We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not brilliant but better than expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodley Hotel to your Saves list
The Woodley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 / 3 Lansdowne Place, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #807 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not brilliant but better than expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed there as a group of four for a long weekend, after reading the reviews i was dreading the room, it was better than expected but not as bad as i thought i would have been although it was still pretty bad. one of the windows had a large crack in it there was a very overpowering fruity smell when we walked in from a plug in which i later found out masked the overwhelming smell of pee from the bathroom, the shower was naff i couldnt move when i did i either turned the temperature down or switched the thing off completley. The toilet was raised of the floor for some unknown reason, meaning that i couldnt touch the floor when on the toilet, even my 6ft tall boyfreind struggled, we couldnt open the wardrobe for fear of it falling over, i opened the bottom drawer and the front fell off, taking your own pillows is advised as you get each.

The other room which we had was a tiny twin room with one persons feet at the other ones head, the bathroom was tiny and you could have washed your feet in the shower at the same time as sitting on the toilet.

The only time we saw the owner was when we checked in and when she asked us to move our car (we stayed for 3 nights) less a host and more of a landlord, needless to say this is a hotel i wont be revisiting. by far not as bad as it could have been but nowhere near what i expected

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    11
    6
    34
See reviews for
33
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just stayed here for the weekend, room clean and bed comfortable. Helpfull staff arrived early on our first day,we able to leave our bags in a locked room untill check in .just a 10 minute walk to the tower/winter gardens. At the price we paid we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with my son and have no complaints. Friendly owners, good sized room, en suite with hot running water, freeview tv, comfy bed with clean sheets, great cooked breakfast in the morning. Yeah it could do with a good lick of paint on the outside and abit renovation but so could alot of hotels and b&bs in Blackpool!! I don't agree with all the negative comments on here at all, its cheap to stay here, if you want more then theres plenty of expensive hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

i made a booking at this hotelin advance.When i arrived there was no one in reception i stood a good 25 mins before the man came down,in a small pair of shorts and nothing on his feet,i have kids so this is not what i want them seeing! Theyr was such a bad smell to the place that i immediatly left. i also spoke to a few ppo round about who said that it is used as a homeless shelter which i did not see online when i pre booked i wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone had to take my kids and find a hotel more appropriate!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed there for a hen weekend fri to sun...lovely couple that run it couldn't be more helpful. The hotels dose need a lot of work but the rooms are clean and the beds are really comfy :) wud Deffo stay there again....nice cheap hotel in the centre of blackpool :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

was willing to take our money then recived a lecture on us being there as a hen do but never mentioned anything before we paid!!!
Place was very unclean falling to pieces and smelt!!!
damp and mould going up walls
drip shower!! freezing cold

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel ain't the Ritz, also they don't charge silly prices like other places in Blackpool... Really dont understand why this hotel has bad reviewe on tripadvisor, we both didn't find any problems while we stayed for 2 nights in a double room with en suite toilet/shower at a bargain £28 per night (no breakfast included) so for £56 we found it a bargain hotel very close walk to town, the staff couldn't be any friendly and helpful from arrival to leaving, the room had clean bedding and coffee/tea facility's in the room with tv freeveiw. they also provide free Wi-Fi for all guests and a pool table in a games room (charging £1) we will be defiantly be coming back when we return to Blackpool again.

yea the hotel is in need of updating in areas but get past the deco.... you've found a bargain hotel :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodley Hotel

Address: 2 / 3 Lansdowne Place, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #807 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!!!The Woodley Hotel is at the heart of the seaside town of Blackpool. We offer en suite bedrooms and a full cooked English breakfast with excellent customer service throughout your stay. We provide evening entertainment such as; Karaoke, bingo, Kinect for the XBOX 360. Plus a billiard table is available for use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Woodley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.