We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotel to your Saves list
Viking Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a brilliant hotel can't wait to return ... In fact booked before we left this has a very good chef who provides excellent tasty food and friendly staff to serve it..reception and bar staff also top rate...the talk of the coast entertainment excellent most of the time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    286
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
68
420
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we booked directly with the hotel and paid £75.00 Each For 2 Nights HB.On arrival which is not before 2pm.We parked in there car park and was given a ticket to put on the windscreen, so off to town we went while waiting for 2pm,The reception staff and area were very good, we were explained the meal times and which table we would be eating from and also which table we were allocated for the entertainment! we,ve never heared of this before so were very impressed.our room was on the ground floor with a small window.There was a double bed and a single. Two small bedside cabanites and a bathroom with basic shower. small flat screen tv and tea and coffee equipment.The Evening meal wasn't to bad with a choice of around five main meals and the breakfasts were very good from your cold cerial to full cooked breakfast,fresh tea coffeeThe staff really good never seemed to stop!.The night time entertainment was very good! singers after the bingo,two vodka and cokes £5.00 which is not to bad,So all in all yes we would recommend this hotel and yes would go again.This is a Adult only hotel and did notise the average age is 60s

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

this hotel needs a major refit it is out of date the reception staff are abusive. the rooms really need a full refit the food years ago used to be full silver service . they have cut all the food quality and quantity to the bone if you complain its your fault the only good thing about the hotel is buddy lee hes holding this place together

Room Tip: dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

just returned today after spending 4 days 3 nights at the viking. its been awhile since we last went but the rooms, staff and food are excellent. entertainment brill can't fault it, just one thing with the sun shining management should adjust blinds in dining room before start of service so that some guests are not subjected to bullying, and man up and deal with them,

Room Tip: we stayed on 2nd floor and there was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having never been before my friend and i set off full of hope. We arrived early so were issued with a car park pass so we could go off exploring. Room was clean and bright. Food was excellent and service was fast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were allocated a table for the entertainment on arrival and found out we were at the 'front'. Buddy Lee was brilliant and i can honestly say i haven't laughed so much in ages, he really should have his own tv show. A lot of banter was to be had, given both ways i may add. Although our stay was only 2 nights we WILL be back and will be bringing friends with us. I felt like i had been away for longer and was so relaxed after...what more could you ask for

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having enjoyed 3 stays at The Claremont we thought we would try one of her "sister ships" The Viking. What a mistake!
On arrival first impressions, very good, nice bright and clean with friendly reception staff.
Firstly the good points (this won't take long) entertainment and breakfast very good .
Bad points, the room walls and ceilings are very thin, we had the riverdance team above and the door banging chapionships either side.You could even here the bed banging above as they copulated above (but hey, what's 2 minutes?)
The service in the restaurant was terrible.We went to dine at 7.30 the first evening,it was over 5 minuets before our order was taken (as soon as it was, we were asked again) The duck roll was luke warm and the bed of rice cold. After finishing the starters it was over 10 minuets before we were asked to order our main meal. We both asked for the chef's special but were informed that they were finished. We had lamb and that was awful, full of fat. The service for the sweet course was excellent (self service)
If you want an early nights sleep this is not the place to stay! Disco continues till 2am with the bass notes resonating throughout the hotel. When this stops, for the next half hour you can expect door banging and shouting as the revellers retire.
We were awakened at 4.15am one morning with someone trying to get in our room, banging hard on the door and shouting. My wife had to push hard against the door (locks very flimsy) as I rang down to reception. The would be "guest" was removed but no explanation or apology offered by any staff.
We also had leaking water running into our toilet from upstairs flooding the floor. This was reported and investigated but again no explanation, apology or cleaning up of said water offered!
We wrote on the questionaire in the hotel NEVER AGAIN! but typical of this establishment no body contacted us to see what the problems were.
We are back to The Claremont in November,

Room Tip: 1 mile down the road room 405 The Claremont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

just come back from 3 night stay at the Viking. brilliant entertainment excellent food.
Staff very nice, always helpful and smiling. Looking forward to another
stay at the hotel very soon. Bedrooms are really clean and bright.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#22 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.