We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel, for somewhere to rest your weary feet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacketts York House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hacketts York House Hotel to your Saves list
Hacketts York House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 - 20 Queen's Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel, for somewhere to rest your weary feet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rooms were clean, but communal areas dusty, such as fire extinguishers and dado rails. Room was nice but toilet/shower room was 'compact' to say the least. The food was nice and food served quickly. Lift not always working properly, causing people with mobility issues to be stranded. Squeaky floors and door hinges caused sleepless nights. The waitresses were lovely in the restaurant. The bar not run very well, till wouldn't even print receipts. A nice atmosphere amongst other people on our coach trip, which helped. I would recommend using buses to get into town, as trams always full. The singers in the evening were very good. Blackpool is a tacky seaside resort, but then people visit because that is what they want to see!

Room Tip: No fitness centre or swimming pol. Not close to town centre, but tram and bus stops are outside. Lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    93
    50
    31
    75
See reviews for
89
107
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partially sighted Wife & I have just got back from a weekend trip to Blackpool with Go Away Tours (The driver messing up every outing and luggage organization as per usual with this company.) The hotel was impressive to begin with, with bright large lounge/bar space. However the lifts were broken (as I have read from other reviews) They fixed one, but you can only squeeze one chihuahua into these tiny lifts. The rooms are small but clean, my wife liked the spring bed, I was using the springs as a trampoline !. We had tea making facilities but no powdered milk satchels were in sight. The noise from the squeaky floorboards were horrendous, I was awake all night listening to drunken elephants continuously walking up and down their room from the ceiling above us most of the night and again at 6am in the morning, and stomping up and down the outside corridors, shouting at the top of their voices.
The staff were very good - that was the best thing, they would banter with guests and generally were top notch - the night entertainment was top class, great entertainment from Bingo then to very good singers and comedians. The food choice was a bit limited, my wife and others complained it was always luke warm. So they did start to serve it in boiling hot plates. The hotel is quite far away from the town center, so you do need to use public transport. WARNING those trams are always packed, but quite intimate, as your face will be squashed up against a total strangers ! It make London Underground Trains seem empty !
My wife has never been to Blackpool before. This weekend break was more an appetizer than a holiday. She actually loved the place, so much to do. OK it can be tacky, but that's the Blackpool I remember from my childhood. We are planning a full two weeks next year. Remember the hotel is only a place to rest your head after your feet are achingly sore from walking around this great destination. Hackets is swings and roundabouts,. But we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teflord
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Myself and my wife had a 5 day stay here on a coach holiday, the coach company you cant fault and we had lovely trips out. As for the hotel itself, well where do I start. The lits did not work and have not done for a while, which is not acceptable been so they have alot of elderly people stay there. The room was below average. The carpet was dirty, the curtains were dirty, could not shut them, the windows did not shut properly. There are no grab handles in the bathroom and for elderly people this is a mujst. Springs were poking through the matress and very uncomfortable. The service of the staff however was very good and the food was good, although sometimes not very hot, but warm enough to eat, sometimes the cutlery was abit dirty. Would not really recomment it until they had refurb and got lifts sorted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Returned today from a long weekend coach party trip to Hacketts and what can I say...................never again!!!On arrival lifts wer'nt working which was bad as we had a few elderly people with bad mobility. No one to take cases to rooms for them. Our first room we was given, which we actually paid extra for a sea view, was appaling. There was a big crack down the wall and the paint was peeling off. We was moved to another room which was slightly better but was small as it seems they have put partitions up and made one room into 2? The bed was uncomfortable, only packet dried milk in rooms if you wanted fresh you had to pay! Windows were so dirty you couldnt see out of them. Bathroom was filthy. Even though cleaners emptied bins etc every day even rooms that were vacated at no time was a hoover seen when cleaning them. Now for the rest of the Hotel. Well where to start...........food was absolutley diabolical to say the least. The food was either overcooked or not cooked infact one of our party had to complain as on Sunday the yorkshire pudding with their dinner was still frozen in the middle!!! The veg was disgusting and as for the potatoes ............well! The bar prices were very expensive and they charged £4 for a cheese sandwich for bar snack and 80p for a bag of crisps. The only good thing about this Hotel is the staff they were all so friendly and I actually felt sorry for them as they were constantly baring the brunt end of the complaints :( There are comment form on reception to fill in and there was a massive pile of complaints when we left today. Everyone we spoke to said never again.

Room Tip: Beware for people with bad mobility there are lots of stairs and when we arrived lifts were broken a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall Wood, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

my sister ,brother and myself stayed in this hotel last week,it was clean,staff where friendly food was very good,while we where there we noticed people where moaning to the poor staff about silly little things,what is wrong with the older genaration? a holiday is what you make it not the hotle staff,we had entertainment every night,bingo,very good food clean bedrooms ect,we had a very good holiday lifes too short to keep moaning,so the lift broke the first day but it was soon fixed and the poor staff carried all the suitcases up stairs,i would like to thank all the staff for a great holiday we had, heidi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

very disappointed with food not being cooked properly to hard to eat.bedroom not very nice . bathrooms small. no cleaning done whilst there. offered room on top floor with disabled person then another room someone already in there then another very small. all hot drinks either weak or to strong . powered milk in rooms if u wanted normal milk u had to pay for it. no porters to bring cases down on day of departure. talking to other people one said they had no hot water for week there was damp patches on ceiling.mould on shower curtain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchdown, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Put in this hotel by Just Go coach trips for four nights.(3/9/12-7/9/12) I looked it up on Trip Advisor so no great expectations. The reception was good and ushered into the evening meal, cases taken to the rooms, good start. The overall first impressions were that it needed to be refurbished, the bedroom was small but functional, the mattresses were uncomfortable but they supplied extra duvets to sleep on. The staff were excellent and the meals were varied, sufficient and nice. The cabaret were the usual circuit artistes plus bingo and 'open the box'. As a 2 star hotel is was functional and you get what you paid for; for an excursion holiday it was fine, get up, breakfast, trip, evening meal, cabaret or walk, and then bed, The main concern amongst the people that I met was the mattresses and the general decor but as far as I was concerned they made my bed comfortable and I didn't pay much attention to the decor. To recoup the cost of a major refurbishment wouldn't be financially viable as the charges would have to go up to pay for them and there are so many hotels in direct competition in Blackpool.If you want an in-expensive place to stay with decent food and good service, this is for you. Dave

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacketts York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacketts York House Hotel

Address: 14 - 20 Queen's Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hacketts York House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hackett`s York House Hotel ,situated on Blackpool`s Queens Promenade,with the beach on your door step and transport links across the road its a short journey to the town centre and many of Blackpool`s Famous Attractions, Hackett`s York House is an excellent choice for families , couples or groups.101 Bedrooms all En-Suite with Tea /Coffee Making facilities , some with sea views of the beaufitful Irish Sea.Enjoty freshly prepared meals by our very talented chef! then sit back and relax in our bar lounge and enjoy an evening of entertainment.Bar snacks and alcoholic beverages are available 24 hours on request.Our friendly and helpful staff are here to asisst you with any requests or requirements to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hacketts York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacketts York Hotel
Hacketts Hotel Blackpool
Hacketts York Blackpool
Hacketts York House Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacketts York House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.