and I slept like a log! Breakfast was spot on and Martin allowed us to have a later breakfast which was great as I am not really a morning person! We were also given a card that gave us discounted admission and drinks in the pubs & clubs in town. The hotel also had a small car park around the back which is handy when its busy on a Saturday night and its hard to find a parking space on the road outside. We had a problem with the radiator in our room (needed bleeding as the top half was cold which made the room a bit chilly) however I spoke to Mark who rectified it immediately.

Thanks Martin & Mark (and Jack!) for a really enjoyable stay, We could not fault the hospitality, and hope to see you again soon (James & Martin from Northampton)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

First of all, when me and my family decided we were going to blackpool we didnt think we would end up staying here. We had firstly booked a caravan but luckly due to so much rain over the week before the caravan site got flooded, and i cant be more greatful.

We checked in late friday night as we were driving from newcastle and had to set of after work and school. Martin and Mark were very friendly when we first arrived and we got checked in and settled quickly. First impressions of are room were very good and very clean. we had booked a room accomidating to 5 people as there was 4 of us, 2 adults and 2 children and it suited us perfectly with 2 double beds and a single bed.

Breakfast was very good, cereal, toast and a full english and when i waqs fussy and asked if they could remove the beans from my plate they were very acoomidating to my needs, even thought they proberly thought you have got to be kdding me.

The B&B was located in a nice location. no noise from hen parties or stag do's and has a corner shop near by whch sells practiually everything. It is also located down the road from a tram stop so it is easy to get anyway in blackpool eg. The Pleasure Beach

Overall A great place to stay in Blackpool, a very welcoming atmosphere.

Review Done By Lorna the Teenager!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Hotel

Address: 26 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9TA, England (Formerly Sunnybank Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #585 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martins – Blackpool. This family-run, licensed hotel rests in a prime location close to the sea on the prestigious North Shore. We are one minute away from the picturesque cliff top walks that overlook the Irish Sea... and a short walk or tram ride to the Piers and centre of Blackpool. The Winter Gardens, Funny Girls, Grand Theatre and Pleasure Beach within easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Martin's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.