We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Colwyn Hotel to your Saves list
The Colwyn Hotel
569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Four of us stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago whilst our teenage son was at the magic convention. The location was great, being at the quieter end of town, but very convenient for the trams with a stop close by. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The family room was fine for a short stay, with everything we needed. Breakfast was really good. All in all great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    166
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
210
116
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastically located to access the Pleasure Beach and Blackpool attractions.

The hotel was easy to find. The rooms were clean and tidy, as was the hotel. The rooms were a little small, particularly the bathrooms, but seeing as we didn't spend much time in them, this was not really a problem. The rooms were in need of a little modernising.

The staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely come back to the hotel if I come back to Blackpool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have just returned from this hotel, i must state that this hotel is a must stay for any family. the staff are so good at what there do and brilliant with the kids. the room was perfect with flat screen tvs in both rooms so it keep the children quiet while getting ready etc. the breakfast was of high standard and nothing was to much trouble day or night. big thumbs up to everyone that works there and we shall be returning in the near future. got to be one of the best hotels in blackpool. just to add that it was very clean and has everything you may need on holiday. thank-you to all the staff 10/10

Room Tip: there is no tips as everything is done for you by all the staff at this hotel, so there will put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

i booked this by looking at the reviews on trip advisor, but have to say i was disapointed when i arrived, the room that i was given was really old and smelled of smoke with the tv not working. Whilst i know this is a hotel in blackpool i still expected a more modern and clean feel, We had no problem changing rooms and i must admit the second room was better,but when i came to have a shower in the morning it only had cold water (not good for blackpool in february!!) i must say that the gentleman who runs the hotel is a lovely man and we had a lovely breakfast but we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

just stayed 2 nights at the colwyn hotel.First ever time stayng at this hotel and would definatly return again, room was lovely and warm very clean just the right size. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff were very nice. Only downfall the bed wasnt very comfortable woke up both days with bad back, other than that great place to stay.

Room Tip: great view from sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

just stayed 2 nights at the colwyn hotel which we have been many times before where we had our wedding lunch there,which was fabulous.thanks to all the staff there which made our wedding so nice,it really is home from home.

Room Tip: obviously sea front rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

only stayed for one night but would definitely recommend. The host was friendly, the breakfast was filling and the hotel was opposite a bus and tram stop making travel into Blackpool centre very quick and easy. The beds were comfy, the room was warm and clean and we got very good TV reception. What more could a family need!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colwyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.