We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Golden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The Golden Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   567 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nothing to complain about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having read the reviews we were dreading going to this hotel, however we were pleasantly surprised. We received a warm welcome, our rooms were nice, clean & comfortable with a lovely hot shower. The service was excellent both in the Bar and at breakfast served by Jarik (who spoke fluent English and was very pleasant), the breakfast was filling and set us up for the day. The hospitality was fantastic and we will return again to this hotel. Yes there are areas that need modernizing, which they are clearly in the process of doing. You definitely get what you pay for, the hotel doesn't claim to be Hollywood if you want luxury there's plenty of hotels where you will pay through the roof for luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    72
    45
    504
See reviews for
326
170
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A filthy dirty hostel not a hotel!! The rooms r damp and cold with no heating other than a broken electric heater. The curtains and wallpaper were hanging off! The bedding was dirty! The smoke alarm was faulty! The mirror in the room wasn't attached 2 the wall and subsequently fell on my daughter! The only place 2 boil the kettle was on a wobbly shelf easy 4 a toddler 2 get! No towels and no plug in the sink. Other peoples rubbish was left in the room. Food was cold and greasy and literally thrown at u!! Corridors 2 thin 4 a pram or disabled person! All in all a miserable experience

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I dont complain very often but this (hotel) is the exception to the rule.
Its not the dearest hotel in blackpool ,but plenty at the same price/£44 pn.
Checked in 8pm with friends 2 rooms already paid online ,The girl on reception asked do you
want towels ,/yes please , that will be £1 each,
We then got our keys and went to our rooms said to friends see you in the bar in 10 mins
2 mins later friends knock on our door ,whats your room like? pretty horrible ,,
Both rooms in same state but we said only here for 2 nights so we will live with it.
Next down to bar, tap on beer broke ,the chap serving managed to trickle out 4 flat drinks
first and last drink in hotel.
Next morning went down for breakfast the chap serving was eating cornflakes out of a pint glass
when we asked for service he sloped cold food on your plate like you would picture getting in
prison.
Next thing water dripping through the ceiling next to a light fitting ,a man next to it complained,
the answer was that must be room 8 some one must be having a shower,
a towel on the floor fixed that problem.
I wont go into all the room problems ,basically a dump.
Only one good thing the bed was clean.

DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

KEV.M. COVENTRY 30/10/2013.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Myself and a friend, with her son, booked this hotel because of the location and price, and was looking forward to a few days break. However when entering this hotel, we soon discovered to our horror, what a mistake we had made in booking it.
Non of the photos, shown on the website truly reflect this hotel. This place is a joke, avoid it, it's not a hotel, it's a hostel! The room was dirty, smelt and was cold. The breakfast was disgusting, not cooked, and the staff were rude and horrible. The shower was unclean, and i would not have put a dog in it to get washed
Although booked for 3 nights, we left after 2, not being able to stand it anymore.
This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, and would never go again,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The first room we were given had mould all over the curtains & wall paper and was not fit for a tramp let alone a paying guest. We were offered another room which was slightly better except for the fact the shower door was falling off its runners, the main door in and out of the room was only held on by 1 hinge and you couldnt see out of the windows due to all the condensation. My partners daughter hurt her hand, we asked the lady on reception for a first aid kit, we were told to go to our rooms and they would bring something to our room. 45 mins later she came to the room and informed us the hotel did not have a first aid kit. What happened to duty of care???? The breakfast wasnt great either, we informed the hotel before arrival that there was a veggie in our group but no vegetarian breakfast was offered. Dont go to this hotel if you do make sure you dont hurt yourself...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I went there with my sister for 2 nights with my sister to see Blackpool illuminations and chose this hotel because of location and price. it seemed ideal and we thought we'd give it the benefit of the doubt. That was our first mistake. Upon arrival we went to our room (28) and the room was stuffy and hot with a simplex heater on full blast but the window wide open. The room was no bigger than a prison cell, the springs were sticking through the mattress and the wall against the window was damp with paint that had been recently applied to try to cover up the mould. The next day after a night of rain the window sill was soaked and the curtains were soaked and dripping. There were mouldy patches all over the ceiling and down the walls with paint drips everywhere. The carpet was so damp that my feet were wet if I walked on it without shoes on. the wardrobe was a rail only with one chest of drawers which didnt open and one 30 watt bulb light in the room. There was only a trickle out of the shower in the damp mildew bathroom. The breakfast was edible - just - and when we booked out we had to out the room keys in a box as the reception was unmanned during booking out hours - I wonder why....This has got to be the worst place I have ever stayed in and wouldn't put a dog in there. Disgusting and should be condemned.

Room Tip: don;t go and if you do sleep in the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel must be closed down.. faulty towers at Blackpool. rooms dirty, windows broken, staff rude, food was like slops and cold, dining room filthy, cups when there was some dirty. we stayed on 26th and 27th October. only stayed one night could not face all that dirt again. beware if you do go you will be charged £2 on your debit card if you have to pay with your card at the hotel, if you want a towel it's an extra £1 per person. even tramps would not stop there. There are better Hotels in Blackpool, be warned stay away from this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Beach Hotel

Address: 567 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.