We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added to our Favourites List” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Colwyn Hotel to your Saves list
The Colwyn Hotel
569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Added to our Favourites List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We arrived for out two-night stay to find the usual Blackpool parking problems but this was immediately sorted out by the owner/manager and thereafter we had no problems.

Our first impression of our seaview room was of cleanliness, space and order and this was proved correct as we settled in. The shower could have benefitted from the partly-blackened sealant being replaced but other than that we had no complaints. Yes, it is an old building and shows it in places but the owners are obviously doing there best to keep the maintenance up to scratch.

Breakfast was ample and well-cooked and served in the dining room by pleasant staff. We did not stay for dinner but the menu looked interesting and with a good selection to try.

In summary, a cut above many other Blackpool hotels and one we would be pleased to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    160
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
204
111
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Excellent hotel with lovely clean rooms, breakfast was excellent if you went away hungry it was your own fault, with lots to choose from and nothing too much trouble for them to cook. Free parking with bus stop just across the road left the car all weekend. Lovely and quiet up the southend but not too far from the attractions. All the staff are friendly and helpful wouldnt hesitate recomending this little gem to anyone wanting a great stay in Blackpool. We didnt take our children this time but the families that were there the children got whatever they asked for breakfast from a boiled egg to beans on toast with a yoghurt!
We have stayed with Charles for the last 5 years has a family and on our own and we will be staying there again- see you next year

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have recently stayed at The Colwyn Hotel with my husband and my 11 year old daughter.We were greeted on arrival by Charles who made us feel at home immediatley.Our room was lovely and had everything we could want.The location of this hotel is ideal for Pleasure Beach and is also a nice walk from the central attractions.Although we didnt have our evening meal in hotel it looked absolutely gorgous..we happened to be in bar as they were prepareing for evening meal..we wished we were staying there for our meal!! The evening entertainment they had on that evening was extremly good as well...even my 11 year old was up line dancing..we all had a great night!
Breakfast in the morning was just as we expected..lovely.Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble...we actually think it was the best service we have had in a hotel for a while.
This is definetly a hotel we would go back to...and with an 11 year old who has just discovered pleasure Beach i,d say it will be sooner rather than later.
Would very highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

We had a great time here at the Colwyn. Comfortable clean rooms. Easy going atmosphere. Fantastic breakfast and staff. Let down only by evening barmaid who could hardly be bothered to serve or speak and charged me £5.00 for a tin of cider! Be careful in the bar but otherwise a very pleasant place to stay and helpful friendly owner! Rest of staff fantastic as well!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Just arrived back home from a very enjoyable weekend at the Colwyn with a party of friends.

The Colwyn although an older building is kept spotlessly clean by the owners Sheila & Charles not only this but they make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them and their staff are very obliging.

Food at the Colwyn is excellent we stayed Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal and found everything spot on, good choice on menu which was well cooked and served.

We have stayed at this Hotel for several years now and would recommend it to anyone, every time we go back they have upgraded something and plan to carry on doing this for their visitors comfort.

Thank you for another Fab weekend xx

Room Tip: We always ask for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Chose the Colwyn because it was close to the Pleasure Beach and had parking, on arrival explained to Charles we would check in later as it was only 10.30am we asked if they could recommend somewhere for breakfast, Charles kindly made a bacon and egg sandwich and a pot of tea for us. lovely quiet location, booked two single rooms both had good sized beds, I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, and the friendliness, wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Chose hotel due to being a short walk away from pleasure beach.Hotel was clean,food was good .Stayed in room 304,with views of sea and pleasure beach.Free parking for hotel guests.Hotel had everything you would ask for at the price we paid.would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colwyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.