We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hoasts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The New Osterley Hotel

The New Osterley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Osterley Hotel to your Saves list
The New Osterley Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   80 - 84 Adelaide St., Blackpool FY1 4LA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #611 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hoasts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We went for the weekend and had such a great welcome. The room we stayed in was a family room and was very small. The double bed was next to the wall, so I had to climb over my husband in the night to get to my side. The room was nice and clean, but the whole room needed an update. The bathroom only had a shower, not a bath and no heater. There was also no hair dryer so we had to ask at reception. When we went to use the hair dryer, the plug was on the other side of the room to the mirrow!
The breakfast was great and the staff got up early at 7.30 as we needed to dance at the winter gardens by 8 am.( Breakfast should have been served at 9 am) Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Such nice people. Great value, but needs updating. Would go back again and recomend! Also the bed was a little bit hard.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute and arrived checked in and then directed to our parking place around the back ,We then visited attractions in Blackpool and drove the lights and arrived back to a warm welcome from the owner in the bar ,Breakfast was very good and set you up for the day all in all a good place to stay with a happy friendly owner behind the bar and up early to serve you breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

went good friday for hardcore event at syndicate, location is brilliant less than a minute downhill stagger back from syndicate, opposite winter gardens, nice & clean, did not have brekkie, friendly staff, will defo use again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

As you can see from the rates we are satisfied with everything. For what we needed it suited us very well. The food was excellent as we did not need to have lunch since we were filled up properly. The amount of food was perfect. A small difficult was with the timing of breakfast and dinner. Breakfast could have been earlier such as 8am and dinner later such as 6pm. The only reason for this would be, since both shops and winter gardens open at 9pm we could be there and try to manage time. And if one would like to go outside blackpool one could have time. But in general we cannot complain about anything. Thank you for everything and to everyone (receptionist, kitchen personnel, cleaners etc). We would recommend this hotel to others for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Mr Osterley was exceptionally helpful, he waited outside to direct us to our allocated parking spot, he was there a while too as we went around the block three times before we found it. Look out for that small alley, it's easy to miss! On arrival we were presented with remote controls for the newly installed digital TVs, which sadly we didn't get to watch as we were far too busy checking out the sights and sounds of Blackpool in January..... Seriously though, we picked this hotel for it's location, smack bang next door to the Winter Gardens, where we were seeing a gig. Apparently its close to the tower too, but I can't confirm that as it was far too foggy to see anything. The hotel was cold, despite being followed around by Mrs Osterley with an electric heater, but the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean. The breakfast was good too and for £30, you can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I went to Blackpool with friends to see the Prodigy, couldn't actually tell you what Blackpool was like as it was too foggy to actually see anything, those poor donkeys plodding up & down the beach all day not knowing where they are. Never been so could as I was there either, The New osterley however was good value for money only £30 b&b, there breakfast was good value as well, Mr Osterley couldn't have been more helpful he waited for us to drive round to the car park & helped us park the car, also opened the bar whenever we wanted a drink although the draught lager wasn't all that fresh, stick to spirits!! For my £30 I had use of a new digital T.V it was very exciting. The location was awesome for seeing bands at the empress ballroom, the hotel is right outside the rear entrance & also only a short walk from the legendary Churchills bar where you can be wowed by the Karaoke & Celebrity faces.
Not sure if I would recommend Blackpool as a destination but if you do end up going I would definately recommend the New osterley as a place to stay, It's cheap the facilities are good & Mr & Mrs New Osterley are very helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Only stayed here because I went to see The Prodigy at the Empress Ballroom. I have to say I was very dissapointed in Blackpool itself, what a hole. But...
The owners of this place were really friendly and so nice. It was cold and it is very basic, but keep telling yourself, it's only £30 a night! What do you expect!? The bed was fine and the bathroom and toilet facilities were also fine.
I loved my few hours here and if you're going to a gig at the Ballroom stay here as the band and crew buses park right outside so you can stalk them (we failed!).
Blackpool 0, The Prodigy and Mr & Mr New Osterley 10!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Osterley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Osterley Hotel

Address: 80 - 84 Adelaide St., Blackpool FY1 4LA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #611 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Osterley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Blackpool, the renovated New Osterley Hotel has emerged as cleaner, more comfortable whilst retaining its relaxing charm. As a family run hotel, we offer professional but friendly service: wholesome food to bar with entertainment. With Winter Gardens next door and a myriad of entertainment - shopping center, Tower, Promenade and Piers - a few minutes away, you will be perfectly placed. Trams, railway station and Talbot bus station are close by with taxis available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The New Osterley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Osterley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.